Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POETIC DREAMSCAPES OF A DISTOPIC FUTURE...(Part 3)
I have read this masterpiece (together with the other two of the Sprawl series: NEUROMANCER and COUNT ZERO) during my university years, about a decade ago. Since then I have re-read it countless times.

Many a times the third book of a trilogy is published only to fulfill contractual obligations: this is definitely NOT the case here. Every one of those three is...
Published on 27 Sep 2007 by NeuroSplicer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
I'm a fan of Gibson, so I'm being kinder here than perhaps I should be, but this was overall a good novel. I think you'd have to be a fan of Gibson's universe to enjoy it so much, but also a word of advice: You should read the books in order (I didn't know that this was the third installment) and the overall narrative will be more enjoyable.

Not comparable to...
Published on 8 April 2012 by D. Doyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POETIC DREAMSCAPES OF A DISTOPIC FUTURE...(Part 3), 27 Sep 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Paperback)
I have read this masterpiece (together with the other two of the Sprawl series: NEUROMANCER and COUNT ZERO) during my university years, about a decade ago. Since then I have re-read it countless times.

Many a times the third book of a trilogy is published only to fulfill contractual obligations: this is definitely NOT the case here. Every one of those three is a standalone masterpiece.
Sure, the Sprawl trilogy defined cyberspace, wireheads, zaibatsu-controlled society and futuristic discontent. But this is not the reason why one enjoys these novels so much. It is the beautiful poetic language. The syncopated phrases. The direct effect of verbalized brand names. The noir feeling, rare at the time in a SF novel.

William Gibson had already reaped the fame and fortune from his first two novels. In this one you will find his images more bold, his phrases more relaxed and his writing more tight. Absolutely Beautiful!

Even reading only some pages brings up powerful imagery, unforgettable prose...

Start with Neuromancer. Then Count Zero. And finally this one.

A Masterpiece Trilogy!!! Own them all!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bumping up the Overdrive Average (Two Stars! Ha! ), 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Paperback)
Gibson unites the themes and characters of Neuromancer and Count Zero in a blaze of icy glory. From the contaminated iron wastelands of the Sprawl to the cold anachronism of an aging London. From the endless internal landscapes of a huge lump of biochip to the attenuated life of the world's biggest star. Gibson takes us on a sad, elegant and sublime journey round the world and inside the dreams of man and machine. If you haven't met Molly, Bobby Zero, the Finn, Angie or 3-Jane before, you'll want to read the first two books to find out about them (They'll linger in your mind until you do). If you're already aquainted, you'll be pleased to hear that Gibson hasn't lost his touch with the either the old folk, or the new, introduced in this book. His themes, characters and style have matured, growing a little more abstract and difficult to handle. But hey, so have I and so does life! Indeed it's the aching similarities between the artificial reality that Gibson has created and the real thing which make this a work of literature and a thing of beauty. FIVE BIG, FAT, JUICY STARS for Mona Lisa Overdrive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great conclusion to the trilogy, 21 Jan 2005
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Paperback)
It is a tribute to William Gibson that his vision of the near future was interesting enough to sustain three novels without any apparent strain.
If you liked the first two books in the series (Neuromancer and Count Zero) then you will like this one, for in many ways it is the strongest book of the three.
If you are unfamiliar with the first two books then this is not the place to start. There are too many references that will be incomprehensible.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 April 2012
By 
D. Doyle (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Paperback)
I'm a fan of Gibson, so I'm being kinder here than perhaps I should be, but this was overall a good novel. I think you'd have to be a fan of Gibson's universe to enjoy it so much, but also a word of advice: You should read the books in order (I didn't know that this was the third installment) and the overall narrative will be more enjoyable.

Not comparable to Neuromancer I'm afraid, but you can only make a breakthrough like that once! This book (along with Count Zero) gives a little more of the Neuromancer universe, plus Gibson's fast moving style, which is always a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars gave up, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Frank Poveda (Cranfield, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (MP3 CD)
1 hour into the book and I considered that the effort (and it was an effort to follow the story) was not worth the time... unfortunately did not grip me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, enjoyable to read and provocative..., 10 Nov 2013
By 
Alexei V. Lopez Enriquez (Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Paperback)
I knew Gibson's work was one of the "some" that influenced "the Matrix" so I found it too attractive a read to miss it. The writer knows perfectly well how to knit stories and bring characters together and, at the same time, how to keep a reader interested. The world that he depicts is so tuned with the world that is being created that one can do nothing but shudder; I guess that by the time that he wrote it, the similarites with today's world were but insinuated, however, now reality is catching up with fiction... "What is man's mind? Where is it? What is reality? " are questions that echo as the reader turns to a new page...
The whole story reminds me of another book: "Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World" by Haruki Murakami.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent conclusion, 4 Jun 2010
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Paperback)
Excellent dystopian views especially of England somewhere neglected in the first two books, it is a reunion of sorts and has a small habit of name dropping previous characters from books who are long gone and are almost irrelevant in this book.

However there is less technocracy in this more of what's outside the big cities and glowing cities of the rich citizens and I feel this makes it much more down to earth than the other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Razor girl shines, 25 Oct 2007
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Paperback)
This along with neuromancer is a showcase for molly. The street samuri comes into her own in this multi layered effort. The sprawl comes alive along with the long reaching tendrils of a long forgotten advisory. All in all a novel light years ahead of it's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Cool in the Sprawl, 2 Dec 2004
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Paperback)
It's just the way Gibson describes his universe. It's just so, COOL. Even with all the violence and socio-economic polarisation, I'd love the chance to be put there, assuming I was accompanied by a lethal street assassin that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chaotic and Gibsonesque, but what is that book about?, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Paperback)
After reading Mona Lisa Overdrive two times I'm still not sure about the plot of the book. The picture of the characters and the cyberpunk world is beautiful, but the charakters are talking, moving and acting randomly and without any purpose. I gave the book 2 stars, one for the picture of the world and the characters, the another because I'm a true W. Gibson fan. If you are not, don't waste the time reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mona Lisa Overdrive (Bantam Spectra Book)
Mona Lisa Overdrive (Bantam Spectra Book) by William Gibson (Hardcover - Oct 1988)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews