Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent...shame about the cover, 15 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lessons for a Sunday Father (Paperback)
This was a fantastic read. It's split into 4 different voices as a family (2 children, 2 parents) suffer a divorce. It's touching, poignant and at times funny...
But, as other amazon reviewers have noted, why on earth does it have a silly Chick Lit cover on the front? I had to make it point because as a result I was putting off buying this book for months until someone forced it onto me. I think it is a shame as publishers seem to do this more and more - wrapping an intelligent read by a female in a trashy cover, and I think it loses readers rather than gaining them! I would put Claire Calman in the ranks of other fine female writers such as Polly Sampson and Maggie O'Farrell for her insight and sensitivity...I look forward to more from Claire Calman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly wonderful., 27 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lessons for a Sunday Father (Paperback)
I adored Love is a Four-Letter Word, so I was predisposed to enjoy Lessons for a Sunday Father. I was not disappointed. Calman is capable of making her readers laugh and cry simultaneously -- a rare talent.
As another reviewer mentioned, Rosie is a delight. But all the characters are so real that you can believe you know them and what they're going through.
I'm looking forward to Calman's next effort; I can only hope that she can continue to work her magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a story of emotional nitty-gritty, 22 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lessons for a Sunday Father (Paperback)
I found the jacket design of Claire Calman's "Lessons for a Sunday Father" rather misleading. It's much less of a fantasy love story than her excellent "Love is a Four Letter Word" which had a similar cover. This new novel is more nitty-gritty throughout. The rush of all kinds of emotions in the splitting marriage is full of the humour and sexiness of her first book but digs deeper, hurts more and feels true. The nine-year old Rosie is an unforgettable commentator from first to last. I loved it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gently funny, moving and real, 16 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lessons for a Sunday Father (Paperback)
So many novels aimed at a twenty-something readership don't aspire to be much more than brain chewing-gum for the train to work, but like Claire Calman's first novel (Love is a Four Letter Word), Lessons for a Sunday Father explores the painful edges of a collapsing family with humour and dignity. The break-up of Scott and Gail's marriage isn't clear-cut - she is dissatisfied with the relationship long before he commits the almost coincidental adultery, he is too comfortable to question her early rattiness - but the full story only emerges gradually as the four different narratives develop. Children's voices are hard to make convincing, yet Claire Calman makes Nat and Rosie's styles as distinctive and important as their parents, and it's in the subtle reflections of what each character does and says in the eyes of the others that the real depth of the book emerges. It would be easy to slap on a happy ending, and after becoming completely immersed in the characters, I was hoping that the ends wouldn't be tied up too neatly, but the conclusion is exactly the sort of warm compromise that is the best you can wish for in real life. And aside from the stylish writing and gentle wit, I found it really refreshing to read a novel where the sex isn't well-lit, champagne-fuelled and consequence-free and the hero is a glazier, rather than a futures trader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great 4-way read!, 1 Mar 2001
By 
bradgirl (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lessons for a Sunday Father (Paperback)
What an excellent read. This book takes the perspective of 4 characters involved in a marriage break-up, the father, the mother and the 2 children. What an excellent idea! This mean we can see how the break-up affects everyone and how people's actions can be misinterpreted by others. I would thoroughly recommend this book even if you didn;t like "Love is a Four Letter Word". This is sexy, funny and just a little bit good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an easy but captivating read, 12 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lessons for a Sunday Father (Paperback)
The author does a great job of showing four different points of view of a more and more common domestic scenario i.e. the breakdown of a marriage.The story is convincingly told by the whole family-the husband,the wife,the teenage son and the younger daughter.Another element of the story is the issues concerning the husband and his role as a father and a son.The story is realistic and the focus is on the every-day rather than a deep psychological study. Thoroughly entertaining, definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love and conflict in four voices, 15 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lessons for a Sunday Father (Paperback)
It's not often you find a book that makes you laugh a lot, cry a litte, and rings true as well. I enjoyed every minute of Claire Calman's "Lessons for a Sunday Father". At first I thought Scott, the husband, deserved everything he got but gradually I saw a more rounded picture through the voices of his (very entertaining) kids and upset wife - he is revealed as an inarticulate but loveable man who very nearly loses everything precious to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly humerous and moving, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lessons for a Sunday Father (Paperback)
An incredible book: makes you laugh at times, and cry at others. Calman hits the nail on the head about a lot of issues faced by fathers, and makes one think a lot about how good a father you really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lessons for a Sunday Father
Lessons for a Sunday Father by Claire Calman (Paperback - 15 Jan 2001)
3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews