Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feelings of thousands conveyed ...
Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni manages to convey the feelings of thousands of Indian women who have faced similiar situations in this collection of short stories. All the women face the daunting task of leaving behind their family and friends and starting their lives with their husbands in a land they have only seen in the movies. It illustrates the struggles and passions...
Published on 27 April 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure I have grasped the appeal of short stories!
One was okay, two were enough and anymore were just repetition - I only managed 4. The writing was inconsistent, at times descriptive and evocative but at others almost child-like. Not sure I will read on.
Published 23 months ago by julieb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feelings of thousands conveyed ..., 27 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Arranged Marriage (Paperback)
Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni manages to convey the feelings of thousands of Indian women who have faced similiar situations in this collection of short stories. All the women face the daunting task of leaving behind their family and friends and starting their lives with their husbands in a land they have only seen in the movies. It illustrates the struggles and passions of the women as they try to merge their cultural upbringing into the western world. Each of the stories will leave you wanting more. My favourite of the old grandma who comes to join her son and his wife, and finds they are not the same people they were in India but are totally submerged into the American life-style. All who read this novel will be fascinated by the dept of feeling and emotions Chitra has portrayed in each of the characters of the book. I look forward to reading may more of her novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very beautiful, 29 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Arranged Marriage (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book and highly recommend it. Each story will have you fixed and yes I have stayed up till late to finish reading some of the chapters. On the down side some stories leave you to reach your own conclusion and a couple are quite sad, however it's a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful, 22 Sept. 1999
By 
Mr. G. S. SANDHU (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arranged Marriage (Paperback)
This book is a collection of 11 short stories. Each story tells the tale of the life of an Indian woman in America and surprise surprise, most are about their marriages. I didn't find it repetitive as each story was distinct in it's own right. I found this book very memorable and engaging. The author has a great talent for totally engrossing the reader within a short time which is a difficult talent especially when writing short stories. This is one of the few books I have read that will remain truly memorable and that I would gladly read again cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure I have grasped the appeal of short stories!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arranged Marriage (Kindle Edition)
One was okay, two were enough and anymore were just repetition - I only managed 4. The writing was inconsistent, at times descriptive and evocative but at others almost child-like. Not sure I will read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Average book, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arranged Marriage (Kindle Edition)
Disappointed by the author :( Overall I would say it's an average book, not that gripping. Only a couple of stories like the prefect life and the maid servant marriage are the once which are actually interesting and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very short stories, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book had lots of short stories which didn't seem to have much of a link to each other. Bit disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arranged Marriage (Kindle Edition)
CBD is always gripping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars whine whine whine, 25 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arranged Marriage (Paperback)
Boring. Predictable. Boring.
This may be new material for Americans, but the British audience has investigated the themes in these stories a million times over. Totally dull. The only feeling I have is sorrow for the author who seems completely disillusioned with "Indians living in America" and "Indian marriage".
If you want a beautiful set of short stories, please read "A River Sutra". There was only one story in this collection which wasn't totally painful, but it wasn't worth buying the book for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arranged Marriage
Arranged Marriage by Chitra Divakaruni (Paperback - 1 Feb. 1997)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews