Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childrens' reactions to their parents marital breakup.
I have read and enjoyed other novels by Ms. Trollope but this portrayal of the complicated relationships of modern family life struck me close to home. The story depicts so well the difficulties as well as the joys of married family life. Above all it reveals so clearly the effect of parental behavior on their children. No moralising. Thoroughly credible and...
Published on 3 Dec 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy read
Very easy read. Suitable for holidays, very easy to read in brief snippets or longer sessions. Not one of Joanne Trollopes best books, but by no means the worst.
Published 18 months ago by Helly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childrens' reactions to their parents marital breakup., 3 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Friends (Paperback)
I have read and enjoyed other novels by Ms. Trollope but this portrayal of the complicated relationships of modern family life struck me close to home. The story depicts so well the difficulties as well as the joys of married family life. Above all it reveals so clearly the effect of parental behavior on their children. No moralising. Thoroughly credible and convincing characters both adult and juvenile. I enjoyed it so much that I am buying a copy for my eldest daughter with the hope that if she finds it as rewarding as I did, she may pass it on to her siblings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Elizabeth Brockington (CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Friends (Paperback)
I have a complete collection of Joanna Trollope's novels and have enjoyed reading, and rereading, every single one.
The best of friends is an up to date, incisive description of a modern marriage which suddenly crumbles, leaving the wife to turn for support to her friend from childhood. This causes stress in the second home and Joanna Trollope portrays the actions and reactions of everyone concerned so succinctly that I didn't want to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another gentle Trollope read, 22 April 2010
By 
Mrs. Audrey Williams (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Friends (Paperback)
As usual the ideal bed time reading. Interesting combination of complex characters and setting. Am I the only one not to like Gina or even see where she is coming from except perhaps selfishness?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trollope does it again, 19 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Friends (Paperback)
I couldn't put it down! Joanna Trollope writes some of the best midlife 'coming of age' novels. The characters in this like in all her books, are real and multi-dimensional. If you don't see yourself in her characters, you see your sister or best friend. Her female characters are underdogs in some form, who triumph in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Friends, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Friends (Paperback)
Thank you for an excellent service.
I would recommend this author to friends - and have done so many times, I like her method of writing , she shows such insight into the minds of others of all ages and backgrounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very easy read. Suitable for holidays, very easy to read in brief snippets or longer sessions. Not one of Joanne Trollopes best books, but by no means the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No disappointments here, 18 April 2010
By 
Mags057 (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Friends (Paperback)
I am not ashamed to reveal that I am a big Joanna Trollope fan. This latest novel does not disappoint. A cracking pace does not let up throughout. The complexities of the two families are perfectly believable - you can't decide whose side to take. The saga of the piano was emotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Joanna Trollope at her very best, 6 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Friends (Paperback)
A truly gripping tale of two families devastated by events that overtake them and the lives of their loved ones. A casual friendship some twenty five years ago eventually brings together and then tears apapt their whole worlds. This is Joanna Trollopes finest novel to date. A must for all Trollope fans everywhere. It really is unputdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am an avid reader of Joanna Trollope and she does not disappoint with this book.
Another insightful look at relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another really good read, relaxing insight into family relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Friends
The Best of Friends by Joanna Trollope (Paperback - 1 May 1996)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews