Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different Gump
I've read a few film/books in my time. I can remember reading Jaws when it came out and then seeing the movie (the film of the book). They blow the shark up in the movie, whereas the way it dies (it just dies of exhaustion) in the book suits the book. At ten I read the Alan Arnold Star Wars novel, which was effectively the book of the film and it deviatated very little...
Published on 27 Sept. 2010 by Filthy Raider

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a collection of short stories
This book is very witty. I saw the film before I read the book, and if the film had to contain everything that's in the book, it would have to be in two or three parts.
It's like Winston Groom wants to tell everything about post-War history and society in the USA, and the idea of seeing this through the eyes and wisdom of a supposedly less intelligent and man with...
Published on 2 Jan. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different Gump, 27 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Perfect Paperback)
I've read a few film/books in my time. I can remember reading Jaws when it came out and then seeing the movie (the film of the book). They blow the shark up in the movie, whereas the way it dies (it just dies of exhaustion) in the book suits the book. At ten I read the Alan Arnold Star Wars novel, which was effectively the book of the film and it deviatated very little from the film.

Suffice to say Jaws is still on the book shelf and Star Wars, well Star Wars was sold off years ago.

This is NOT the book of the Tom Hanks film. The character is somewhat similar but physically the Gump of the book is bigger, better looking and........well, put it this way, there are things in the book that were never in the film and things in the film that were never in the book.

To be honest I enjoyed it more that way.

The big revelation for me was HOW it is written. Think of it as Forrest telling you his story. There is a chapter of 'reading shock' in which you get used to the wording - next spelt 'nex' and rarely do you get a 'd' on the end of and. Within a couple of chapters you are fully immersed listening to him telling you the story.

If the film helps in anyway, you only have to think of Hank's briliant portrayal to get a face and voice in your head.

But don't come to the book expecting the film. You will get the Writer's Cut!

Is one better than the other? Personally I liked 'em both. You will appreciate Winston Groom's style and grittier story but it will make you pop out the Hanks DVD to see how clever Hollywood can be with converting the written word to the screen.

The book works as a book, the film as a film, but the film of this book or the book of that film.........no.

Well, life is like a box of chocolates......And he says that right at the start of the book, and film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you think you know Forrest, think again, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Kindle Edition)
This is a wonderful book and it's so different to the movie that I feel almost cheated by the movie script writers. Some of the incidents and outcomes are a little predictable, but that doesn't spoil the experience of reading it. It's written in the first person by Forrest and it's sometimes difficult to get Tom Hank's voice out of the head, but I think that's really just a tribute to the fantastic movie performance by him.
I would also strongly recommend the sequel Gump & Co, which ties everything down perfectly
A great book, I've been recommending it to my friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars laugh, smile and love, 15 July 2014
By 
Wiz "Wiz" (Apperley Bridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Kindle Edition)
Don't read Forrest Gump in public if you get embarrassed by laughing out loud in front of strangers. Ridiculous the way he crashes from one adventure to another but held together by the sympathy you feel for Forrest and his relationship with the events that overtake him.

Many people will like me have seen the film and enjoyed it but the book is well worth the read for the laughs and smiles it brings and for the way Forrest's love for Jenny develops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, totally different from the film., 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. Told in small chapters, which if you sometimes find it hard to get the time to read is ideal. The book is totally different to the film, which was great, because you had no idea what would happen next. Who knew Forrest would go to space, with a male orangutan called Sue! Totally recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read..., 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Perfect Paperback)
I wanted to try the book as the film is so good. I found the way it is written, as Forrest would have spoken, slightly difficult at first but then I got to grips with it, and I thoroughly enjoyed the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Kindle Edition)
If you loved the movie be advised that you've only seen the shadows of what is a much deeper story. This book will transport you in a fantastic world seen by the eyes of a unique man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A catalyst for truth, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Perfect Paperback)
In this excellent and hilarious novel, Groom creates a character who is - yes, an idiot - but also a roll-model, who every man can admire. The journey of Forrest Gump includes becoming a great sportsman, joining the army and fighting honorably in Vietnam, going into Space, building a successful shrimp business from the bottom up, becoming a chess champion, running for the Senate, and a helluva lot more! Indeed, this is a story of an idiot who sets an unbeatable example for the whole world; demonstrating that any man can become anything he wants to become.
Groom has created a magnificent tale which shows that communism doesn't work. The Vietnam War is not just an event here, it is an underlying metaphor throughout - it even trumps 'Animal Farm' in that sense; for, 'Forrest Gump' creates a feeling of hope towards capitalism - and the free world in general - not a feeling of cynicism towards a system that does not work. Indeed, Groom's novel is elegant, subtle and hopeful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Delight', 15 Aug. 2010
By 
A. Perryman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Perfect Paperback)
'Delight' seems to be the emotion I felt whilst reading this novel. As a huge Tom Hanks fan, and a big lover of the movie, I deemed it only right to give the original material some attention. I was sure that the novel wouldn't live up to the film but in actual fact it did! After conquering the strange, southern prose (being British it was rather alien to me, but it only took a few pages to slip into it) it's a wonderful journey to be taken along on. Gump in the novel is a different character to Tom Hanks, although I had the iconic Hanks' Gump in my head for most of the story; its like watching the film, but with extended exclusive scenes! The parts of the novel which didn't make the film are fantastic!
This book made me extremely happy and sad, made me laugh ... and whilst didn't quite make me cry, it came rather close! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous Gump!, 12 April 2007
By 
Alex Ryde (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Perfect Paperback)
If you have seen the movie - read the book. You feel like you are meeting Forrest for the first time. The movie is so different from the book that it is practically a whole new life story, but with the same character we all know a love. The horizons are broader, although the world that Gump lives in is darker and he is more maligned than Tom Hanks' Forrest is. Still, when you read the book, you come to realise that there is a little Gump in all of us! Long Live Forrest Gump!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars missed my tom hanks!, 25 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Forrest Gump (Perfect Paperback)
This forrest is certainly not the tom hanks version as everyone else seems to be pointing out, however it is still a powerful and moving story about a young man who may be an idiot but is certainly not stupid. It shocked me to have a forrest smoking dope, engaging in carnal relations, socialising with apes and mastering advanced sciences etc. The overshadow of the film's success makes it hard not to feel somewhat disappointed in the book though it did make me laugh, cry and ponder greatly. Made me wonder who really is the idiot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forrest Gump
Forrest Gump by Winston Groom (Perfect Paperback - 6 Oct. 1994)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews