Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2002
I've savored just about every word this man's ever written. I still vividly recall him at a lecture he gave in Berkley in 1972 standing at the lectern in his white Gatsby suit, starched pink shirt and nattily knotted tie. I can't recall the ostensible topic. He covered so much ground and had such a wealth of ideas and insights that the topic was irrelevent anyway. He's always been our keenest observer of American culture, on subjects ranging from hippies, art snobs, wall street, the space race, to the Southern nouveau-riches.
In terms of unadulterated reading enjoyment, however, this book is still my favorite. He captures the era perfectly. This was the period in the mid-sixties when the hippie philosophy and lifestyle was still genuine, before it had become commercially exploited by the mass media, before Manson and Altamont and the seeds of evil. It was an uncorrupted, pure, joyous movement and moment. Owsley was the bay area chemist who produced hits of Sandoz-quality acid that sent the children out dancing blissfully through the night and into the purple dawn. It truly looked like a brave new world. If you are young and can't undertand why former hippies wax nostalgic about it, it's primarily (at least to me) because that tiny era of innocence can never be recreated.
11 comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2003
As somebody slightly obsessed with the major happenings of the sixties, but who missed the period by a good 10 years, I found this book compelling. I've heard stories for years by old hippies about their crazy travels, but nothing as lucid as Wolfe's excellent commentary on the Merry Pranksters. Kesey is painted as a zarathustra-esque messiah of hippiedom, leading his dedicated crew of followers into an awesome social experiment.....and not with small thanks to a little LSD! Slightly crazy, slightly dark at times, frequently funny, constantly fascinating. Wolfe seems to capture the idealistic notions of the pranksters' attempts to subvert society perfectly; as a reader you're literally bumping around the back of the bus with them. Oh for a big psychedelic school-bus!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2007
Where did the saying "You're either on the bus or you're off the bus" come from ?

Who were the real people in Kerouac's On The Road ?

How did The Grateful Dead create such awesome sounds ?

What did the Pranksters think about their meeting with The Hell's Angels ? (Hunter Thompson reported it in his book of the same name - this gives the other side of the same story)

How did The Beatles come up with the idea for their Magical Mystery Tour ?

The answer to these and many more questions about the acid culture of the 60s (when it was a lot safer to pop a tab) can be found in this great read. Highly recommended for anyone who was around at the time and can't remember much about it - also recommended for those who can remember and want a great trip down memory lane.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2007
Ken Keysey is a myth in his own time. The author of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest, the guru of LSD culture as the more gritty and real reflection of Timothy Leary (or I should rather say Leary was Keysey's reflection).

Given this, it is only right that he should be the central subject of a book written about this culture and time, which is in essence what the Electric Kool-aid Acid Test is.

This account describes the rise and fall of LSD culture from the early 1960s. Tom Wolfe, a prominent journalist of the time documents Keyseys journey from his early involvement in official LSD experiments and his establishment of an LSD community whose primary aim was to seek enlightenment using LSD as a tool, to Keysey's ultimate rejection of LSD.

This book is a testament to the charisma and strength of Keysey's character in his ability to lead his merry bunch through their escapades across America, outraging the local conservatives in doing so. Keysey's will and skill is put to the test from such tasks as wooing the cultural intelligentia of the day to the altogether more hazardous pursuit of entertaining the Hell's Angels.

There are some excellent scenes in the book, for example incorporating the person on whom Kerouac's "On The Road" hero Moriarty, is based upon, and also a description of the meeting between Keysey and Kerouac, where the egos of the two appear to clash in a "this town ain't big enough for two intellectual authors"-type scene.

My only criticism is that Wolfe sometimes appears a little star-struck by Keysey, who is clearly highly seductive. However, he manages to maintain enough objectivity to make this book a fascinating description of the culture and politics of the 1960's, as told through the inspiring anti-convention adventures and escapades of Keysey and his disciples. I cannot but give this book 5 stars as an account of the truth behind the pop myth of the 1960's psychedelic revolution.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
An incredible insight into a pivotal time. Wolfe draws upon the experiences of many Merry Pranksters to give a range of personal perspectives, capturing the frenetic vibe of the developing psychedelic movement with a unique writing style. For some, this style may prove difficult to penetrate, while others will find it absorbing. (You're either on the bus or off the bus!) Personally, it carried me along with the flow on a most enjoyable ride...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
Once upon a psychedelic time this was one of the best reads around and no doubt there are some who would say it still is. I find the writing style dated, which does not mean to say it isn't good. Some readers might enjoy being in a trippy time capsule. I have to admit that I sometimes do but this one does not quite cut the mustard for me because the story, unlike good wine, has not aged well over the years.The story takes you back to a more innocent time but I am glad to have left that time behind me, well, at least how it is depicted in this particular novel. If interested in this you might want to check out this... --- ...Mind Bomb
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2007
Ken Keysey is a myth in his own time. The author of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest, the guru of LSD culture as the more gritty and real reflection of Timothy Leary (or I should rather say Leary was Keysey's reflection).

Given this, it is only right that he should be the central subject of a book written about this culture and time, which is in essence what the Electric Kool-aid Acid Test is.

This account describes the rise and fall of LSD culture from the early 1960s. Tom Wolfe, a prominent journalist of the time documents Keyseys journey from his early involvement in official LSD experiments and his establishment of an LSD community whose primary aim was to seek enlightenment using LSD as a tool, to Keysey's ultimate rejection of LSD.

This book is a testament to the charisma and strength of Keysey's character in his ability to lead his merry bunch through their escapades across America, outraging the local conservatives in doing so. Keysey's will and skill is put to the test from such tasks as wooing the cultural intelligentia of the day to the altogether more hazardous pursuit of entertaining the Hell's Angels.

There are some excellent scenes in the book, for example incorporating the person on whom Kerouac's "On The Road" hero Moriarty, is based upon, and also a description of the meeting between Keysey and Kerouac, where the egos of the two appear to clash in a "this town ain't big enough for two intellectual authors"-type scene.

My only criticism is that Wolfe sometimes appears a little star-struck by Keysey, who is clearly highly seductive. However, he manages to maintain enough objectivity to make this book a fascinating description of the culture and politics of the 1960's, as told through the inspiring anti-convention adventures and escapades of Keysey and his disciples. I cannot but give this book 5 stars as an account of the truth behind the pop myth of the 1960's psychedelic revolution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
Ken Kesey is one of the most interesting people from the sixties without a shadow of a doubt. After getting the money from his book "one flew over the cuckoo's nest", he and his band of Merry Pransters reject modern society and live in his remote house and take a lot of acid. An amazing look back at the beginning of the sixties and one of the main figures in starting the whole acid scene. Also good for Kerouac fans cause Neal Cassady AKA Dean Moriarty is one of the main pransters. Really recommend this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2009
To me this is the definitive guide to the start of psychedelic hippy culture and makes an excellent read for those with an interest in the history of youth culture.In essence its the story of Ken(One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest) Kesey's social experiment involving LSD and his attempt at "tuning in" the world to drug induced spiritual experience.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
It is with great appropriatenessnessness that Hunter Thompson, in an S-less state, is mentioned, as the author of "Hell's Angels", as this is the other half of the equation whose solution is "Fear & Loathing In Las Vegas".

A psychedelic splurge of a book, covering the acid-soaked start of the California Counterculture, of a type that the Summer of Love represented an end of, not a beginning. As the half-century approaches, read it and enjoy as the past turns into history - and no, they're not the same thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.