Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Second The RIP to Ken
I've savored just about every word this man's ever written. I still vividly recall him at a lecture he gave in Berkley in 1972 standing at the lectern in his white Gatsby suit, starched pink shirt and nattily knotted tie. I can't recall the ostensible topic. He covered so much ground and had such a wealth of ideas and insights that the topic was irrelevent anyway. He's...
Published on 30 Nov. 2002 by Bruce Kendall

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Self indulgent trip
Overrated, over hyped, self indulgent and badly written. This is a difficult book to get to the end of. No attempt is made to evaluate the effects of the personalities involved, or to place them in some kind of political, social, or cultural context. Everything is a blast,a gas,a crazy trip...... lack of critical analysis leaves a large hole at the heart of this...
Published on 15 July 2011 by Martin Daly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Second The RIP to Ken, 30 Nov. 2002
By 
Bruce Kendall "BEK" (Southern Pines, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test (Paperback)
I've savored just about every word this man's ever written. I still vividly recall him at a lecture he gave in Berkley in 1972 standing at the lectern in his white Gatsby suit, starched pink shirt and nattily knotted tie. I can't recall the ostensible topic. He covered so much ground and had such a wealth of ideas and insights that the topic was irrelevent anyway. He's always been our keenest observer of American culture, on subjects ranging from hippies, art snobs, wall street, the space race, to the Southern nouveau-riches.
In terms of unadulterated reading enjoyment, however, this book is still my favorite. He captures the era perfectly. This was the period in the mid-sixties when the hippie philosophy and lifestyle was still genuine, before it had become commercially exploited by the mass media, before Manson and Altamont and the seeds of evil. It was an uncorrupted, pure, joyous movement and moment. Owsley was the bay area chemist who produced hits of Sandoz-quality acid that sent the children out dancing blissfully through the night and into the purple dawn. It truly looked like a brave new world. If you are young and can't undertand why former hippies wax nostalgic about it, it's primarily (at least to me) because that tiny era of innocence can never be recreated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Out Man!, 23 May 2003
This review is from: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test (Paperback)
As somebody slightly obsessed with the major happenings of the sixties, but who missed the period by a good 10 years, I found this book compelling. I've heard stories for years by old hippies about their crazy travels, but nothing as lucid as Wolfe's excellent commentary on the Merry Pranksters. Kesey is painted as a zarathustra-esque messiah of hippiedom, leading his dedicated crew of followers into an awesome social experiment.....and not with small thanks to a little LSD! Slightly crazy, slightly dark at times, frequently funny, constantly fascinating. Wolfe seems to capture the idealistic notions of the pranksters' attempts to subvert society perfectly; as a reader you're literally bumping around the back of the bus with them. Oh for a big psychedelic school-bus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only a great read but also a great reference work of the era, 13 Aug. 2007
By 
Greysuit (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test (Paperback)
Where did the saying "You're either on the bus or you're off the bus" come from ?

Who were the real people in Kerouac's On The Road ?

How did The Grateful Dead create such awesome sounds ?

What did the Pranksters think about their meeting with The Hell's Angels ? (Hunter Thompson reported it in his book of the same name - this gives the other side of the same story)

How did The Beatles come up with the idea for their Magical Mystery Tour ?

The answer to these and many more questions about the acid culture of the 60s (when it was a lot safer to pop a tab) can be found in this great read. Highly recommended for anyone who was around at the time and can't remember much about it - also recommended for those who can remember and want a great trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of psychedelic outlaw underculture in the '60s, 18 Oct. 2007
This review is from: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test (Paperback)
Ken Keysey is a myth in his own time. The author of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest, the guru of LSD culture as the more gritty and real reflection of Timothy Leary (or I should rather say Leary was Keysey's reflection).

Given this, it is only right that he should be the central subject of a book written about this culture and time, which is in essence what the Electric Kool-aid Acid Test is.

This account describes the rise and fall of LSD culture from the early 1960s. Tom Wolfe, a prominent journalist of the time documents Keyseys journey from his early involvement in official LSD experiments and his establishment of an LSD community whose primary aim was to seek enlightenment using LSD as a tool, to Keysey's ultimate rejection of LSD.

This book is a testament to the charisma and strength of Keysey's character in his ability to lead his merry bunch through their escapades across America, outraging the local conservatives in doing so. Keysey's will and skill is put to the test from such tasks as wooing the cultural intelligentia of the day to the altogether more hazardous pursuit of entertaining the Hell's Angels.

There are some excellent scenes in the book, for example incorporating the person on whom Kerouac's "On The Road" hero Moriarty, is based upon, and also a description of the meeting between Keysey and Kerouac, where the egos of the two appear to clash in a "this town ain't big enough for two intellectual authors"-type scene.

My only criticism is that Wolfe sometimes appears a little star-struck by Keysey, who is clearly highly seductive. However, he manages to maintain enough objectivity to make this book a fascinating description of the culture and politics of the 1960's, as told through the inspiring anti-convention adventures and escapades of Keysey and his disciples. I cannot but give this book 5 stars as an account of the truth behind the pop myth of the 1960's psychedelic revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of psychedelic outlaw underculture in the '60s, 15 Nov. 2007
Ken Keysey is a myth in his own time. The author of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest, the guru of LSD culture as the more gritty and real reflection of Timothy Leary (or I should rather say Leary was Keysey's reflection).

Given this, it is only right that he should be the central subject of a book written about this culture and time, which is in essence what the Electric Kool-aid Acid Test is.

This account describes the rise and fall of LSD culture from the early 1960s. Tom Wolfe, a prominent journalist of the time documents Keyseys journey from his early involvement in official LSD experiments and his establishment of an LSD community whose primary aim was to seek enlightenment using LSD as a tool, to Keysey's ultimate rejection of LSD.

This book is a testament to the charisma and strength of Keysey's character in his ability to lead his merry bunch through their escapades across America, outraging the local conservatives in doing so. Keysey's will and skill is put to the test from such tasks as wooing the cultural intelligentia of the day to the altogether more hazardous pursuit of entertaining the Hell's Angels.

There are some excellent scenes in the book, for example incorporating the person on whom Kerouac's "On The Road" hero Moriarty, is based upon, and also a description of the meeting between Keysey and Kerouac, where the egos of the two appear to clash in a "this town ain't big enough for two intellectual authors"-type scene.

My only criticism is that Wolfe sometimes appears a little star-struck by Keysey, who is clearly highly seductive. However, he manages to maintain enough objectivity to make this book a fascinating description of the culture and politics of the 1960's, as told through the inspiring anti-convention adventures and escapades of Keysey and his disciples. I cannot but give this book 5 stars as an account of the truth behind the pop myth of the 1960's psychedelic revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The definative title on the counterculture, 12 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test (Paperback)
There is little i can say that has not een said already aout Woolfe's classic tales of Ken Kesey any his merry band of pranksters, So i will instead share its effect on the reader.

I first read the book at 17, flying high on acid on a trip to the beach with a group of close friends. before i was half way through, i felt more alive than ever before. Learning that there is not only deep history to the walk in life i have chosen, but heros, tales of good versus evil, and adventure, is somthing that forever changed me. My mind exploded with plans and excitment at seeing the shier potential that life has to offer.

Keseys group represent all that is alive in life. They represent those of us that have a true childlike passion to explore the world inside and out, and have fun in doing it. To create somthing new, just for the trip, not the destination.

I have read the title 3 more times since then, once in london, when i needed to remember beuty, and once now, as i am coming to the age when buying a bus, and getting on the road to get deep into the unspoken thing seems doable. Anyone who feels they were born at the wrong time, who has a restles urge for a freedom they dont have now, anyone with the need to throw themselvs deep into the unknown needs to read this book. It is not a book to mark the times in a historic sence, but a book to mark the passion behind the counterculture, and to inspire us, to keep on truckin' till the fat lady gets high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Has not aged well over the years., 3 Aug. 2010
By 
ANITA "AF" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test (Paperback)
Once upon a psychedelic time this was one of the best reads around and no doubt there are some who would say it still is. I find the writing style dated, which does not mean to say it isn't good. Some readers might enjoy being in a trippy time capsule. I have to admit that I sometimes do but this one does not quite cut the mustard for me because the story, unlike good wine, has not aged well over the years.The story takes you back to a more innocent time but I am glad to have left that time behind me, well, at least how it is depicted in this particular novel. If interested in this you might want to check out this... --- ...Mind Bomb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The other half of The New Journalism, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
Davey (Dorset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test (Paperback)
It is with great appropriatenessnessness that Hunter Thompson, in an S-less state, is mentioned, as the author of "Hell's Angels", as this is the other half of the equation whose solution is "Fear & Loathing In Las Vegas".

A psychedelic splurge of a book, covering the acid-soaked start of the California Counterculture, of a type that the Summer of Love represented an end of, not a beginning. As the half-century approaches, read it and enjoy as the past turns into history - and no, they're not the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Electric Kool Aid, 29 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test (Paperback)
Ken Kesey is one of the most interesting people from the sixties without a shadow of a doubt. After getting the money from his book "one flew over the cuckoo's nest", he and his band of Merry Pransters reject modern society and live in his remote house and take a lot of acid. An amazing look back at the beginning of the sixties and one of the main figures in starting the whole acid scene. Also good for Kerouac fans cause Neal Cassady AKA Dean Moriarty is one of the main pransters. Really recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A most enjoyable ride, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test (Paperback)
An incredible insight into a pivotal time. Wolfe draws upon the experiences of many Merry Pranksters to give a range of personal perspectives, capturing the frenetic vibe of the developing psychedelic movement with a unique writing style. For some, this style may prove difficult to penetrate, while others will find it absorbing. (You're either on the bus or off the bus!) Personally, it carried me along with the flow on a most enjoyable ride...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test
The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test by Tom Wolfe (Paperback - 17 Feb. 1989)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews