Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye opener...., 13 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Animals In War (Paperback)
As an established great novelist I was uncertain how Jilly Cooper would tackle the emotional task of depicting how animals were and indeed are used in warfare both past and present. The result I can confirm is a wonderful mix of both accurate and calm portrayal of facts along with a deep compassion. As an animal lover I already knew a little of the utterly horrific conditions of war for both humans and animals, nothing could have prepared me for the sheer numbers of animals involved, the depravation and terror that both endured. The reader is humbled by the sumpreme effort and unrewarded sacrifice made by animals (and of course our fellow man....) during times of war and also during military 'testing'. This book should be read by everyone who professes a fondness for our fellow species. Bravo, Jilly, for bringing these little known facts to our attention and may we never forget the incalculable cost of the sacrifice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving tribute, 25 April 2007
This review is from: Animals In War (Paperback)
Jilly Cooper is so well known for her racy fiction that some may have been surprised to see her tackle such a serious subject. But her love for her own dogs and cats is often written about. In one instance she famously said of a good looking woman that she had the face of a lurcher. Only a dog lover could understand that this was a compliment!

Jilly tells the sad and heroic tale of these heroes who had no choice and how they rose to the occasion one and all.

Animals in war gave their lives to their human comrades and the cause. I defy you to read this and not wonder at their spirit and generosity.

This is a sad read but also a moving tribute. Read it and give a home to a rescued cat, dog or horse today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book to Keep, 3 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Animals In War (Paperback)
What a fantastic little book this is. I buy so many books from Amazon and once I've read them I send them on, but I'm going to keep this book. It's a very moving read. Some of the stories are very shocking, particularly around the sheer volume of animals used and disposed of without a second thought. I also had no idea that pigeons could fly so fast! It's also full of funny stories that will have you laughing out loud.
Thoroughly enjoyable - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Updated Edition for a Worthy Cause, 2 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Animals In War (Paperback)
I read this book when it was initially published back in the early 1980's (the inclusion of the Hyde Park Nail Bombing forms a excellent introduction to the chapter on horses in war) and have been putting off buying this edition since it was updated and republished to raise monies for the Animals in War memorial, now in existance in Park Lane, London (I think).
With a chapter each for horses, dogs, mules, elephants, camels and even one for the Home Front listing cats and dogs far from the Front Line, this is an excellent book and a great introduction to lead to further reading.
Most moving for me, after the horses, is the chapter on mules. Or perhaps the camels. I can't decided! Yes, they kick, and swear and smell and aren't in the least romantic to ride or perch atop of. But the humble mule allowed himself to be dropped like so much cargo from the back of a transport plane into the Asian jungle battlefields of WW2 to continue service as pack animals. They endured having their vocal chords cut so they wouldn't give vital military positions away. They carried wounded men, ammunition, morale and the best wishes of the troops when they did to the senior officer what the men would like to so. Camels, well, yes, they bite. And spit. And are notoriously canktanterous (I may have spelt that wrong, forgive me!). But Lawrence of Arabia rode one and won the hearts of the Arab tribes to rise up and see off the German and Turkish armies in the Middle East and the Holy Land in WW1. They carried men, whole and injured, to and from battlefields. They delighted their riders when they they raced in informal Sweepstake races held out of line, and won the hearts of the men when the females camels gave birth to 'anthills on stilts' who toddled about during breaks in manouveres.
The chapter on the Home Front is no less moving - cats and dogs giving their owners early warning of air raids in both World Wars, police horses refusing to go down streets where incendury bombs drop moments later, even the parrot who, rescued from a bombed out East End house, declared in ringing tones 'This is MY night out!!'.
Many stories, some funny, some sad, some heartwarming. All make you think - read and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual Jilly Cooper!, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Animals In War (Paperback)
An excellent gift for animal lovers and historians alike. I came across this book via a colleague at work and have bought multiple copies for gifts. I would especially recommend it for horse mad teens or elderly relatives who may have childhood memories of the war.Not at all what I would have expected from Jilly Cooper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye opener, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals In War (Paperback)
Not wishing to detract from the appalling deaths of men and women in war on all sides, this book was an eye opener as it re-enforced how man misuses animals particularly during war - even today although did have some poignant moments where individual soldiers went to great lengths to care for their animals. I was shocked to discover that at the beginning of WW1 there was no food or shelter for the horses and many starved or died from exposure as horses were thought to be able to forage and find shelter in the mud of the battlefields! The final betrayal, at the end of WW1 only a tiny number of horses (mainly officer horses) were repatriated home, the vast majority were sold to slaughter houses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Animals in War, 23 Oct. 2013
By 
L. Franklin "Lu Lu" (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals In War (Paperback)
This book arrived quickly, and although quite old, was in excellent condition.

This is a very sad book and highlights the cruelty man has inflicted to animals during war time. Jilly Cooper writes with huge emotion and conviction. I found it extremely hard to read at times, but carried on as I had to know what these poor animals went through.

I have visited the beautiful war memorial on Park Lane, London, which has been dedicated to animals in war. This was pioneered by Jilly Cooper, Joanna Lumley and many others, and came as no surprise that they had to practically beg for the money, but got there in the end. The beautifully in scripted words "They Had No Choice" were actually quoted by Jilly's husband, Leo Cooper.

For anyone who has not read the book, please read it.

For anyone who has not seen the war memorial, please go and see it.

Lucy Franklin
Animal Lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a friend who works at The Horse Trust, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals In War (Paperback)
And, she loves it. I read this book when I was much younger and the message and stories have never left me - it was a perfect gift for an animal loving friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good but often uncomfortable read., 5 Oct. 2009
By 
Ms. Susie Fifield (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals In War (Paperback)
This is a super book for teachers of history in the primary school as it gives a hook for understanding the horrors of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals in War (Paperback)
Very sad book, will have you weeping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animals In War
Animals In War by Jilly Cooper OBE (Paperback - 21 Sept. 1984)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews