Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars640
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2014
I loved this. As a huge fan of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice this intrigued me from the beginning. It gives a clear voice to those who are only hinted at in Austen's writing. My only gripe is that the ending came too soon - I would have happily read on for longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
My wife thought this was great. She liked they the structure and the reference to the original "Pride and Prejudice". Wickham particularly well developed. I am reading it now and 33% through. It is not a "girly" book and I am enjoying it as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Really absorbing, a whole new perspective set around the characters we already know from Pride and Prejudice. New individuals to get to know and ok so some of the plot line was..hmm.....a bit far fetched but that didn't detract from it being a really enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
This is the best of all the books that were inspired byPride and Prejudice. It is such a different take on the original story that it stands alone perfectly well- but if you know your Jane Austen, it helps to make the original story make sense ! A really good book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Very well done. The Author brings to life the unseen people behind the scenes of the privileged. My only criticism is that some of the language was a bit too modern. There were scenes that bordered on cheap romantic novel porn. Nonetheless it was a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
A pleasantly surprising book.the author weaves a tale we know so well into a deeply rich yet subtle social commentary.the characters are richly drawn and endearing.it's like Baker has placed a thin sheet of modern consciousness over Austen 's romantic dilemmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
the authors imagination drives the lovely story and continually reflects on life upstairs. the reader would need to have read pride and prejudice to fully appreciate the story. it has twists and turns and is not too predictable. a very enjoyable light read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
My first thought was that someone was jumping onto the Jane Austen bandwagon to get their writing career off the ground. BUT I was intrigued by the subject. I am so pleased I overcame my prejudice as the book was very well written and a thoroughly good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
A highly-accomplished Austen tribute, developing a simple idea with great sensitivity and imagination. Pitch-perfect in its social detail, not over-plotted and written with assured directness and just the right amount of quotation in direct speech to evoke the upstairs characters with knowing affection. The interior lives of the servants are convincingly depicted; the writer has lived with them, through them, and the reader is enchanted. At times the language is poetic,even lyrical, in its descriptions of place and weather. The military passages are less assured; the use of the word 'barrage ' for defensive artillery is anachronistic, and the late military historian Richard Holmes is credited as Robert in her acknowledgements. Hardly a major error, but I'm sure Ms Baker would not like to see 'Jean Austen' in any similar list. After this I am even more certain that Mr Bennet is my favourite character in fiction!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
This book was a really interesting read. It also seemed to get all the allusions to Pride and Prejudice correct, something other books trying to continue the story often do not. I got a bit bored by the long section on army life, though it was informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.