Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Charming, Amusing and Mystical Collection of Short Stories
Joanne Harris' latest book, the enticingly named 'A Cat, A Hat and a Piece of String' is a wonderful collection of her short stories and a book which demonstrates, yet again, the author's talent as a teller of imaginatively superior tales.

There is an interesting introduction to this collection, where Joanne Harris explains how she chose her title and, in...
Published 20 months ago by Susie B

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag
Found a lot of variation in these short stores, some excellent and some not so good. Prefer her longer novels especially the Chocolat trilogy.
Published 18 months ago by berenice mccrae


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Stories, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Limerick, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. I particularly liked that Joanne wrote something about why she had written the individual stories - what had inspired her. The stories covered a variety of subjects from old peoples' homes to cyberspace and some were less than lovely! Exactly what you would expect from Joanne Harris. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat, a Hat, and a Piece of String (Paperback)
Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short Stories at their best, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very different and entertaining, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Joanne Harris is one of my favourite authors. I don't usually like short stories but I really enjoyed these. I love the way she writes and wish I had an ounce of her creativity! Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat, a Hat, and a Piece of String (Paperback)
Another beautifully written book by Joanne Harris. I have read everything published by this wonderful lady, and feel heartbroken at the end of every book. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always a pleasure, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always loved the underlying magic in Joanne Harris books. This collection of short stories does not disappoint. Mischievous old ladies, tree lovers, river children and a human spirit that refuses to be crushed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not compulsive, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read most of Joanna harris's books. Enjoyed most. This is a little off the wall for me. But I did not abandon it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joanne Harris, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Joanne Harris, especially, Chocolate, Lollipop shoes trilogy. This collection is great with a variety of genre! Love Faith and Hope stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cat hat string, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book, some amazing stories and some, well, felt half-hearted. Loved the hope and faith tales, the level x was chilling and well thought out, the mad actor story really got me thinking but my favourite was the story about the lady who got addicted to food. Would really like a whole book! As a relatively young reader with a mature reading age, I would recommend this to most people as it is a very easy read. Not her best, but good non the less. Especially loved the dark tales!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and not so short stories, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat, a Hat, and a Piece of String (Paperback)
Always handy to have a book of short stories around, love Joanne Harris but not so keen on some of these stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Cat, a Hat, and a Piece of String
A Cat, a Hat, and a Piece of String by Joanne Harris (Paperback - 16 Jan 2014)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews