Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Charming, Amusing and Mystical Collection of Short Stories
Joanne Harris' latest book, the enticingly named 'A Cat, A Hat and a Piece of String' is a wonderful collection of her short stories and a book which demonstrates, yet again, the author's talent as a teller of imaginatively superior tales.

There is an interesting introduction to this collection, where Joanne Harris explains how she chose her title and, in...
Published on 7 Nov. 2012 by Susie B

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A slightly odd mix
A slightly odd mix of tales here, which is I suppose the point of the short story genre.
Well written from a technical point of view, I found there was a slight over-reliance on hauntings and fantasy for my taste. The more straightforward slices of life in a retirement home seemed more my thing. Even there, there was a glass half full attitude which would begin to...
Published 1 month ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime and touching, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'A cat, a hat and a piece of string' is the second collection of short stories by Joanne Harris. The collection is a mixed bag with a christmas story, some ghost stories and a couple of old faces. I particulary enjoyed 'the muse' where as the writer discovers no-one is quite what they appear to be. There are a couple of very touching stories set in an retirement home.There is a very disturbing and chilling tale about a house haunted by the past. All the stories are beautifully crafted with finely observed characters. A must read for all fans of Joanne Harris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Short Stories from Joanne Harris, 28 Mar. 2013
By 
A. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion, this author's work varies more than usual. I like some of her books much more than others, although I think they are all worth buying, but the subject matter and level of writing doesn't remain constant. These short stories are a mix of stories arising from travel, so around-the-world tales, with a few of them stories about people from an imaginary English town she has created. In other words, I didn't feel there was one discernible theme to the collection. I love her style, though, and I would really recommend her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Stories, 26 Dec. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Limerick, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. I particularly liked that Joanne wrote something about why she had written the individual stories - what had inspired her. The stories covered a variety of subjects from old peoples' homes to cyberspace and some were less than lovely! Exactly what you would expect from Joanne Harris. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short stories with a touch of magic., 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy Joanne Harris's writing and these stories are enjoyable and thought-provoking. Having heard Joanne read one of the stories from this book, I can hear her voice in all of them. You may recognise some characters from a previous collection and this is a bit like hearing news about an old acquaintance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like Joanne Harris, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again a wonderful book of short stories. Janne Harris is so very good at this difficult style of writing. Definately a buy if you have not tried her short stories and will want to follow it up with her last short story collection Jigs and Reels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice collection of short stories!, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Joanne's books are always interesting, but it is good for a change to have a short story book. It is great to introduce the author's work, namely for those who are not too keen on a reading. Fun and interesting as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Mistress of the Word, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always excellent writing just so easy to read - flows along and carries you with it. I enjoyed Jigs & Reels and am enjoying this especially as I can see the thread running through each tale and as always intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A slightly odd mix, 27 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat, a Hat, and a Piece of String (Paperback)
A slightly odd mix of tales here, which is I suppose the point of the short story genre.
Well written from a technical point of view, I found there was a slight over-reliance on hauntings and fantasy for my taste. The more straightforward slices of life in a retirement home seemed more my thing. Even there, there was a glass half full attitude which would begin to grate a bit if it went much further.
I do like the prose style, which seems pleasingly unfussy, and the way scenes are set quickly but tellingly with just a few words.
This seems a bit negative as a review, the book is a bit better than a mere OK, but it would be pushing the truth to say I like it. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab short stories with interesting twists, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of these stories are beautiful and approach the world with a beautiful compassionate vision of people. Hope and Faith are particularly wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cat, a Hat and a piece of, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very eclectic mix of stories. All different yet all intermingled with one another. A good read.
I want to read the other collection of stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Cat, a Hat, and a Piece of String
A Cat, a Hat, and a Piece of String by Joanne Harris (Paperback - 16 Jan. 2014)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews