Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping insight into the Ponzi Scheme of Global & Govt Finance
Having read almost all of the books written about the 2007/8 "Credit Crisis" and ensuing events, I have to say that "Planet Ponzi" is definitely one of the best by far.

Mitch Feierstein forensically details the shockingly dubious and some might say "fraudulent" accounting practices of governments and financial institutions all over the world and explains how...
Published on 22 Feb. 2012 by Delta Hotel

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feierstein's american conservative bias shines through
I heard about this book on the Keiser Report, and was expecting something like an insiders account of money markets and bond markets, but it turned out to be very general and somewhat superficial. Feierstein begins by writing about the excessive federal debt of the US, and although there's really nothing new here, I find his views somewhat disturbing.

For one...
Published 16 months ago by Elis


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping insight into the Ponzi Scheme of Global & Govt Finance, 22 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Hardcover)
Having read almost all of the books written about the 2007/8 "Credit Crisis" and ensuing events, I have to say that "Planet Ponzi" is definitely one of the best by far.

Mitch Feierstein forensically details the shockingly dubious and some might say "fraudulent" accounting practices of governments and financial institutions all over the world and explains how trillions of dollars are spirited out of thin air while massive debts are "hidden" in financial black holes.

If you want to know what's really going on with our hard-earned taxes then I definitely recommend this book.

Considering how refreshingly eye-opening, fascinating, exposing and informative this book is, I am surprised "they" haven't tried to ban it being published.

More people should read this book - it's absolutely gripping and you will be amazed.

10/10 - Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Hardcover)
This book explains in normal, human, understandable language just why and how the world finances are in such a mess. In essence I found this book extremely good for a number of reasons, but the clarity is uppermost for me. One of the reasons I never entered the "banking/finance/theft" business, despite having a certain aptitude for it, is because at a very basic, logical sense, it made no sense. In other words, the "value" and "accounting processes" used by banks and their ilk is completely fictitious.
In addition to this the gobblydigook double-speak of the fork-tongued individuals who mainly populate this realm is enough to send you into a catatonic stupor within seconds. And finally, it has been my experience (and I have rubbed shoulders with several multi-millionaires and worked for a few billionaires) that the people in this field tend to have characters so devoid of ethics it is genuinely difficult for me to relate to them. Feierstein deconstructs all the veils and shadows and the boring language and writes in an entertaining as well as educational style. His sense of humour is a mixture of the British dry and the American gut-punch, making him very funny indeed. His sense of ethics is impeccable too and the book is an easy read, as he does not use any of the banking jargon without first explaining (usually in a funny way) what any of it means in normal language.. My only reservation, though it makes no impact at all on the quality of the book or the information within it (which I verified independently on several instances), is that there is precious little information on Mitch or his hedge fund online. There is also no information on his hedge fund registered with companies house. None of this is particularly suspicious though, it is also my experience wealthy people and hedge fund managers are notoriously careful about leaving their details all over the net. And his hedge fund may be registered somewhere other than the UK.
In any event, the book is a joy to read and it should really be required reading for everyone. His advice at the end of the book on steps you can take to protect your money and investments (regardless of whether it's a few hundred bucks in the bank or a few millions) is extremely pertinent and valuable. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful reading, a catalyst to awareness, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
Mitch has done a great of job informing his readers of the critical condition the economies of the World now find themselves in. He does come off as a pessimist although he states more than once he really isn't trying to.

The scales of the sums he discusses tend to become so vast that they almost lose all meaning but Mitch does a great job of illustrating just how much $200 Trillion dollars really is.

It's all very well writing the history of the economic collapse and the current state of play but Mitch also rounds off with a few well received tips on what happens next and how to prepare.

Because of his book I've now begun my own search for the "truth". I'm reading another economics book in direct conflict with Mitch's pro-austerity views and I guess I'll come down on one side or the other...hopefully.

Not one for the Keynesians but for anyone with even a modicum of interest in economics I would highly recommend!

Looking forward to Mitch's next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
Mitch Feierstein , makes this easy to follow ,lots of diagrams ,history and latest happenings ..and gobsmacking in its content .Should be read by everyone in the uk , no matter what politics or economical background. It just makes you realize what an economic mess the world is in , and a huge cover up is in place , and that politicians of ALL parties , are just interested in feathering their own nests, with their cast iron pensions , inherited or gained wealth, and ALL are in the pocket of the bankers .He shows how the world is based on a world of fantasy .The world of banks is not based in holding assets, but credit, leverage and debt.and Global QE of which there is no exit at all to that strategy. He Proves through logic that these bubbles / ponzi schemes ..just cannot be sustained.The incredible level of dept by all nations is just not being addressed.
I dont necessarily agree with his take on the uk,that they are trying their best , to get out of this ..compared to japan, europe and the usa , i think we are just as bad ..When in 2000 " goldfinger" brown sold off ,much of the uks gold sovereignty 400 tonnes at 200 dollar a ounce, when even now its well over 1200dollars an ounce. Nice one Gordon .!!!. "To big to fail", Was a green light to these criminal bankers . to weigh down future generations with years and years of dept . The mainstream media BBC just do not report any of these things , to busy keeping us comatose , by telling us all about the next series of "Strictly come dancing "

Planet ponzi is great, but ever so scary also ...Buy it you will not regret it. excellent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
Mitch Feierstein has written an excellent book on Wall Street financial capital Ponzi mega fraud and catastrophic Planet Ponzi economics. The book has the right balance of technical detail and as well as being highly readable. It is witty and very entertaining and lots of clear explanations. Mitch Feierstein concludes that Ponzi economics and Ponzi banking will self-destruct as it can’t be patched up, and it shouldn’t have been attempted, as it just prolongs the agony. Mitch is a little soft on Britain (Mitch must have some close friends in Britain that he does not want to see get too upset). No need to worry about us Mitch we already know the UK economy is ‘Going South’! A truly excellent book. Bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mitch for President, 18 Sept. 2012
By 
Damien Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books you will ever read and one of the most important. The author recounts in detail and in language even I could understand how a cabal of criminal bankers, criminal bureaucrats, criminal politicians and various other scoundrels of the global system have stolen your future and your children's future, very likely bankrupted the planet and almost without exception GOT AWAY WITH IT. Not only have they got away scott-free - none are in gaol, where they most certainly deserve to be; few if any have had any of their illegally-gained profits and so-called 'bonuses' taken away from them; none have had their aasets sequestered in an effort to recapture our lost wealth - but you my friend, the honest every taxpayers have been left to pick up the tab. And you know the worst of it - it's only going to get worse. You need to read this book because as Mitch says, either he's right or he's crazy - and if he's right you'd better be ready, for your sake and that of your loved-ones. MF comes across as being an honest, funny, spirited, principled, and extremely decent individual - and i firmly believe he has written this book for no other reason than to act as a clarion call to arms. If Mitch stood for President - or perhaps i should say PM as I'm a Brit - I would vote for him a thousand times over. How about it, Mitch? As you yourself say in your book, t's never too late to save the world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the eve of destruction, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
If you didn’t understand how the whole capitalist system came close to imploding in 2008 and why we still don’t seem to have recovered properly then you need to read ‘Planet Ponzi’. The only snag is that, by the time you’ve finished, you may conclude that things will have to get a whole lot worse before they can ever get better.
This is a surprisingly easy read and humorous, despite its overlying pessimism. The concepts being set out are, however, sometimes complicated and therefore slow-going (I had to re-read bits of it to absorb what on earth Mitch Fierstein was trying to explain).
There is also a snag that the book I read was published in 2012 so the world has moved on and the statistics are out of date. This means you can complacently sit back and think he got it wrong and things didn’t work out as badly as he feared. Greece hasn’t completely collapsed, for instance, and Britain is seeing economic growth.
To think that way would be wrong, though, because as Mitch Fierstein makes clear on numerous occasions, we are still piling debt on debt as if a day of financial reckoning will never dawn. But dawn it might well do. When we least expect it and when our personal finances are completely unprepared.
Mitch Fierstein offers some sensible, and relatively simple, solutions to many of the problems he’s highlighted. For instance: jail bankers who bring their institutions to the point of collapse. It would act as the perfect deterrent and ensure most of them stick to the straight and narrow in future. But with all their money and power, there’s no chance. Meanwhile the gambles get bigger and bigger, the debts carry on growing and one day our Governments will have to stop printing money as their solution to the crisis.
I’ve read other books about the banking crisis and the recession but this seems to me to be the most clear-eyed and compelling. Read it even if it doesn’t tell you what you want to hear. Or perhaps because it doesn’t tell you what you want to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most important books ever written, 7 April 2014
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
it is a rather grand and pretentious title for a book review however, given the subject, its indisputable facts as well as prognosis offered in this book, it does indeed makes it one of the most important books of our time and anyone who is interested in their own security and freedom, as well as that of their family, this book is a must. Mitch Feierstein talks about in very lucid way, using official Government documents and data, how the bankers, assisted by politicians and lawyers, and with near-total public apathy, stole our savings, our children’s futures and bankrupted our countries. It explains in great details what has happened and why, but more importantly, it talks as to what we can expect and how to protect your livelihood and personal freedom in the very near future. I cannot begin to describe my thanks to Mitch for writing this book and for making me able to take better care of my, and my family’s, finances. It is so more a pity that a principled, honest individual like that is not given greater prominence on our news channels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, a must read., 26 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
Excellent book, I wish I'd read it two years ago. As someone who has been following the current crisis of capitalism since the start of the credit crunch back in 2008 I was already aware of most of the information in this book, but Mitch Feierstein brings it all together into a coherent whole, and provides a background to understand what has happened since this book was published in 2012.
Be afraid, be very afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells it like it is, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Kindle Edition)
Mitch states the case for blowing up the rails underneath this financial juggernought very well. He also , like the rest of us, cannot understand why NONE of the bankers have been jailed for the theft of billions if not trillions of £/$. You come to the conclusion that we have a definate structure to the governance of any country. Big Businesses and the banks tell the goverment what to do and how much it will cost, they in turn tell us the people what to do and how much of our money they are going to take. Jo Stiglitz as well as many other people knew that in 1998 the world banking structure was out of control and no-one was doing anything to stop it. After reading this book i now realise that there is nothing any individual can do to stop or change the impending disaster. But, like a prisoner looking at his firing squad, at least it will be nice to know their uniforms are clean and their guns well polished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet Ponzi
Planet Ponzi by Mitch Feierstein (Paperback - 11 Oct. 2012)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews