Customer Reviews


3,283 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,061)
4 star:
 (837)
3 star:
 (244)
2 star:
 (72)
1 star:
 (69)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and emotional
Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry is beautiful and simple, yet at the same time it's is packed with emotion, self-doubt and heartache that's sure to hit a nerve with every reader.

It begins when Harold Fry receives a letter from an old colleague and friend informing him that she has been diagnosed with terminal cancer. What starts as a trip...
Published 23 months ago by Macey89

versus
126 of 138 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting journey
One of the oldest kinds of story is 'the journey' - the road trip - the odyssey. Most try hard to be epic in some sense, looking for superlatives of ardour, distance or grand purpose. What makes Harold Fry's pilgrimage a worthwhile one therefore is its humble and naïve intent that gives Rachel Joyce ample space to explore characters and the emotions that they...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by bomble


‹ Previous | 1 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and emotional, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Macey89 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry (Paperback)
Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry is beautiful and simple, yet at the same time it's is packed with emotion, self-doubt and heartache that's sure to hit a nerve with every reader.

It begins when Harold Fry receives a letter from an old colleague and friend informing him that she has been diagnosed with terminal cancer. What starts as a trip to the nearest post-box to send a letter expressing his condolences turns into an epic journey across the country. Without a map, a change of clothes or a mobile phone Harold's walk is dependent completely on his instincts, the kindness of strangers and the strength of his belief in the fact that if he keeps on walking, Queenie will keep on living.

Harold's walk seems so simple on the outside. As he describes it, it's just putting one foot in front of the other. But as he attempts to walks from Cornwall to Berwick-upon-Tweed, Harold is forced to confront the tragedies of his past, his estrangement from his wife and growing detachment from the world.

Left behind, his wife Maureen is also battling her own demons as she struggles with feelings of repressed loss and anger. Harold's walk and the space left by his absence, prompts her own personal journey.

The bit I loved most about this book was how the two central characters somehow, against the backdrop of everything that's happened in their lives, managed to find a way to rediscover their love for each other. It's an intense and emotional read and it really drives home the fact that it's never too late to change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


639 of 657 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, touching and engaging story, 5 Jan 2012
By 
L. H. Healy "Books are life, beauty and truth." (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a delightful, poignant tale of a retired couple, Harold and Maureen, living out their days in Devon, when something happens that will change their future. And it is such a small occurrence on the face of it - a letter arrives for Harold from a former colleague of his at the brewery, Queenie Hennessy. Harold writes a reply, and he sets off down the road to post it. But then he continues walking. And carries on walking, and it becomes his purpose to get to Queenie, to save her, all the hundreds of miles away up in a Hospice in Berwick-upon-Tweed, on foot, in just his yachting shoes.

Beautifully understated, the story plays out so well, there is sadness, some very touching moments, and there is some very well-observed gentle humour too. For Harold, and for Maureen, there is the time and space to take stock and think about their lives together, their son David, and about the events in the past that have brought them to where they are now. Can things be different for them; can they heal the divide that has grown? The reader is not party to the full story until close to the end of the novel. So we can only guess at the reason behind Harold's determination, whatever the odds, to get to Queenie, though we know it's not romantic love.

There is hope despite the difficult times. There is some lovely prose as Harold recognises and admires the nature all around him. His journey becomes more than just one that concerns himself and Queenie; it grows to involve the people he meets on his way, such a variety, by and large he is enriched by his encounters and buoyed by them. He is taken into strangers' confidences, and realises that so many people, despite appearances, have this inner torment that they carry with them. There are beautiful, simple but striking insights into humans, made through Harold.

This is a gentle, touching and rewarding tale, and what a promising, engaging first novel; it's a real accomplishment. I feel sure very many readers will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


229 of 241 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overwhelming, 23 Aug 2012
By 
Jade66 (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I glanced at a few of the reviews before buying this book, none of them do it justice and I doubt if mine will either. This is a wonderful story that entertains and disquiets in equal measure. Ostensibly it is about a man, just retired, who sets out to walk from Devon to Berwick on Tweed after receiving a letter from an old work colleague. The colleague, Queenie, is dying of cancer. Harold pens a quick reply and sets off to post it, but somehow the posting of this letter seems inadequate. He decides instead to walk the 500 odd miles to Berwick, taking us with him.

It is clear very early on that Harold's life has been a disappointment. An inability to connect with his son, (stemming from his own neglectful childhood) has driven a stake between him and his wife, Maureen, and what was once a good marriage has deteriorated into a hopeless desert of non communication.

It is during his long walk that we discover all about Harold, and Maureen, and their son David, and all about the long held grievances and misunderstandings that have culminated in their isolation and loneliness. Sometimes these memories are extremely painful and I found myself moved beyond belief at this fictional tale.

One of the 2 star reviews on this page unbelievably states "nothing much happens". Nothing could be further from the truth. Everything happens as this endearing man struggles to make sense of his life, struggles to find hope and optimism when doors have been closed resolutely in his face, and struggles to assert his humanity on an indifferent world.

This is a story about all those things we leave unsaid, of all those regrets we fight daily to forget. Wonderful writing, clear recognizable characters, a story that won't leave you, and an examination in depth of all those weird and wonderful contradictions that make us what we are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


322 of 344 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 31 Dec 2011
By 
Maggie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Be prepared to confront your personal demons when you read this book. For the mature reader in particular, I challenge you not to find something in this novel to make you at the least uneasy. It is ultimately an uplifting story, but along the way there is a great deal of pain and for many there will be uncomfortable home truths about things that we could have handled better, regrets about slipping into complacency and about the loss of passion. There is the terrible pain caused by the loss of a child; the guilt engendered by failure to appreciate and help a friend; the estrangement of a once-loving couple - and the knowledge that many of these things cannot be put right however much you want to.

Harold's walk is the vehicle for exploring these ideas and more. A very ordinary and unassuming man, not in any sense a hero, Harold's whim to walk to Berwick on Tweed to see a dying friend and by so doing to save her from cancer, provides the author with the opportunity to weave in the stories of many other people who, in the words of Henry David Thoreau, are living "lives of quiet desperation". The people he meets on his journey are often kind and generous but many are battling their own demons. At one point the simple pilgrimage that Harold has unwittingly created clashes with our modern world of celebrity - represented by the PR men and tabloid journalists - and you pray for Harold to escape all this and revert to his simple goal.

In the end Harold and his wife Maureen - a somewhat stereotypical middle-aged woman with net curtains and a clipped way of speaking that discourages anything unconventional - do find resolution and redemption. To say more would spoil the story. Do read it - it will make you laugh and cry but it will not leave you untouched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 138 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting journey, 28 Feb 2012
By 
bomble "bomble" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
One of the oldest kinds of story is 'the journey' - the road trip - the odyssey. Most try hard to be epic in some sense, looking for superlatives of ardour, distance or grand purpose. What makes Harold Fry's pilgrimage a worthwhile one therefore is its humble and naïve intent that gives Rachel Joyce ample space to explore characters and the emotions that they experience.

The bare bones of the story wouldn't fill more than a couple of pages, but Joyce has given life to her characters both in their past and present circumstances, making this book a lot more substantial. That said it comes as no surprise that she has honed her skills for the medium of Radio 4 afternoon plays as you could assume that she is writing for much the same cross-section of the population. There are some more 'sensitive' passages and the occasional profanity but you basically get the feeling that this is a book for the middle ground and unashamedly so.

Joyce's style is highly readable and it didn't take long to finish. She builds her characters in layers from the outside in as you gradually come to know their deeper thoughts, their joys and their sorrows. And it would be fair to say that I enjoyed the walk in Harold's shoes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful book, 22 Dec 2011
By 
C. Bones "surreyman" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I think this amazing debut novel could be as successful in 2012 as David Nicholls' One Day was in 2011. I don't mean that they are similar novels but they both offer that same blend of humour, wisdom and heart tugging pathos. And yet for about 50 pages I wasn't sure. Harold had set off on his journey and I started to wonder whether he was just a bit simple minded and unlikely to be an interesting companion over 300 pages. How wrong I was ! By the end I was in tears.

This is a story that develops in unexpected ways. It is by no means just the simple and charming tale that you may expect. Rachel Joyce starts by writing about her characters in a stripped down way that makes them very ordinary indeed. It appears that there are no heroes here. Just very ordinary people who on the whole fail to deal very well with life's tough knocks. And from this unpromising beginning she slowly start to weave her magic.

So what is it about ? Well, everything really, the whole of life. Its certainly about what love can achieve and its most definitely about what a lack of love can achieve. Its also about faith but not faith as you know it. This is not a story where anyone has any blazing convictions or sudden revelations. This is the sort of faith which starts off in misguided ways, humans stumbling along (literally in Harold's case) in a generally confused way and from this mixture of good and daft intentions a small light may start to flicker. And did I say that Ms Joyce writes like a dream? Well she does. How on earth can you produce a first book that is this well written ?

But my tip to would-be readers is to try and avoid too many reviews. As I said earlier this is a story that unfolds in unexpected ways and the last thing you want is learn anything too soon. Not only is the author a great writer but she doesn't put a foot wrong in the pacing and structure of her story. Just buy it. Just read it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and charming but not without faults, 12 Aug 2012
By 
R. A. Davison (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce was originally born out of a BBC Radio Play, and now finds itself on the Booker Prize longlist for 2012, something which created some media surprise when it was announced.

Harold Fry is a sweet portrait of a man who has lived by all appearances an ordinary and mundane existence, who receives a letter from a dying friend; setting out to post his response he finds he cannot stop walking and eventually resolves to walk all the way to visit his old colleague Queenie Hennessy. It is not however, a short journey for Harold lives in Dorset and Queenie in Berwick-upon-Tweed.

Quite why Queenie is so important is revealed slowly over the course of the novel, which is by turns heartwarming and heartbreaking. The style of prose has a fable like quality to it, and though the story packs a emotional punch with its terribly human psychology and identifiable feelings, the actual writing is fundamentally simplistic, making me wonder whether it is worthy of the Booker accolade, and certainly of winning it, though it is a nice nod to a sweet book.

I found the section where other people join in Harold's mission and hijack it for their own purposes really quite annoying, I have seen it done as a device in other novels which involve a mission or a cause and find it irritating. Essentially it's like the section in Forrest Gump when he runs on his own for ages. And that's the problem, this phenomena is quite un-British, and quite cheesily American, which is something that Harold Fry overall is not, Harold and his wife Maureen being quite quintessentially British which is the novel's central charm.

Though Harold's eventual reunion with Queenie is what I had expected all along, the novel is as with life about the journey not the destination. The end of the novel is incredibly touching, and you must have a heart of stone if you are not moved by the revelation towards the novel's close. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Self-consciously quirky, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry (Paperback)
Gosh, this book irritated me. Clearly I have no heart, but I simply don't understand the rave reviews, the Booker Prize nomination, nor the recommendations from a friend who told me it was one of her favourite books from last year. I. Don't. Get. It. It's saccharine sweet, knowingly quirky and then it heaps on a surprise reveal for a tearjerker ending that felt manipulative in the extreme.

Harold Fry is 65 and retired. He lives in Devon in England's south-east with Maureen, his wife of 45 years. The marriage is not terribly happy; they co-exist, but that's about it. One day he gets a letter from a former colleague whom he has not seen or talked to in 45 years. Queenie is writing to tell him that she has terminal cancer. Harold writes a letter in reply, goes out to post it and then spontaneously decides to walk to Queenie, (a journey of 627 miles). Between numerous references to blisters and his inappropriate boat shoes (which he will stubbornly refuse to replace), there are numerous encounters with an array of quirky characters who it would seem are desperate to unburden themselves on a stranger. Along the way he thinks a great deal about his upbringing, his relationship with his wife and his troubled relationship with his son. I wanted to shout at him to stop being such a matyr and I also wanted to slap almost every person that he met along the way.

This reminds me of books like Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, with its conviction that England is populated with nothing but endearing eccentrics. Even the whimsical chapter names "Harold and the Hiking Man and the Woman who Loved Jane Austen" or "Harold and the Barman and the Woman with Food" had me wanting to beat the book against a wall, screaming. To ram home the cutesy factor, each jolly little chapter title is accompanied by a playfully quaint illustration of a hedgehog or a pansy or a crow. So lovable!

In case you have written me off by now as a cold-hearted monster, I must point out that the central message didn't escape my notice - how could it, being laid on like a trowel? Harold realises that "in walking to atone for the mistakes he had made, it was also his journey to accept the strangeness of others" - meaning that he doggedly thinks the best of every moron who crosses his path. And yes, I was moved by the revelation near the book's conclusion. Hence my generosity in doubling my star rating. Actually that's a little unfair - it's not totally awful. It's an easy read, mercifully short and if you're less hard-hearted that me, you may even like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Careful catalogue of kindnesses, 30 Dec 2011
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Without doubt this is the most refreshing, uplifting and exciting new novel. So far Rachel Joyce been busy writing plays for Radio 4. You know the ones that stop you in your daily task, that have you weeping with understanding and poignant sadness, in the early afternoon. The Unlikely Pilgrimage sprang from such a source.

I travelled companionably with courteous, self effacing, resourceful Harold Fry, more in hope than expectation; up through England from Devon, aiming for north of the border. There lies poor Queenie, a friend from his working days, a lady who he once had to drive from place to place. She was a good friend and looked out for Harold, eventually to her cost. Her cancer is terminal, her letter short but gripping, Harold feels drawn to visit her, to try to save her. All on a whim but one you feel anyone could be caught up by. The idea that somehow you can thwart fate by believing in a goal and stubbornly sticking to it. No careless or selfish hero is Harold, he maintains his links with home and gives himself no quarter or relief. His forty year old marriage has sadly turned sour, his son David appears an enigma, his wife closed in to her world of cleaning, tidying and shutting him out of her heart. She can't stop herself behaving this way although she recognises what she is doing. In the spirit of something must change the book takes off when, 'We all sit down far more than are meant to' Harold decides, and so along the road we go, gathering skills, experience and memories along the way.

Not an active gentleman, only used to driving about the countryside; being on foot shows Harold, a wholly different environment. One that can heal, help and encourage. He realises how little he needs and wants even. If you can be touched by the humanity that bubbles beneath the surface of everyday life, rarely tested but still stoically standing ready to offer the best of human nature, this will reinforce your confidence in people in general. The descriptions are fresh, the pace perfect, the denouement surprising and immensely satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST BEAUTIFUL, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Alan J. Crowley (Binley, Coventry) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For once, the professional reviewers have this book dead to rights. Moving, poignant, uplifting, heart-breaking, with wonderfully descriptive accounts of England and it's inhabitants, this is a magnificent book. Twice it moved me to tears. I was in the works canteen on both occasions, which was a little embarrassing, but, following Harold's philosophy, who cares?
I finished reading this book yesterday evening, and afterwards made sure I gave my wife of 36 years and my 25 year old son an extra big good-night hug and kiss. Read it, you must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry
The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce (Paperback - 2 Jan 2013)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews