Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable
I was a big fan of Boyne's last book The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas and while this is a very different type of story it's just as good a read one of those books than turns round in all sorts of directions until the end. I couldnt put it down. Is there to be a sequel? It feels like there should be. Highly recomended.
Published on 5 Nov. 2006 by Melanie White

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Contrived
This is not the kind of book I would usually bother with, but having named his The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas as my book of the year for 2007 I thought I would investigate.
This is very different. An historical murder thriller set around London of 1936 it has a number of plots and sub plots surrounding the abdication of Edward VIII and his affair with Wallace...
Published on 14 Mar. 2008 by Mr. Peter Steward


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Contrived, 14 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Next of Kin (Paperback)
This is not the kind of book I would usually bother with, but having named his The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas as my book of the year for 2007 I thought I would investigate.
This is very different. An historical murder thriller set around London of 1936 it has a number of plots and sub plots surrounding the abdication of Edward VIII and his affair with Wallace Simpson.

Boyne is a skilful writer and it has to be said that this is an enjoyable read as long as you take it with the proverbial pinch of salt. It features the breakdown of family relations and the corruption of politics amongst other matters as socialites, judges and a variety of other characters turn to crime and plot murders in order to achieve their own aims.

Much of it is contrived and at times the plot is sadly leaden but there are as many plusses as minuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 5 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Next of Kin (Paperback)
I was a big fan of Boyne's last book The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas and while this is a very different type of story it's just as good a read one of those books than turns round in all sorts of directions until the end. I couldnt put it down. Is there to be a sequel? It feels like there should be. Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars get an editor, 4 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Next of Kin (Paperback)
What tosh! The author thinks judges had discretion over whether to sentence murderers to death; that barristers were called Mr Justice this & Mr Justice that; that Prince Albert (died 1861) was a prime suspect in the Ripper murders (1888); and that boys start at Eton at the age of 7. These are only a few of the howlers in this book.

Ludicrous plot too. Stanley Baldwin hands over responsibility for the abdication crisis to 5 lawyers, who are to decide by a majority vote whether the king should stay. One of them wants him off the throne because he hopes, without any apparent reason, the new king will make him Lord Chancellor. So he has a random individual battered to death, frames the son of one of the other lawyers for the murder & then tells the father he'll get him off (provided the father votes the right way) by promising some unspecified goodies to the trial judge (assuming the Lord Chancellor strategy works out) if he doesn't pass the death sentence.

One of the worst books I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Skilled, but not sufficiently, 12 April 2012
This review is from: Next of Kin (Paperback)
This is a stumbling attempt to contextualise a crime against the backdrop of Edward VIII's abdication. The plot is leaden, to say the least, but also the author has been far less than rigorous in his use of language and overall research. For instance, at one point, the character Stella uses the term 'sexist' which was not invented until 1965, and he also does not understand the meaning of the adjective 'disinterested'. Add to that his belief that one has to study for a Master of Arts degree from Cambridge, his appalling geographical knowledge of London (one certainly would not walk in high-heeled shoes from Oxford Street to a law firm's chambers) and the sheer failure to capture the impatient mood of Britain in 1936 and this book becomes a resounding failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 12 Nov. 2008
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Next of Kin (Paperback)
Owen Montignac, is a man under pressure. He has run up gambling debts to the tune of £40,000, and has to pay up the money by Christmas...or else face the consequences. When is rich uncle passes away, he assumes his financial problems will be solved. However, he is in for a shock when the will is read, and has to come up with an extreme plan to raise the money to pay his debt.

Set during the abdiction crisis of 1936, I found this novel an enjoyable read. The characterisation was very good, and I felt the author and had a 'feel' for the times. I particluarly liked the way the abdication crisis, the big story of that year, was neatly woven into the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Next of kin, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next of Kin (Kindle Edition)
If you love John Boyne books this does not disappoint. Well worth the reading time. Leaves you thinking about it for a few days afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Boyne, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next of Kin (Paperback)
Bought this book for my husband in order for him to try a new author. He seemed very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Historical Novel, 7 Nov. 2012
By 
Marleen (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Next of Kin (Paperback)
I received this book from Black Swan through Book Geeks and rated it 4.5 stars.

When his uncle dies, Owen Montignac is convinced that he stands to inherit the extensive estate. After all, it is a Montignac tradition that only males inherit, and with Owen's only surviving cousin being Stella there is no doubt about what will be found in the will. Except that his uncle does manage to surprise Owen. Stella inherits everything with Owen getting absolutely nothing.
To say that Owen is disappointed would be a gross understatement. After all, his father was the older brother and should have been in charge of the estate. The fact that he was disowned by Owen's grandfather doesn't change anything in the young man's mind, and neither does the fact that his uncle took him in after his parents died when he was only five. But Owen has bigger problems than just the injustice he is facing; he owns a small fortune in gambling debts to a very dangerous man and unless he can come up with a way to repay the full amount in seven months he may well find himself in mortal danger.
The year is 1936 and while Owen is facing the personal tragedy his life has turned into, the rest of England is mesmerised by what is going on with their new King and the American woman he has fallen in love with. When the King's and Owen's dilemmas find each other an evil and dangerous plot is executed; a plot which may well mean a shameful death for an innocent young man.

Let me start by saying that this is a very well written book. John Boyne has a way with words that makes his characters come alive on the page. But more than that, this story is written in such a way that the pages almost turn themselves. There is always something happening, and even the moments and characters which at first seem to have little or nothing to do with the plot suddenly turnout to be pivotal to the story. It is only very slowly that the reader finds out the full extend of what is going on in this book, and even when it seems that the full story has been revealed, there are one or two further shocks in store.

This in an ingenious and rather horrifying story. It is proof of just how accomplished an author John Boyne is that he manages to write a book with a completely despicable main character without alienating the reader. In fact I found myself fascinated by Owen Montignac. This character was so delusional, so full of himself and so good at justifying his evil deeds that at times I was tempted to believe he wasn't bad at all. And just when I had convinced myself that Owen was indeed pure evil, there would be a small action through which he redeemed himself a little bit.

If you're the sort of reader who likes the good being rewarded while the bad get their just desserts, this probably isn't the book for you. Evil triumphs and drags innocent bystanders down as it goes. Those who are evil make fascinating characters though, and the way the various plots tie together is ingenious. What makes this a real chiller of a story is the fact that it is so very easy to imagine something like this happening. The lengths people are prepared to go to in order to get what they think they are entitled to are unimaginable and all that happens in this book is just about convincing enough to make it realistic.

For me this was a fascinating historical novel by an author who has yet to disappoint me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wallbanger, 3 Dec. 2008
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Next of Kin (Paperback)
First Sentence: Many years earlier, when he was a lieutenant in the army stationed just outside Paris, Charles Richards had come across a young recruit, a boy of about eighteen year of age, sitting alone on his bunk in the mess with his head held in his hands, weeping silently.

Owen Montana is a charming young man with a big gambling debt owed to a demanding casino boss. He expects all this problems to be solved with the death of his wealthy uncle. He did not expect to be cut out of the will and the estate left to his cousin Stella. Owen is determined to get what he feels should be his, no matter who is in the way.

This should have been a really good book. It started out well; the characters were good, although two of them had no redeeming qualities whatsoever, the dialogue excellent, the setting against the backdrop of Edward VIII and Mrs. Simpson interesting.

However, I have one major requirement for the author of a crime novel. It's not possible for me to say what that is without spoiling the book but the author violated that requirement and the book went flying across the room. Boyne is a very good writer but, the biggest problem of an author doing such an ending is that I'll no longer trust that author or read anything else by them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Next of Kin
Next of Kin by John Boyne (Paperback - 13 Sept. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews