Customer Reviews


715 Reviews
5 star:
 (560)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb novel that brings Berlin of the 1930s and 40s to terrifying life
It's 1920 and two baby boys are born in Berlin. Paulus and Otto are brothers, the twin sons of devoted and happy parents Frieda Stengel, a doctor, and her musician husband Wolfgang. As they grow, the two boys share everything in common except for one thing - blood. While this doesn't matter in the least to their family, as the years go by it starts to matter very much...
Published on 9 Nov. 2012 by Kate

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it would in my opinion have been better written as a biographical account of Ben Elton's forefathers
I can't understand why this was written as fiction, it would in my opinion have been better written as a biographical account of Ben Elton's forefathers. At least I would have known what I was letting myself in for. We all know what happened in WW2. This book added nothing and did so with tedium and something bordering on the puerile. I only struggled through to the end...
Published 9 months ago by djh


‹ Previous | 145 46 4772 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
A. M. Robinson "MUMAN" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
This isn't the reason I bought it, but if you would like to know a little more about the build up to WW2, Hitler's rise to power and a shocking account of the systematic abuse of Jews, buy it! And by the way, it's also well written and a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEN ELTON, 2 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
IT IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE READ A BOOK BY THIS AUTHOR,AWARE OF HIS PAST SUCCESSES,AND WAS
EXTREMELY IMPRESSED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Ben Elton book I have read. It will not be the last. The book is difficult to leave until finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Brothers, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
This was an excellent book, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes Ben Elton style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two brothers, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
Excellent could not put it down. What a twist. So very sad but so true to life. From the streets of Berlin to the streets of London my history shares a similar journey. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Elton Triumph, 26 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
I confess to bias here as I have read every one of Elton's books and have loved every one. With the exception of this one and his novel about The First World War which are his two shall we say "unfunny" novels, his writing style is not that great and along the lines of how we saw him speak in his stand-up days. But, without doubt, always funny,very apt and interesting and damn good reads. The two "unfunny" novels are by contrast extremely well written in stylistic terms as well as being fascinating and deeply moving and showed all too well the complete horror of life in Berlin between the wars and the utter depth to which humanity will sink. The plot lines have been given in other reviews, just to say this novel is simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
A very good book a liitle different but great.Its about a subject that I have an interest in so I may be biased but everyone should like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
A really clever plot which just kept me turning the pages. I also learned a great deal from a historical perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2brothers book 'review, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
This. Book has many twists and turns some of which are quite unexpected. It is possible to get into each character and interact with their feelings and emotions but it's not a sloppy book and includes many true facts about life under the rising Hitler empire. Carried everywhere in my shoulder bag and kindle fire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Brothers (Kindle Edition)
The book kept my interest all the way through. An insight into the life and times for jewish communities in that era, heartbreaking at times but with enough lighter moments in to keep you entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 145 46 4772 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Brothers
Two Brothers by Ben Elton (Paperback - 15 Aug. 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews