Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best
I used to be a TV cricket widow until 2005 - I loved every word of this book - the history bits - the funny bits and finished it just in time for the Ashes so I am now giving bits of info to my cricket mad other half - what a way to spend retirement - watching cricket on TV and reading cricket books - but this was certainly the best. His sense of humour is a delight.
Published on 13 July 2009 by G. McQueen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good beginning
A good book for the first few chapters, then gets a bit tedious as Hughes races through descriptions of famous players. But if you really want to know about the history of cricket then the Birley, 'Social History of English Cricket' is the one to get. I just bought the Hughes one for something to read while in hospital.
Published 6 months ago by Albert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Book for cricket enthusiasts, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. Sheila A. Loxley "Cici" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
This was purchased for a friend in Australia for his birthday. He liked it very much and said he found it a very interesting and amusing book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars for a friend, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
He Loves cricket so I got him this book, he really liked it so it must be good. delivery was fast and the condition of the book was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for step father, 1 Aug 2013
By 
S. Forrester - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
He said he liked it and I don't think he was just being polite - seems to be the right thing for a passionate fan, especially one who does not necessarily keep up with the latest books written on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A very English perspective, 4 July 2013
By 
D. Hopper (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
. . . Which is to be expected, obviously, however the pessimism which pervades hangs like a low cloud over Edgbaston; threatening a washout and only occasionally letting the sun peep through.

An enjoyable, if fairly light read, it's a shame that Simon Hughes analysis is, in my opinion, a little 'off the mark' on this occasion. The fortunes of all cricketing nations have fluctuated over time however, while allowing and accepting this for other nation's, Hughes sees English cricket in perpetual decline (blaming the counties system) and ignores the fact we've actually done pretty well in recent years.

Worth a read but the book is more akin to watching a mid week county match than the IPL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
Great service for a christmas present and came in good time and did not have to wait long as came through post
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book., 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating book, full of interesting information, details, observations and opinions. A must (or should) read for all cricket enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cricket, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
I bought this for my dad for christmas as he is fanatical about cricket. At the moment he is heavily involved with a local cricket team and umpires for them also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Gift, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
Not being a great fan of cricket myself, this book was bought as a present for a cricket barmy friend of ours. What he does not know about the game could be writ large on the back of a postage stamp! To our pleasant surprise he said that he had not read the book before and having read it volunteered that he enjoyed it very much indeed. Job done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
This was also in the collection of books I bought for my husband for christmas, he enoyed this book also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good Christmas Present, 26 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. Kathleen Heywood (Halifax UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
This went down very well with the cricket fan in the family it is going on holiday with him soom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And God Created Cricket
And God Created Cricket by Simon Hughes (Paperback - 29 April 2010)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews