Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best
I used to be a TV cricket widow until 2005 - I loved every word of this book - the history bits - the funny bits and finished it just in time for the Ashes so I am now giving bits of info to my cricket mad other half - what a way to spend retirement - watching cricket on TV and reading cricket books - but this was certainly the best. His sense of humour is a delight.
Published on 13 July 2009 by G. McQueen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good beginning
A good book for the first few chapters, then gets a bit tedious as Hughes races through descriptions of famous players. But if you really want to know about the history of cricket then the Birley, 'Social History of English Cricket' is the one to get. I just bought the Hughes one for something to read while in hospital.
Published 9 months ago by Albert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 13 July 2009
By 
G. McQueen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to be a TV cricket widow until 2005 - I loved every word of this book - the history bits - the funny bits and finished it just in time for the Ashes so I am now giving bits of info to my cricket mad other half - what a way to spend retirement - watching cricket on TV and reading cricket books - but this was certainly the best. His sense of humour is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yozzer in sparkling form, 10 Jun 2009
By 
Anthony Brace - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an outstanding book, perhaps his best yet - a bit like his bowling ; pacy, incisive, slightly unpredictable and mostly pretty accurate. It's also funny ( a characteristic which Viv Richards might say his bowling also shared). Any cricket-lover is bound to enjoy it - make a good birthday or Christmas present !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a gem, 8 July 2009
By 
G. talbot "geoff talbot" (peterborough, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a gem of a book.For any cricket lovers, a good cricket book is a must- & this one is one of the best that i`ve ever read. Superbly written, very funny in parts, (more than once i was told off by work collegues for laughing out loud,non cricket lovers-heathens!)Was`nt a bad bowler in his day, but a helluva writer,so if you looking for a good, funny read, do yourself a favour & buy this book, you wont be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable - eventually, 21 April 2010
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
I eventually enjoyed this book very much. I have a lot of respect for Simon Hughes's knowledge of the game and have enjoyed his previous books. He can write very well, and when he does he is interesting, insightful and amusing - as he is pretty consistently in the latter two thirds of this book

The problem came for me in the first hundred or so pages which are liberally sprinkled (in fact I would say seriously infested) with silliness which isn't nearly as funny as it thinks it is. Here's a random sample of an interesting little nugget, ruined for me by the subsequent "joke" complete with exclamation mark: "C. B. Fry also developed a fascination with the Nazis and once spent an hour chatting to Hitler, trying, and failing, to persuade him to form a cricket team. He spent so long explaining the lbw law it drove Germany into invading Poland. The Second World War was all C. B. Fry's fault!" There's a limit to how much of this I can take, but there was enough good stuff to keep me going - shortly after this, for example, there are several really fine, insightful and flippancy-free paragraphs on Frank Woolley, his possible similarity to David Gower and what it was like bowling to Gower.

Fortunately, the tom-foolery peters out as Hughes begins to talk about things he really knows and cares about (from about the 1920s onward) and the final 200 pages or so are full of insight, analysis and really interesting and amusing anecdotes. His accounts of the Bodyline and D'Oliviera affairs are simply excellent, for example, and he draws brilliant portraits of some of the greats of the game.

Overall, a very good book and well worth reading for anyone interested in cricket - just be prepared to negotiate a wayward opening spell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irreverent potted history of English cricket told in Hughes normal enjoyable way ., 10 Aug 2009
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Personally I don't, think you can give even a potted history of English cricket in around 300 pages but Simon Hughes has had a jolly good go with And God Created Cricket. As the bye line says it's an irreverent history but still it's can awful lot to cram in ...an awful lot of awful cricket in fact.
And if we accept that God did create cricket ( Richard Dawkins won't like it but there you go ) what would he make of his/her ( lets not gender assume here ) creation ? Well Hughes is optimistic about the game itself so we can assume that our deity would share that optimism about the game that has lasted over 400 years and is "incredibly resilient " and will last for some considerable time ...or at least until global warming lays waste to every cricket pitch . But English cricket ....well that's something different entirely . As I write England are sliding to an ignominious defeat in the 4th Ashes test at Headingley and its hard to disagree with Simon Hughes who concludes that the exclusive deal with Sky brokered by those complete chumps at the E.C.B. is "In danger of administering the last rites to the English game ". God created cricket then he created Rupert Murdoch ( or maybe that was the devil ?) to kill it off in the country that brought it to the world.
Hughes is pretty scathing ( though not enough in my opinion ) about the governing body of English cricket in this country and indeed about the I.C.C. and quite right too .The E.C. B . are in a league of their own , (indeed it should stand for extremely crappy bureaucrats ) for ineptitude but the I.C.C ( incompetent crappy bureaucrats ?) run them close. As Hughes constantly points out you cannot run the English cricket team autonomously and effectively if you have 18 other vested interests ( the counties ) working against all that is best for the team. As long as this system prevails , and it seems it always will , English cricket will operate with one hand tied behind it's back and it's pads on backwards.
Anyway putting that aside i may have given the impression that this book is all serious furrowed brow stuff but it's actually , like Hughes other books , funny and entertaining . The first couple of chapters regarding the early inception of the game are a bit tedious but once we get to Dr W.G Grace who "Had no more idea about bronchitis than Dr Who " it gets way more interesting and enjoyable. There are some great stats about players like Sydney Barnes , Frank Tyson, Denis Compton, Jack Hobbs , Wally Hammond and some priceless anecdotes about others Like Fred Trueman( "I'd ave been quicker in colour ") ,Ian Botham Geoff Boycott , Shane Warne, Graham Gooch and Mike Atherton . My own favourites involve the toss up for a test match at Headingley( we got hammered you may hear with no surprise what so ever ) between Viv Richards and Chris Cowdrey and Jimmy Ormond's magnificent riposte to some flint eyed sledging from Steve Waugh .
I don't, think And God Created Cricket is quite up to the standard of Simon Hughes other books . There is lot of information to impart but it's done in a jaunty easy style and once it deal with the games great charcters is hugely pleasurable to read. Comparisons could be made with Kevin Pietersen in fact .Bit scratchy and awkward at first but then once it's eye is in it flows and is just a joy to behold. The self effacing and genial Hughes is never likely to be nicknamed like the egotistical batsman "Fig jam " ( **** I'm good , Just ask me ) though . Hughes is good however , as this latest book testify's more than adequately .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cricket history with a sense of humor, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Jeff White (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
Great book by cricket pundit (and former bowler) Simon Hughes. If you like your histories mixed with humor and plenty of British pop culture references, this is the book for you (even if you are Australian).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best without a doubt, 27 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are a lot of fine, and some very funny, books about cricket. If you only buy one, this must be it. Funny, perceptive, and hugely informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and informative, 23 Sep 2014
By 
Doktor Futtocks - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a entertaining and informative history of Cricket, which is packed full of facts and anecdotes. However, the humour is occasionally a little too forced and puerile. However, Hughes gets most of that out of his system as the book progresses and there is much to ponder in his condemnation of the backward-looking setup of the game in Britain.

Simon Hughes is a very readable author, just as in his autobiography 'A Lot of hard Yakka' and I'd recommend 'And God created Cricket' to anyone who wants to find out about the personalities, history and development of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good beginning, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
A good book for the first few chapters, then gets a bit tedious as Hughes races through descriptions of famous players. But if you really want to know about the history of cricket then the Birley, 'Social History of English Cricket' is the one to get. I just bought the Hughes one for something to read while in hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Cricket (Paperback)
this was a gift for my cricket-mad son, who really enjoyed it, and didn't look up from it once he had opened it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And God Created Cricket
And God Created Cricket by Simon Hughes (Paperback - 29 April 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews