Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic Romance
This is Joanne Harris's first novel and is vastly different from the books she is well known for. It's a romantic novel, not slushy hearts and flowers, but a gothic romance filled with vampires and horrific scenes of blood and lust. It's sexy, violent and gruesome, and her writing makes your heart pound with fear. This book is a page-turner and I can't recommend it highly...
Published on 30 Dec 2007 by kehs

versus
42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Something inside me remembers and will not forget".
Joanne Harris is perhaps better known for her novel, CHOCOLAT, than for this title, which is her debut. As explained in her author's note to THE EVIL SEED, it was largely due to pressure from her fans which saw to the book being reissued. Her brief discussion of the book is in itself quite interesting - to hear what an established author thinks about their first attempt...
Published on 24 Oct 2008 by Brida


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Something inside me remembers and will not forget"., 24 Oct 2008
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Evil Seed (Paperback)
Joanne Harris is perhaps better known for her novel, CHOCOLAT, than for this title, which is her debut. As explained in her author's note to THE EVIL SEED, it was largely due to pressure from her fans which saw to the book being reissued. Her brief discussion of the book is in itself quite interesting - to hear what an established author thinks about their first attempt at literature is nearly always to be fascinating, and this is no exception. With huge honesty, Harris herself acknowledges that the book was never a masterpiece as she had not found her own voice. But what it does do is suggest at the kind of writer she would later turn into.

THE EVIL SEED is a gothic novel about vampires, although this phrase is never used within the story itself. Alice, a young woman living in Cambridge, is devastated to discover that a man she once loved has now found someone else he loves. Alice cannot stand his new girlfriend, Ginny, but for the sake of Joe, she tries to make friends with her. But as she gets to know more and more about Ginny, Alice dislikes her even more as she seems to lie to Joe about everything.
Alice then discovers an old journal, written by a man called Daniel Holmes just after the Second World War. As she reads Daniel's journal, which describes how he and his friend Robert fell under the spell of a beautiful young woman called Rosemary, Alice fears that the past has resurfaced.

That is the basic plot. The story is told by alternating chapters going from the past to the present. The fact that this was a debut novel does show. Parts of the story are not really thought out very well, while other parts are dramatically over-written. As Harris explains at the beginning, the plot was an ambitious one - while it certainly offers some originality to the whole mythology of the vampire, it was perhaps too big for a beginning novelist.
Although this book is not a masterpiece, what it does offer the reader is a chance to see how an author began her career and then went on to develop afterwards. And it does give some hints at just how good she was to become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic Romance, 30 Dec 2007
By 
kehs (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Seed (Paperback)
This is Joanne Harris's first novel and is vastly different from the books she is well known for. It's a romantic novel, not slushy hearts and flowers, but a gothic romance filled with vampires and horrific scenes of blood and lust. It's sexy, violent and gruesome, and her writing makes your heart pound with fear. This book is a page-turner and I can't recommend it highly enough so make sure you snap up a copy before it goes out of print again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Evil Seed, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Seed (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic novel which is dark and gothic in tone. A wonderfully convincing fantasy. Teen fans of the twilight series would enjoy this, as well as fans of wuthering heights and Frankenstein. A triumphant novel for all fans of gothic fiction as well as fans of Joanne Harris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!, 28 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: The Evil Seed (Paperback)
Harris's foreword states that her publisher and her fans clamoured for the re-release of this book, but for the life of me I can't understand why she allowed it! She herself admits the writing style is somewhat undeveloped - over-blown might be a better description... I haven't come across such floridly turgid prose in a long time (thank goodness). Although the plot itself was interesting enough to keep me plodding on the bitter end, it was a actually with a sigh of relief that I reached the last page! Such a total contrast to her more well-known books (which I've enjoyed), in both storyline and literary style, but not in a good way. Sorry Joanne!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The start of a fantastic career, 23 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Evil Seed (Paperback)
This novel is a great insight into how Harris became the fantastic writer she is. Although naive at times and over-written in parts, there are flashes of brilliance and like all her novels the story is compelling enough to keep you turning the page. Where her later novels are grounded in magic, this one is well and truly stuck in the horror genre. At times it is really frightening and the writing will send a shiver up your spine. Maybe not as fantastic as her later work but with a debut like this you can understand why Harris has become such a great writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Seed (Kindle Edition)
This subject really isn't my cup of tea, but it does show Harris' ability to be able to write about anything.
Being one of her earliest books, it's definitely got a different style to it compared to her later work. But it still has the ring of a truly gifted writer.
If you can make me read a whole book on vampires then you're very good at what you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Evil Seed (Kindle Edition)
I wouldn't say I exactly enjoyed this book, but it was certainly memorable and haunting too. If you rate Joanne Harris then this is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From a huge Joanne Harris fan, 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Evil Seed (Paperback)
I found this book interesting more because it is Joanne Harris's début novel rather than for the book itself. The writing is quite poor compared to her later books and I found that she did not develop the characters as well as she usually does. However there are plenty of parts where you can see her normal writing style starting to develop.

I found the story line itself to be quite good. It twists and turns a lot in the same way that is usual for her, although there was a part which I had expected to be explained and wasn't (I wont give anything away), which felt more like an inconsistency than something deliberate.

The story is dark, in the same was that sleep pale sister is, and although it is a romantic novel of sorts, there is nothing of the beautifully romantic magic of some of her other books such as Chocolat or Blackberry Wine.

If you are a Joanne Harris fan then I think it is well worth a read. If this is the first Joanne Harris book you have read then please do not base your opinion of her on this one, it is very different from most of her other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars evil seed, 15 Oct 2011
By 
A. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Seed (Paperback)
fantastic book ,the first but equal to her later works. would recommend to all Joanne Harris fans and fans of the vampire genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rare steak, liver and onions, black pudding..., 29 May 2011
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Seed (Paperback)
All on the menu for our lunch party to chat about this early work by Joanne Harris. The idea of the meal being somehow related to the book worked better with previous choices; The Secret Life of Bees - peaches and honey, The Elegance of The Hedgehog - macaroons and the naughtily named `nun's farts". Mistakenly thinking hurray here's one of her's that we haven't read, our book club happily chose it.

However not all first pressings are excellent and The Evil Seed was passed over for a reason - it's a mess. By the end the story was all over the place, even having been tidied up a little for this printing by the author. Try as I did, I couldn't keep up.

There are some well-written bits about Cambridge and some scarey parts when people certainly aren't what they seem. I haven't read any of the teenage books for which this might be a forerunner but I would categorise this as a young adult book - horror section. So if that's your bag, get stuck in.

Messy, gory and unbelievable (thankfully) this book has been around for two decades. The author's notes are fascinating, explaining that she wrote it when she was twenty three; a trainee teacher `a few years out of Cambridge.' I really enjoyed that thirteen-page section. It showed how an author develops and for that reason I am glad that I have read this, if for no other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Evil Seed
The Evil Seed by Joanne Harris (Paperback - 11 Sep 2008)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews