Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way it's told - a luxurious read
If you live life in the fast last then Johan Theorin is probably not your author - the lead character is an old retired man - Gerlof (pronounced "Yairloff")- and he expresses what I think encapsulates Theorin's luxurious style of story-telling: "I think it's best to tell stories at their own pace. Before, people always took their time over telling stories, but now...
Published on 23 July 2011 by J. Coy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to build, but a rewarding read
Set on the Swedish island of Oland, this 'missing person' story delves into the psychology of loss and the psychology of greed.

The mystery isn't just that a small boy went missing twenty years ago - there is added intrigue in that an unknown someone has just sent the boy's grandfather one of the shoes that the the boy was wearing on the day that he...
Published 19 months ago by Scholastica


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way it's told - a luxurious read, 23 July 2011
By 
J. Coy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 (Paperback)
If you live life in the fast last then Johan Theorin is probably not your author - the lead character is an old retired man - Gerlof (pronounced "Yairloff")- and he expresses what I think encapsulates Theorin's luxurious style of story-telling: "I think it's best to tell stories at their own pace. Before, people always took their time over telling stories, but now everything has to be done so quickly" (P.214) - so if you want to take your time over a story then you will love this style of writing (then, I am retired also!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two mysteries in one book, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 (Paperback)
This book really grips from the very beginning.

It is about an old unsolved missing child case that is resurrected when the grandfather of the missing child receives a small sandal in the post. Thus begins a very addictive story which also embraces an intertwined mystery about the fate of a local character who could conceivably be responsible for abducting his young grandson.

Definitely a five star read for this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to build, but a rewarding read, 17 Jan 2013
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 (Paperback)
Set on the Swedish island of Oland, this 'missing person' story delves into the psychology of loss and the psychology of greed.

The mystery isn't just that a small boy went missing twenty years ago - there is added intrigue in that an unknown someone has just sent the boy's grandfather one of the shoes that the the boy was wearing on the day that he disappeared. Who might have done this and why? What is different now?

The boy's mother, Julia, returns to Oland and, for the first time in twenty years, engages with the problem. At the same time, she becomes acquainted with island history that, up until now, has escaped her awareness. Could it be possible that her son's disappearance is linked to this history?

I enjoyed this story for the atmospheric descriptions of the island of Oland and even more for the painful spotlight on relationships between people. There is a particularly agonising one which was so painful to read. How could Theorin do that to one of his characters?

Slow to build, this book is for those of you who favour psychology over body count and was, for me at least, a very rewarding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st rate and will leave you guessing!, 22 Aug 2008
By 
J. R. Daniell "Avid Reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead (Paperback)
Another great scandinavian writer. Very descriptive of area and very good plot.
A boy goes missing and 20 years later his shoe turns up in the post! This is a very gripping read. Keeps leading you to think you have solved it and then you have to think again! I didn't figure it out until the very last moment.
Would recommend this to anyone that likes crime or mystery novels. Will certainly be looking out for next book and getting people to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Scandinavian crime writer, 12 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 (Paperback)
I am a huge fan of Stieg Larsson, Henning Mankell, Kirsten Eknan et al, and following a trip to the Swedish island of Gotland last year was very keen to read this book set on the island of Oland. I found it absolutely gripping and highly evocative of a Swedish island out of season, beautiful yet windswept and empty. The story moved from past to present quite seamlessly, and the relationship between the daughter whose son disappeared and her father was very well depicted. One scene in the book is so creepy I had to wait for daylight to read it! I recommended it to a friend who has just gone to work in Sweden, and he devoured it in a train journey from Stockholm to Copenhagen, and tells me that the next book is even better. A writer to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start, good ending, 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 (Paperback)
Another Scandinavian crime story but there's no grumpy detective in this one, instead Theorin has made the Swedish island of Oland the star of his story. It's an atmospheric read which makes great use of the location of this out-of-season holiday island where Jens, a small boy has disappeared without trace twenty years ago. A new clue suddenly comes to light so Julia, his lonely depressed mother, and her aged father, Gerlof, attempt to solve the mystery of what has become of him. The story of their investigations is combined with the history of Nils Kant, the local psychopath, who may or may not have been alive and on Oland at the time of Jens' disapperance.
This is generally a well-paced thriller although the characterisation was a bit light and it could have done with a bit more editing as about half-way through I began to lose interest slightly. But I'm glad I persevered as the story builds to a good climax and the mystery is satisfyingly resolved. Overall, a promising first book by Theorin and I hope to read his other novels set on Oland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 July 2010
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 (Paperback)
Really enjoyed it. The plot is good, the characterisaion well done, and the setting is atmospheric. Praise must also go to the translator. I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing story., 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 (Paperback)
Echoes From the Dead is not your usual police procedural, but an exploration into the fall-out of a five year-old boy's disappearance, and the hope that his (now single) mother might find him still alive.
Theorin has huge empathy for people in distress, and this shows. I loved Gerlof too. Also the island of Oland where this is set, which is a character in itself. I liked the skilful unravelling. The lies, the ratcheting up of tension. Not knowing whom to trust...
A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stick with this, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 (Paperback)
Having read Theorins second book about Oland I was already familar with the character of Gerlof. so it was like revisiting old friend . Not as spooky as the brilliant The darkest room I did find that the story became rather dull in the middle and I almost gave up [ yet another scandi thriller about a missing child ] however the ending was so unexpected and had such a compelling twist I was definately glad that I didnt toss this book into the charity bag .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Original Gripping Thriller!, 4 May 2011
This review is from: Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 (Paperback)
An original gripping thriller.

In the early 1970s a young boy called Jens disappears from a remote Swedish island. Fast forward twenty years and his mother, Julia and his grandfather, Gerlof, are attempting to unravel the mystery of what happened to Jens.

I have to admit I did not like the first couple of chapters of this book, I couldn't settle into the story and I found myself putting it down and having to come back to it hours later. However I am glad I stuck with it as once I did get into it I became hooked and was unable to put the novel down.

The structure of this novel suited the story it was portraying. All the chapters were relatively short and told through different prospectives which added a lot of depth to the novel.

The characters within this novel have been extremely well thought out and everyone has a purpose within the novel. I could vividly see the characters within my mind as the story was being played out.

I recommend this book to anyone who love to read a great thriller, you will not be disappointed.

A copy of this novel was received from transworld publishers, all opinions are my own through reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1
Echoes From The Dead: Oland Quartet series 1 by Johan Theorin (Paperback - 3 July 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews