Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finest Hour
James Holland is a fantastic writer of action WW2 adventure. In this book, he continues Tanner's struggle to win the war both at home and abroad. The book does not disappoint fans and I eagerly await the next installment of the likeable central characters. Will satisfy the adventure reader as well as the lovers of Commando comics. Thumbs up from me!
Published on 4 Sept. 2009 by MJH Trapnell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't get into it
I like the Sharpe books and I'm interested in World War II, so this book, described on the cover as "Sharpe meets the blitz years", would seem right up my street. Unfortunately I struggled, and ultimately failed, to get into it. There are two main problems with the book. Firstly the dialogue is clunky and unnatural and kept distracting me. More serious, however, is the...
Published on 27 Aug. 2011 by Mr. Ross Maynard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Tanner excellent, 9 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those of a certain age, brought up on Commando comics and the Victor Annual, this is for you. Take Jack to war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sept. 2014
By 
Kenneth Thomas "libristo" (York,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkest Hour: A Jack Tanner Adventure (Jack Tanner 2) (Paperback)
Everything was very good, postage, packing,
exactly what I expected for the low price paid, well satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great war adventure, fast asction ,working class man. very good read, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jack Tanner is a man who has been in the army for 8years a true wrking class hero the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Sept. 2010
By 
A. maxwell "ABM" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darkest Hour: A Jack Tanner Adventure (Jack Tanner 2) (Paperback)
This is an adventure from start to finish but with great historical facts thrown in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Darkest Hour: A Jack Tanner Adventure (Jack Tanner 2) (Paperback)
This another book in the series that you do not want to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to get a break..., 18 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkest Hour: A Jack Tanner Adventure (Jack Tanner 2) (Paperback)
The Dunkirk "campaign" makes this a bit more interesting. but I'm only on the second book, and you can practically see the deep ruts of formula reaching out in front of you.

Hopefully, I am doing the author a disservice, and I'd be delighted if future instalments prove me wrong, and things pick up a bit (not least because I've already got the later volumes ...)

Tanner and the Odin boys are slightly developed as characters, but the rest of the platoon / regiment / battalion are invisible, unidentifiable and a sort of uninvolved backdrop to Tanner and one or two Odins (usually Sykes) doing everything.

Naturally he has fallen foul of a Standard Issue Obadiah Hakeswill (who will no doubt crop up again as one of those tiresomely indestructible, no matter how often they are thwarted nemeses) and an Even More Standard Issue upper-class officer who is stupid and has it in for him. And he still has trouble expressing his anger.

After being stuffed for the umpteenth time by the rascally senior NCO and idiot / cowardly CO and being bailed out (again) by the junior officer Who Realises His Worth, Tanner is standing pale or red faced and clenching his fists (again - he always does that) in frustration at the injustice of it all. Yet without doing a thing about it... He should take a leaf out of my book, and relax more. I'm resigned to the fact that this will happen again and again, so he may as well live with it.

Honestly, if he can continually outwit the Germans without breaking a sweat, how come the cod-Hakeswill hasn't found himself on the wrong end of an accidentally pinless grenade, or at the very least, a severe kicking, yet?

Tanner always ends up discredited and mistrusted by everyone outside the Odin group (although Hepworth* must be really thick to keep taking the baddies' side All The Time). Nobody appears to notice that apparently the only soldier in the regiment who can fight, and who has made it to sergeant always appears to be in implausible hot water.

Tanner also appears to exist in a vacuum where absolutely nobody knows him or has heard of him or has any sort of idea of his profile or reputation or anything at all. While this helps the author with his instant and comprehensive discrediting gimmick, from a reader's point of view, it just looks twice as implausible.

I know he is in Europe after being in the Middle East for a while, but he appears to be the only such transplant.

The story is OK, but when you see the same stuff cropping up time after time, it does detract from it a bit.

I'm hopeful that he'll join a non-corrupt regiment at some point, but no breath is being held.

*The name may be inaccurate, but the minor characters are so faceless, I wouldn't swear to it, nor can I be bothered to check, which is a reasonable indication of how gripped I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why did I buy two books from this series?, 12 May 2013
By 
M. Stowe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkest Hour: A Jack Tanner Adventure (Jack Tanner 2) (Paperback)
Well, buying good second hand is actually quite cheap - and you get a book - not an electronic Kindle download which you can't do anything with - eg light a fire - pass on to charity shop, prop a wobby table would also be a good use for this book because quite honestly its alittle boring - although not as bad as a Jack Reacher book, so my suggestion is to look out for these books in charity shops and don't pay more than a quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkest Hour: A Jack Tanner Adventure (Jack Tanner 2) (Paperback)
very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reverse Flashman, 24 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkest Hour: A Jack Tanner Adventure (Jack Tanner 2) (Paperback)
Second in a hopefully continuing series of realistic and entertaining WW2 novels in which a soldier unfortunately named Coward finds his real bravery unacknowleged and his successes ignored because they embarass higher authority, leading to him being shunted from unit to unit, conveniently allowing the author to use a very wide range of historical backgrounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Darkest Hour: A Jack Tanner Adventure (Jack Tanner 2)
Darkest Hour: A Jack Tanner Adventure (Jack Tanner 2) by James Holland (Paperback - 27 May 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews