Customer Reviews


3,654 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,832)
4 star:
 (459)
3 star:
 (185)
2 star:
 (92)
1 star:
 (86)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


364 of 378 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another humdinger
I really can't believe that in the first three months of the year I have come across three gems in "A Thousand Splendid Suns," "A Quiet Belief in Angels" and now "The Book Thief." Each of these books is different but they are all stunning in their own individual way.

The Book Thief is highly original, although it did remind me somewhat of my book of the year...
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by Mr. Peter Steward

versus
176 of 195 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A 'clever' book, but not for everyone
I am ambivalent towards this book. The writing style was definitely unique; I enjoyed the frequent intermissions by the narrator, which gave the story a light-hearted and a nostalgic back-in-your-childhood feel. The ending was particularly well done - poignant, perhaps tear-jerking for many readers.

However, I felt the characterisation altogether a little weak...
Published on 20 Mar 2008 by J. Takata


‹ Previous | 1198 199 200366 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book, you won't be disappointed., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
One of the best books I have read in years! It is inspirational and written in an original style.

Readers should be aware of its harrowing subject matter. This book will certainly leave an impression on you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different angle, 22 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed it very much.....it gave a different slant on the war from the average German citizenship point of view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
Abs loved it, brilliant unique narration, compelling characters, I could not stop reading and crying too! Would recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
I mentioned this book to work colleagues and so far 5 out of 8 have now bought it, read it and all loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book Thief - Markus Zusak, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
Possible the best novel I've ever read. A wonderful story that is beautifully written. Seeing life (and death) from such an unusual source. The movie comes out here next week and I will definitely see it but I cannot believe it will have the same impact on me as the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful story, filled with all emotions from laughter and Joy, love and hate sadness and Joy. A very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
You should read this book. Just read it and weep for the beauty and horror that is the human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
This book is BRILLIANT, I love the story especially the fact that its from the view of 'death' as well as the view of the main characters, the story in itself is beautiful the way Zusak describes all of the characters aspects of the story.
I wont give the story away, but you must read it!!
Also read the book before you see the film, but thats just as great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Paperback)
A fantastic story that is really different to anything I've read before. It is uplifting and reflective, it is compassionate and also quite humorous. I recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book Thief, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book!
Really enjoyed this book....fantastic. What am I going to read now. I recommend this book! Than you Markus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1198 199 200366 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book Thief
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (Paperback - 1 Jan 2008)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews