Customer Reviews


3,000 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,336)
4 star:
 (358)
3 star:
 (158)
2 star:
 (74)
1 star:
 (74)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


343 of 357 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another humdinger
I really can't believe that in the first three months of the year I have come across three gems in "A Thousand Splendid Suns," "A Quiet Belief in Angels" and now "The Book Thief." Each of these books is different but they are all stunning in their own individual way.

The Book Thief is highly original, although it did remind me somewhat of my book of the year...
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by Mr. Peter Steward

versus
174 of 192 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A 'clever' book, but not for everyone
I am ambivalent towards this book. The writing style was definitely unique; I enjoyed the frequent intermissions by the narrator, which gave the story a light-hearted and a nostalgic back-in-your-childhood feel. The ending was particularly well done - poignant, perhaps tear-jerking for many readers.

However, I felt the characterisation altogether a little weak...
Published on 20 Mar 2008 by J. Takata


‹ Previous | 1148 149 150300 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, so full of interesting characters. I am so pleased it opened my eyes to life in Germany in the war. Tought provoking on the plight of the ordinary German citizen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
Witty, endearing and very sad at times. Beautifully written. I could not put it down. A classic poignant story book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully brilliant, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
Amazing book, a must read.
I can't put into words how much I enjoyed this. A really well written and beautiful story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good read, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
This book was a symphony of emotions, I cannot tell you how often I smiled, laughed or came to tears, you owe it to yourself to read this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Novel for Young Readers, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Book Thief (Paperback)
The Book Thief is about nine-year-old Liesel Meminger who is sent to live with the Hubermanns, a foster family living in a fictional town called Molching. She soon warms up to her foster-father Hans and her new best friend Rudy. Her foster-mother Rosa takes some getting used to. Liesel settles in, learns to read and takes up stealing books. One day, a young man enters the Hubermanns’ kitchen. His name is Max and he is a Jew hiding from the Nazis.

Zusak’s visual description of the setting and his vivid writing style make you believe you were a character in his novel. Walking the town of Molching with its little stores and shabby houses feels very real. Just like Liesel holding a burning book to her chest. Markus Zusak knows how to show the reader what he imagines.

The Book Thief features mainly well-crafted characters. Liesel is depicted realistically, as she turns from the shy and hesitant young girl to a brave rascal with a big heart. Like every child, she doesn’t always think about the consequences of her actions. I enjoyed the well-rounded characterization of Liesel’s loving foster-father Hans and I wish Rosa would have gotten similar treatment. As Rosa is a very reserved person, it could also be that Markus Zusak didn’t want us to know too much about Rosa. She should be as much a mystery to us as she is to Liesel. The Book Thief is narrated by Death and Markus Zusak couldn’t have chosen a better narrator. Death has a good sense of humor and keeps you glued to the pages.

So what is the overall reading experience? While The Book Thief instantly sucks you in, it slows down in the middle mainly because day-to-day events are recounted and nothing happens that stays in your mind. I couldn’t find a real climax throughout the book. Not even the scene near the end has that much impact. The ending itself, however, is satisfying. What I particularly liked was that the book features many Bavarian words and expressions which worked very well and added to the sarcastic tone the narrator created. As a person living near Bavaria, I can tell you that Markus Zusak did his research. What did not work were the printed illustrated pages of a book within this edition of the novel. They were very hard to read and quickly became annoying. The Book Thief is a solid novel that is suitable for very young readers as it leaves out many of the horrors of the time. For adults and young adults who know that millions of people died a cruel death during the Nazi regime, the book might turn out be a bit too soft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing read, 16 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
I found this book totally absorbing and original. Only one negative. About 6 pages are a copy of pages of a book given to the thief printed as a photo not text. It took time to work out how to zoom and scroll these pages on the kindle. The effort though time consuming is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
This book took my breath away. So beautifully written with some exceptional observations and phrases. Based on a German girls' experience of the Second World War, and told by the narrator, death. Whilst sounding strange, it works, and is one of the most moving books I have ever read. Not to be compared with the film, based on the book, which is absolutely nothing like if. Films should just leave some books well alone.
I highly recommend this brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sad and thoughtful, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
A very unusual book, deep and very very sad. There are some lovely portraits of childhood friendships in difficult times. Moving and thoughtful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
The book has an interesting plot and style of narration. Characters are well developed and the book is suitable for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful story, well narrated by Death!
Lovely, believable characters.
Heart warming story. Can't wait to see the movie now.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1148 149 150300 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book Thief
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (Paperback - 1 Jan 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews