Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars40
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
37
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2006
Yet another excellent piece of work. This book puts so many of our modern day journalists to shame. Rather than echoing the official government line, Pilger probes and questions the decisions and motives of influential individuals and parties who have such an impact upon the everyday lives of multitudes of people. It is easy for people in their comfortable Western lives to feel so detached from the suffering that is going on elsewhere in the world. Yet Pilger writes with a passion and belief that enables the reader to empathise with such people. His style of writing encourages the reader to consider unpalatable questions about the motives of our leaders and politicians. John Pilger presents a challenge to the reader to stand up for what is right and just.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
John Pilger's work is always harrowing.

It is written from a human perspective and sets the scene without losing focus.
Facts are referred to constantly and there are a wealth of references and citations. I did check some and they were all good.

His thoroughness in making such a high density of citations and factual observations combined with highly readable prose is excellent.

He puts his heart and soul (and unlike many others he does have one) into every word and every sentence. A man who made a choice to do what is right. If the Nobel peace prize had not been so defiled by past awards he would be worth a nomination.

I have read several of his books and have his DVD collection. No I'm not a 'fan' but I do gravitate towards high quality journalism and in that John Pilger is consistent. In my opinion he is the foremost journalist of recent times. He has no agenda other than exposing the reality of what is happening in the modern world and what has been happening for decades while presenting it intelligently, coherently and humanly. Indeed he manages to remain unemotional and calm with a great deal of his material letting the facts speak for themselves and showing us the absurd inhumanity of so much in politics and business.

He helps place an objective insight into what many of us already know - we have serious problems at the highest echelons in politics and business and the larger media and news outlets are biased and trite.

You may wonder why you haven't heard much more about these issues elsewhere but that is another matter...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 November 2011
John Pilger is, without doubt, one of the greatest journalists of our time. His skill and dexterity to get the truth from the shadiest of organisations (CIA, US government to name but two), where so much is hidden from the majority of the population has revealed a world dominated by a virtual fascist empire that has been building since the end of World War Two.

Various excuses have been used to create a perpetual state of fear around the globe allowing governments (specifically the US and UK) to commit acts of barbarism on various innocent populations in the name of 'freedom'.

When one reads the plight of Palestinians, the lower caste Indians and almost every single Afghan that has been left to the vagaries of the lunatic warlords and outrageous greed employed mercilessly by the invading colonial armies. The fact that the worlds population has undoubtedly been lied to, kept clear of and presented distorted versions of the truth that have left us almost enslaved to a media and government utterly possessed by their own sense of self gain.

Pilger digs deep, goes further, interviews normal people and the senior government representatives who sound like members of the SS.

It will terrify you, make you want to cry out, but it will also empower you with the knowledge that the facts Pilger uncovers must be brought to a wider audience and the desperate antics of the US and UK governments must be brought to book.

Utterly brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 April 2009
This book will open your eyes to the evils of the world around you.

In an age when journalists care more about whether Britney Spears is on the verge of a breakdown or not there are still some journalists out there who report about a world that many of us will never see or read about in Heat or on GMTV - from Diego Garcia to Palestine to South Africa.

It's a shame more journalists were not made in the mould of Pilger. If they were, maybe the world might change for the better.

If you like Pilger, I would recommend Mark Curits as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
Another first rate book by the Master of Investigative Journalism.
Pilger lets us know the" full" storey, and the truth behind the issues, that many of us read about ,
but never get the full facts from the popular press and media.
At a time when large elements of the press stand exposed ,as purely marketers of superficial
populist rubbish, it is essential that we have "real" investigative journalists such as Pilger to turn to,
for the truth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
This is a book that everyone should read. It is well written (if a bit longer than strictly required in places) and covers some of the most embarrassing issue plaguing the narrative we live through.
For UK readers, the first chapter has special value both highlighting the subservience of UK's rulers to the US im actual facts rather than impressions and the dirty corners that make it possible to by bypass parliament,showing that the state system of one of the exporters of democracy in 500lbs parcels falling from the sky is systemically undemocratic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I am enthralled by this book, am only into the Israel/Palestine chapter and so far the book is a real eye opener, but written in a balanced non hysterical way. Makes you question yourself and your opinions as a person and also raises questions at our actions as a nation.
I really think everyone would benefit from reading this. Really shows how appalling governments (of all persuasions) can be, especially against the little people with no voice.
I greatly look forward to reading the rest of the book and very much commend the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
Just reading the introduction -which includes a one or two paragraph summary of each section- is worth the price of the book (if rather scary). Am halfway through now as I find it too important to rush, and it's usual Pilger, just like in his films: particularly well researched, well and clearly presented, and he remains focused on positive possibilities even while describing the dire situations. His insights, intelligence, and drive for justice are inspirational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
I got this two days ago.Finished it yesterday.Every time I finish a JOHN PILGER book,I think "thats the best thing hes written" ,but this really is ! He covers south Africa,Afghanistan,Palistine and Diego Garcia.This came out in 2006 I think,and somehow Ive missed it till the other day when I sor it on AMAZON.This is now sitting pride of place among the other great books by this BRILLINT auther.Read it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
This is an excellent book - points of views are backed up by first class invetigative journalism - As many people as possble need to read this book and voice protest to our governments with regards to the attrocities commited- i for one say to them "not in my name". I hope we see many more works exposing the truth from John Pilger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)