Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and gripping
I love Kate Atkinson's work and this is no exception.
The novel centres around four 'Case Histories', the threads of which are brought together by Jackson, a detective living in present day Cambridge.
Each of the Case Histories occur at a different point in history; a 3 year old girl goes missing from a back garden in 1970 and is never found, a beloved 18 year...
Published on 25 Sep 2004 by beruthiel

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story but spoiled by cliche
I have never read Kate Atkinson novel before and was bought this as a gift. I was plesantly surprised at how gripping it was and I couldn't put it down to begin with, but felt a definite lull in the middle. I felt one of the "cases" was not particularly well "meshed" with the others which meant the ending didn't sit well with me. It was also spoiled by too much North...
Published on 13 Oct 2005 by The Dragon


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and gripping, 25 Sep 2004
This review is from: Case Histories (Hardcover)
I love Kate Atkinson's work and this is no exception.
The novel centres around four 'Case Histories', the threads of which are brought together by Jackson, a detective living in present day Cambridge.
Each of the Case Histories occur at a different point in history; a 3 year old girl goes missing from a back garden in 1970 and is never found, a beloved 18 year old daughter is murdered in 1994, a harassed wife kills her husband in 1979 and the final case concerns some revelatory truths about Jackson's family.
Jackson meanders passively through the novel with relatives involved in each of the cases coming to him for help. He seems somewhat bewildered throughout the novel and he is the only character I didn't really feel that I got to know.
Kate Atkinson's prose is lovely and she has the knack of creating suspense, she moves us around in time almost creating cliffhangers so we are dying to know what happens next. Her characters are all mostly sympathetic and the tragedy in their lives makes you, on occasion, ache for them. You do get the impression that the purpose and drive they employ in trying to gain closure from these events in their histories is often an excuse to not get to grips with the other problems in their lives, be it weight problems, overcoming inhibitions in an uptight personality, or finding love. The threads of the cases are tied up somwhat neatly at the end, leaving a satisfying conclusion.
All in all, it's a great read and I recommend it to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful novel, filled with irony and mordant wit., 11 Dec 2004
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case Histories (Hardcover)
Jackson Brodie, a private detective, is investigating three old cases, which soon begin to converge and overlap. Three-year-old Olivia Land disappeared without a trace thirty-five years ago while sleeping outside with one of her sisters, two of whom have hired Jackson to find out what happened. Theo Wyre has hired him to investigate the death of his daughter Laura Wyre, who was killed by a maniac ten years before while working in her father's office. Shirley Morrison, Jackson's third client, is trying to locate her sister and her niece. Her sister Michelle, living with her husband and young daughter on an isolated farm, has vanished from Shirley's life, and after twenty-five years, Shirley wants to find her.
Atkinson's suspenseful and dramatic cases pique the reader's interest in the characters and their lives, especially the female characters. All have faced traumatic events and suffered through less than ideal childhoods, which unfold inexorably as the cases become more complex. Not a linear narrative, the novel focuses on different characters in successive chapters, moving back and forth in time to provide background and to set up the overlaps which eventually occur. The characters are sometimes bizarre, baffling, and even unsympathetic, but they are always memorable for their behavior and their justifications for it.
Filled with ironies and noir humor, the novel also reveals Atkinson's astute observation of social interactions, as she skewers some aspects of her characters' lives while also creating sympathy for them. While the first two case histories-that of the missing Olivia and the murdered Laura-are genuinely sad and regarded overall as tragedies, the story of Michelle Fletcher, and peripherally, her sister Shirley, is much darker. Neither Michelle nor Shirley elicits much empathy after the opening chapter, but the occasional interjection of their story line stirs up the action, changes the pace, and keeps the novel from being overly melodramatic. Atkinson's eventual revelations about Michelle's life provide Atkinson with some of her best opportunities for social satire and wit.
Readers will delight in Atkinson's characterizations, and the ironies are priceless--the room where Laura was killed has, ten years later, become a day spa named "Bliss," and the place where two other deaths take place becomes an elaborate garden. Atkinson saves the biggest noir twists for last. Though the cases are, in fact, all "solved" by Jackson, they are not really solved. At least five important "loose ends" regarding the perpetrators of these murders and disappearances remain, showing that even murder cases are not as "cut and dried" as one might expect. (4.5 stars) Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Razor-sharp observation and black humour, 5 Aug 2005
This review is from: Case Histories: (Jackson Brodie) (Paperback)
I must admit that I am a fan of Kate Atkinson's style, so despite being a little put off by the "crime novel" tag (a genre which in general I cannot enjoy at all), I anticipated great things for this book. I was not disappointed in the least. It's very easy to give out 5 stars for everything you liked, but here I feel the novel really does deserve those 5 stars.
Although the book conforms loosely to a crime novel setup, the emphasis is, as always, on the unique quirks and foibles of the characters and the innate humanity of people. One gets the feeling that Kate Atkinson's plots, deliciously tangled and convoluted as they are, are vehicles for exploring character, response to events and development.
This particular novel is set up to read like a police file, with several unsolved cases linked by the main protagonist, Jackson Brodie. In all her novels, I have found that the main characters are a little bit transparent and lacking a particularly strong personality of their own, and Jackson Brodie is no exception. However, in my opinion this does not detract from the quality of the novel, as the multitude of minor characters serve to liven the story and "bounce off" the main character.
The style is definitely an acquired taste, but for those who like their books stuffed full of lively prose, small yet razor-sharp observations, a wry turn of phrase and a unique downbeat, deadpan and very black humour, I cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 5 Mar 2006
By 
M. Todd (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case Histories: (Jackson Brodie) (Paperback)
Case histories follows private investigator Jackson through 3 unsolved case histories from the past. One missing child, one unsolved murder and a wife who murdered her husband. The results of each story are very surprising and not what you expect while reading the book. The story also delves deeper into Jacksons life. All the loose ends are tied up but still leaving something to the readers imagination.
The book is incredibly well written, not simplified in any way and doesn't state the obvious. Each character is very individual and not the standard stereotypes found in many novels. Suspense and mystery is built up very carefully and the ending still surprises.
An exciting mystery, with several funny moments too. Well worth reading and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 1 Mar 2006
This review is from: Case Histories: (Jackson Brodie) (Paperback)
It has been a long time (too long) since a novel grabbed my attention on the first page and did not let go until the end. This book did.

Three stories (case histories) about loss are brought together around a central character; Jackson Brodie, an ex-policeman turned private investigator who starts to investigate the three old cases.

It is beautifully written with very strong characterisation: a wonderful mix of touching (sometimes genuinely moving) and funny. As an exercise in genre busting it is very interesting: it is only nominally a crime novel, although the crime elements are well handled, it is much more interested in the characters. All the threads are well handled but the story of the family of girls and their overbearing academic (worse, mathematician) father is particularly strong as is the story of the father losing the favourite daughter.

The book is not perfect. For me, the biggest weakness was the main protagonist Jackson Brodie: he is well enough drawn to drive the plot forward but, for me, he is never a wholly convincing character. Towards the end of the book Aktinson adopts a slightly odd narrative structure (she gets away with it) and the ending is rather too neat and happy for my tastes.

However, this is still the best novel that I have read is a (very) long time, I recommend it wholeheartedly. Now I'm off to read her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 20 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case Histories (Hardcover)
I read this book a few weeks ago and have been recommending it to everyone ever since. I read one of those 'books of the year' features in the D. Telegraph today and was amazed to see that no one mentioned this. It's certainly one of the most enjoyable novels I've read this year. Basically, it's a detective story, but written with such compassion and verve that it far transcends the genre. The first three chapters, in particular, are stunning - three different crimes which converge as the book goes on. I don't know if it's quite as good or original as Behind the Scenes at the Museum, but it's certainly hugely enjoyable and, ultimately, very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive, 19 Jun 2005
By 
Basement Cat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Case Histories: (Jackson Brodie) (Paperback)
This was one of those books that you cannot put down until you've finished it. Although a bit different to Kate Atkinson's other books, it was no less enjoyable. Although not quite a crime novel, there was a dark sense of menace that ran throughout the book. The characters were interesting too, with many secrets hidden under the surface just waiting to get out. Brilliant & the best book I have read so far this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a crime, 13 Aug 2007
This review is from: Case Histories: (Jackson Brodie) (Paperback)
I loved this book. It was well written and fascinating to read. The dark part of the tale is really black and very sad, but the rest of it really made me laugh. I just couldn't put it down.
I don't usually read detective novels so if they're what you like this may not be for you, but it would be a crime if you let the negative comments of some of the other reviewers put you off. Just try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is too appalling that it cannot be trivialised., 8 July 2005
This review is from: Case Histories: (Jackson Brodie) (Paperback)
Jackson, a private investigator acts as the protagonist in the story, he is always ready to do the right thing; basically one of life's good guy's. He is surrounded by a dysfunctional world that he struggles to understand, but is resigned to. He acts as the glue in the story to hold together the various cases of murders and missing people. Chronologically a little tricky, the story moving back and forth in time and between cases and characters, a story that in its own right is plausible enough though. All the Cases are unrelated but become connected together and in the end are nicely closed. The beauty in the book is Kate Atkinson's style and narrative she seams almost to dismiss as "the trivia of life", murder, rape, and pedophilia in a way that will bring a wry smile. Understatement is her stock and trade; this story is tragic but paradoxically will make you laugh. The portrayal and clarity of character is brilliant, characters we all know, a satire of those around us. The slight whiff of cynicism and political incorrectness here and there, in my view, is to be admired, as it actually adds to the books qualities. Damaged people are accurately depicted, nothing is too appalling that it cannot be trivialised in an amusing way.
A strong theme that shines through everything in the book is parental love; can you have too much, or too little?
Malter Witty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jackson Brodie's beginnings, 30 May 2011
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case Histories: (Jackson Brodie) (Paperback)
This is the first book in the Jackson Brodie series, and whilst I have read subsequent ones, and they stand alone nicely, reading the first book does fill you in on some of the background when it comes to Jackson Brodie and his past.

The reader in the first 70 pages we are shown three stories, case histories if you will all about missing or lost girls. First is Olivia Land, sleeping outside in the tent with one of her three sisters during the hot summer of 1970 when Amelia wakes up Olivia cannot be found.

Secondly, Theo loves his daughter Laura more than he can say, more in fact than her sister Jennifer. Whilst Laura awaits her A Level results in 1994 and her future at university, she pleases her father by going to work at his solicitor's office. But her first day there becomes her last on earth.

Thirdly and finally, there is Michelle, 18 years old in 1979, recently married and also having given birth, Michelle is trying to beat time, and she gets up earlier to juggle everything in her life, a life that she did not really plan for.

Nothing inextricably links these stories apart from one thing Jackson Brodie, ex army, ex police inspector, ex husband but not an ex private detective. Those from the past of these three case histories contact Jackson hoping that he can provide answers, in fact provide those that are missing or lost.

Jackson is the key to bringing closure and along the way all these case histories intertwine. We see how Jackson deals with all those he comes into contact with, including those in his personal life, Julia his ex wife and Marlee his daughter. Marlee is important to Jackson, as he looks at these cases which all feature lost or missing women, how would he cope if something happened to Marlee? This angle brings the personal touch to the private detective; it is not always just about the cases.

A book that does not stand still for very long, if at all, it moves between past and present, between characters in the various different cases until all background and present information is filled in for the reader. This is surprisingly unproblematic to read, as all it does is keep you gripped as you turn the page to find out the truth and find out who exactly everyone is with plenty of twist along the way.

A good introduction to Kate Atkinson and well worth a read even if crime novels are not "your thing" because this is rather different from your average, blood and guts whodunit, Atkinson does not always tie up every end there is always something left making you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x1087b2ac)

This product

Case Histories: (Jackson Brodie)
Case Histories: (Jackson Brodie) by Kate Atkinson (Paperback - 1 Jun 2005)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews