Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A buccaneer with empathy and intelligence
Every time I started a new chapter in this book there was something to delight, inform, entertain or shock me. Delight in the descriptions of the remote places Dampier visited. Information on the history, politics, morals, religion and practices of the time: I learned a lot. Entertainment in the enormous adventure of his life and his interaction with the people he met and...
Published on 27 July 2010 by J. Thoas

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pirate of Exquisite Mind
Definitely a boy's book - lots of adventure and hardship but also some good interesting history. I thought the writing style was rather 'academic' and that the book was too long for what it had to say.
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by Chrisglos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A buccaneer with empathy and intelligence, 27 July 2010
By 
J. Thoas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier (Paperback)
Every time I started a new chapter in this book there was something to delight, inform, entertain or shock me. Delight in the descriptions of the remote places Dampier visited. Information on the history, politics, morals, religion and practices of the time: I learned a lot. Entertainment in the enormous adventure of his life and his interaction with the people he met and worked with. Horror at the hardships and living conditions of life on board ship and in the fragility of life in the early European colonies - imagine having to extract a two foot long worm from your leg as Dampier did.
What I was left with was a great admiration for Dampier. Even though he was an extremely tough man he displayed a sensitivity in his interaction with the native people he encountered, and made an intelligent and systematic analysis of the physical world and the environments in which he found himself.
This book combines the best of serious history with the best of biography. My only small reservation is that while the maps illustrated in the book are reproductions of maps made by Dampier himself, it would have been nice to have an immediate comparison with current geographical knowledge - I had to constantly refer to a modern atlas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yo-ho-ho (and 30 tons of Quince Marmalade) isn't the half of it, 4 Nov 2010
By 
G. M. Sinstadt - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier (Paperback)
At different times in the late 17th Century William Dampier was both a Pirate (freelance criminal) and a Privateer (sponsored and semi-legal robber). His exploits in both guises were dangerous, eventful and ultimately less well rewarded than perhaps they deserved. Their telling makes for a rollicking yarn which - in Diana and Michael Preston's absorbing book - never glamourises an existence that often entailed extreme hardship. Yet the buccaneering alone would scarcely justify remembering Dampier three centuries later.

The truth is that this remarkable man was an acute observer and recorder of the world at large, its inhabitants, flora and fauna, without parallel in his own time and for many years thereafter. Three times he circumnavigated the globe, preceding Captain Cook in landing upon Australia. His first journey, shortly after his marriage, took him away for twelve years. Everywhere he went, Dampier looked, tested, tasted, made drawings and kept notes. His were the first descriptions in English of penguins, of zebras, of avocados,and many more. His theories of the interaction of winds and currents were similarly the first of their kind, their accuracy a source of knowledge for later generations. His published accounts of his travels were best-sellers.

Honoured in his lifetime by the great and the good of The Royal Society, drawn on by Daniel Defoe as a source for Robinson Crusoe, mirrored by Jonathan Swift in Gulliver's Travels, Dampier's reputation inexplicably fell into disregard during the 19th Century. In restoring it with scholarly research and in eminently readable style, the Prestons have done William Dampier the justice an exquisite mind deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Diarist, Observer of Nature and Navigator, 29 Jan 2009
By 
J. MIDDLETON (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier (Paperback)
For a pirate to retain a written account of his travels was a risky way of life, a fact which is apparent when Dampier needed to be careful with the content of his diary. That he survived so many adventures and returned to England to publish his story made him a very rare sailor indeed. He ranks with Pigafetta, who was Magellan's diarist and one of the few survivors of that expedition. If you are a sailor, you will be fascinated with his methods for getting about the oceans, at a time when measurement of longitude was not available to most seafarers.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommnend it to all readers with an interest in adventure, sailing or history of the Carribean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first round-the-world backpacker ?, 1 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier (Paperback)
Well written, especially in the earlier sections where there is perhaps more material from Dampier himself to rely upon.
I picked this up by chance needing something to keep me occupied while travelling. It is worth far more than just some airport novel. The book provides a fascinating view of the blurred reality between 17th century piracy, privateering, and defence of the realm. Moreover, it does so from the point of view of the (extra)ordinary seaman.
If your taste is for history or biography excluding footballers then this should not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling adventure and intellectual odyssey, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier (Paperback)
I have a fascination with books on the Age of Discovery and sea travel before the 19th century. So it didn't surprise me that I would enjoy reading this book on William Dampier, a truly remarkable character. Dampier was, on the one hand a pirate, or a buccaneer to be more exact. Yet, he had an ability to observe, record, and understand the world around him like few have ever done. It is a wonder his name has been largely lost to history. I suppose this is because his observations were not officially sponsored, but rather made on his journeys as a pirate. How unfortunate he did not put his great mind to work in a more conventional setting. Perhaps he would be remembered with the likes of Cook and Darwin and we would be studying his thoughts and observations today. Instead, his greatest ambition was to seize a Spanish treasure ship (which never even gave him the riches he sought after) and the world lost a great explorer. Well worth a read as an introduction to a largely forgotten, but potentially important man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 14 April 2012
By 
ronwooduk (North Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier (Paperback)
What an interesting book. William Dampier was an extraordinary man. I really enjoyed reading about his adventures. It gives a fascinating insight into the hardships and difficulties faced by mariners in the seventeenth century. Dampier took part in sea battles, land engagements with the Spanish, attacks on fortified coastal settlements as well as skirmishes with hostile inhabitants on remote islands. The ships he sailed in often leaked and had to be constantly repaired, they ran out of food and water, survived storms at sea, the crews mutinied, individuals were marooned or left behind, there was double dealing and treachery. It's a wonder William Dampier survived to tell the tale. On top of this he recorded in great detail his observations on flora, fauna, native peoples, the weather and topography. His papers were carried with him wherever he went. At one point he puts them in a hollow bamboo tube and stops the ends with wax to protect them whilst crossing through tropical rain forests and wading through raging rivers etc. An amazing story. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 10 Feb 2009
This review is from: A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier (Paperback)
This book does a fantastic job of taking the reader on a journey with Dampier. It includes lots of details and points of interest without being overly wordy or boring. It is extremely easy to read and I've had trouble putting it down on the numerous times I've read it! The book is split into five chunks based on different times and aspects of Dampier's life, from privateering to travel writing. This gives the book depth and keeps the reader interested. I recommend this book to anyone, regardless of any previous interest in pirates, sailing or exploration as it is extremely compelling and inspiring! Great book to read on the beach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oim a bloody poirate!, 18 Mar 2014
By 
L. Cobham (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier (Paperback)
I have recently started to read sea stories which began with 'The wreck of the whaleship Essex' which I can only highly recommend. This book on William Dampier now also follows suit for its fantastic adventure quality to it. I won't reveal any of the content but it's a great picture of life in the mid to late 1600's for sailors and and an eye opening explanation of life aboard a ship for the huge amounts of time it took to reach places with scrappy ideas of the globe and how to navigate it. Absolutely fascinating stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great historical read about an amazing man!, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent read, well written exciting and interesting. Anyone who has an interest in maritime history or just history in general will love this book. It is amazing how many words we use today are down to Dampiers discoveries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier (Paperback)
This is an amazing tale, and if you have any interest in the period I would strongly recommend it. The story is almost incredible, and the authors tell it with great skill so that Dampier's character shines through. Thankfully, he is an amazing and engaging subject who is inquisitive, at time sensitive and thoughtful but nevertheless hardy and adventurous. The book is written in a lively style, such that although it is an historical biography it is highly readable and at times quite gripping.

I liked the book so much I bought two copies to give as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William  Dampier
A Pirate Of Exquisite Mind: The Life Of William Dampier by Michael Preston (Paperback - 1 April 2005)
7.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews