Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, unconventional and funny
This is a brilliant first novel by a home-educated teenager, combining an unusual tendency towards fantasy with a hilarious but very down-to-earth description of family life in a large homeschooling family. Particularly impressive is her rendering of two-year-old Poppy, given how notoriously difficult toddlers are to convey convincingly in print - Caitlin Moran's ear...
Published on 12 Jun 1999

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very well written but poor plot
I decided to give this a try after really enjoying How to be a Woman. I really wanted to like it but struggled to finish it. It's very well written, especially considering how young she was when she wrote it. Not much happens in the plot and what little does happen doesn't really go anywhere and isn't resolved in any way by the end. It does capture family life quite...
Published 6 months ago by Hazel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, unconventional and funny, 12 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This is a brilliant first novel by a home-educated teenager, combining an unusual tendency towards fantasy with a hilarious but very down-to-earth description of family life in a large homeschooling family. Particularly impressive is her rendering of two-year-old Poppy, given how notoriously difficult toddlers are to convey convincingly in print - Caitlin Moran's ear for dialogue is uncanny. We have just taken our children out of school and Caitlin is a shining example of what not going to school can achieve. Is it too late to hope for a sequel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny - cheers you up on bad days, because your bad days won't seem as bad, 24 Jun 2013
By 
K. E. Thomsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I jumped for joy when I found this - having read 'Moranthology' and 'How to be a Woman' 6 times I was desperate to find something else she had written. This was Moran's first book (written in her teens) and is based on her own family - on occation balancing so closely towards tragedy that the story almost tips over the edge, yet you laugh.... and then thank your lucky star that you get to visit the Narmos rather then live with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 20 Jun 2009
By 
J. Halbert (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i first read this when i was 9...i've recently re-read it at 24 and i still think it is knock-your-socks-off brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Oct 2012
By 
heidi "Aspiring children's writer and wannabe... (Kilsby, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love Adrian Mole then you'll love the Narmo family. Laugh out loud funny can't believe Moran wrote this at 16.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling brilliance, 26 Oct 2011
By 
D. Hore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Currently this book has four reviews. Two of them are five stars - impressive for a book written when the author was fifteen years old. The others are one star - one because of complaints about the price before it was reissued, the other a short rant about Caitlin's award-winning journalism by someone who presumably hasn't read the book. (One should not write reviews of books without having read the book, oh no.) This seems very unfair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quirky and cute, 20 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Chronicles Of Narmo (Paperback)
Loved this little book, for a fifteen year old its very sharpe and witty. Very inspiring to young women and Caitlin moran is a great role model for young girls. Up there with Judy blume and Jodie vivienna. Caitlin is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
By 
J. Carvell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chronicles Of Narmo (Paperback)
A great read and interesting to see how Caitlin Moran's writing career began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very well written but poor plot, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Hazel (Coventry, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to give this a try after really enjoying How to be a Woman. I really wanted to like it but struggled to finish it. It's very well written, especially considering how young she was when she wrote it. Not much happens in the plot and what little does happen doesn't really go anywhere and isn't resolved in any way by the end. It does capture family life quite well but I felt that more needs to actually happen to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun read!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this family adventure set in Wolverhampton. Moran captures dysfunctional family life with flair. Entertaining and thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caitlin Moran's first novel, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good, funny family drama story based loosely on Moran's early years. It's probably better suited to children than adults (even for fans of Moran) as it is written in quite a simplistic way (well, she was only 15 or something when she wrote it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chronicles Of Narmo
The Chronicles Of Narmo by Caitlin Moran (Paperback - 24 Oct 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews