Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2014
I lost my old 2002 edition of The Curse of the Gloamglozer, and since it's not sold on Amazon any more, thought I might pick up this "updated" edition instead. I was slightly bemused by the decision to rebrand it as the first book in the Edge Chronicles series (it's actually the fourth), but shrugged it off. What a mistake.

For a start, the introduction, present in each book, is supposed to introduce the reader to the world of the Edge, in case this is the first book they have read. In this edition, however, it has been "updated" to a synopsis of the story, which rather defeats the point of actually reading the book. Things do not improve, either, with a large chunk of "updated" material at the beginning copied word-for-word from the tenth book, The Lost Barkscrolls (which, for some reason, has not received an "updated" edition).

The book then segues into the real opening scene, in which the "updated" characters appear not to have anything vaguely resembling a memory or an attention span. Quint bounces unpredictably between anger, fear, grief and merriment, whilst Maris forgets his name at least twice. The two talk at great length, and then in the "updated" next chapter, we discover that they are actually mortal enemies.

As the book progresses, there is not a lot to compliment. In general, long conversations in which we learn more about the main characters and their relationships with one another have been "updated" to pointlessly melodramatic posturing, whilst the exciting action scenes, at which the authors really excelled, are now dull blow-by-blow accounts. The dramatic climax of the story, meanwhile, is nowhere to be found, despite being wonderfully written in the original.

The one extra star I did give is for Mr. Riddell's excellent illustrations, which mercifully have not been "updated" in any way. However, if you have any interest in it (or, presumably, other "updated" Edge Chronicles) other than as a book of concept art, I strongly suggest that you search for the 2002 Corgi paperbacks on eBay or in a second-hand bookshop.

Update (2014-08-01): Thanks to a friendly local bookshop who let me have a brief look through their copies, it seems that only these Edge Chronicles books have been mangled in the way I described:
* The Curse of the Gloamglozer (this one)
* Clash of the Sky Galleons
* The Last of the Sky Pirates
* The Immortals
The other books have barely been edited at all in the new editions (apart from the changed introductions and new numbering system). I have no idea what went on at the publishers to cause this, but hopefully this is helpful information for someone.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2001
Once again Paul Stewart has outdone himself in the fifth book of his series, the Edge Chronicals. His writing is grasping and thrilling, and if you hae read the books before you will notice a change as this is no longer about the main character Twig, but his father's history and his exciting life as a teenager. I give it four stars as I know that he can do way better than this as demonstrated in the first and second books of this series. But this is a good book so I strongly reccommend it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 November 2002
I don't know how this series has escaped the bandwagon that poor Harry Potter was subjected to.... (but I guess those who know the books pass the word on to the deserving public - for sure, I do).
This sequel to Cloud Wolf and prequel to the Deepwoods series has the same deliciously dark detailed drawings and inventive imagery as the previous 4 in the series.
Mr.Stewart's fertile imagination has created the strange natural laws that govern this land, producing some weird effects and the extraordinary creatures that Mr.Riddell's art gives life to. The stories can be read and re-read with no diminishing of their power to entertain and enthrall.
Quint (aka Cloud Wolf, Twig's father) is land-bound, apprenticed to the Most High Academe in Sanctaphrax, where he has to descend into the terrifying bowels of the floating rock on a secret task, in company with Maris, the Academe's only daughter.
We get more details of Sanctaphrax (super maps!) and the action never stops as one is dragged along with the story, meeting more strange 'natural' phenomena and gloriously grotesque creatures, with exquisite drawings on almost every page.
The series shows no signs of petering out or running out of steam - they are destined to become world classics!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 April 2005
This fourth book in the Edge Chronicles series is actually chronologically the first, and although long and sometimes complicated, it is the most exciting to date.
Having met Twig in the first book, we are now whisked back in time to when his parents first meet, and although the wrong sparks fly at first, the strength of their characters draws them together as they face the most terrible threat to Sanctaphrax.
Packed with intrigue, treachery, adventure, courage and emotion, the story revolves around the distracted Linius Pallitax, the Most High Academe of Sanctaphrax, his brave apprentice Quint, son of a sky pirate captain, and Maris, his neglected daughter.
Quint and Maris must brave the mysteries and horrors of the stonecomb that lies deep within the floating rock, to discover the terrible secret that Linius has been harboring. With each visit, the Most High Academe has been growing weaker, and there are terrible secrets hidden within the ever-changing tunnels.
While it is not necessary to have read the first three books, a little background is always helpful, and I would recommend reading at least book one before this one.
A little stretched out in places, brilliant in others, the stage is now set for an incredible book five.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
This is a great start to The Edge Chronicles and can't wait to start reading the second in the series (The Winter Knights). I'm excitedly waiting until it's delivered.

The writing is fantastic and the illustrations even more so. This book is utterly awesome, and good for all ages.

When reading review I was confused when people where saying this is the fourth book in the series. This is untrue, If you look in the books it will give you this order (chronological/publication order):

The Curse Of The Gloamglozer
The Winter Knights
Battle Of The sky Galleons
Beyond The Deepwoods
Stormchaser
Midnight Over Sanctraphrax
The Last Of The Sky Pirates
Vox
Freeglader
The Immortals
The Nameless One

Just so you are aware, when you do read The Twig Saga as the first saga, and expect The Quint Saga to involve Twig, then you'd be wrong. It's more based on his father, and his life rather than anything with Twig at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
If you have a liking for mythical , mystery and tragedy with little parts that make you jump then his book is for you .This is a brilliant book to read cosily tucked up and definitely worth spending your money on 😜
This rating was because of the adventure in this book. I warn you though!By the time you have finished this book you will be hooked on the whole series😉
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2001
I have got all four released books of the Edge Chronicles, and this is by far the most fantastic book of the bunch. It tells the story of Twig's, the character of the first three books, father Quint when he was young and his journey to the magnificent sky city of academics known as Sanctaphrax to help the High Academe to conduct some strange and important experiments with the High Academe's daughter. This leads them to the core of Sanctaphrax and they unwittingly unleash a powerful and deadly force known as the Gloamglozer. Unfortunately, I didn't buy this as I didn't have my money in the shop so I read it upstairs in the book lounge, but I will definitely buy when it comes out in paperback, well worth it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
This is 5 stars because the fear of Quint, the way the story is weave intricately. It is very exciting as the twists actually make you worry unlike stupid books. Two criticisms only _ there may be too many twists and the illustrations are quite childish, suiting 5 year olds. But the mAjority of illustrations are wonderful stuff. Bravo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
This is the first book in the edge chronicles, and I am going to read the next one straight away. This book tells the tale of Quint, and so does the next one. Some people say that this is the fourth, or even the fifth, which is not true. This is the order:

The curse of the Gloamglozer

The winter knights

Battle of the sky gallstones

Beyond the deepwoods

Stormchaser

Midnight over Sanctaphrax

The last of the sky pirates

Vox

Freeglader

The immortals.

The nameless one.

The writing is fantastic and so are the illustrations.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2001
Paul Stewart and Chris Riddle never fail to deliver a gripping tale of adventure, and as usual, the illustrations were astounding! THE EDGE CHRONICLES, are all wonderful, but the fact that the story was about Captain Twig's father, and not Twig himself, may have put some readers off. The fact is, the tale itself was not as complicated as the EDGE CHRONICLES usually are. There was no intricately detailed plot to follow, but the story was nonetheless, wonderful! Here we are at academic city Sanctaphrax, where Maris lives. She is the daughter of the Most High Academe, who has recently been dabbling in something dangerous and looking worse for it. But "Quint" (whom we know as Cloud Wolf if we've read the other books), is here to save the day once again!
I loved it, as I'm sure you will.
Rachel.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse