Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very real characters and a good storyline
Even though I may be a little older than the target audience, I have always enjoyed RM's storycraft. This book is an honourable addition to a fine collection of stories. The characters are drawn with considerable insight and observation into the way in which real people might react in the unreal situations portrayed, with a good deal of humour in the process. I also liked...
Published on 14 Mar 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Complex
Well written, but not an easy book to read. Couldn't really engage with the book as it always felt like words were used for their presence rather than their worth to the story. The author writes good high fantasy just felt this one was pitched at the wrong audience.
Published 1 month ago by K. J. Stone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very real characters and a good storyline, 14 Mar 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though I may be a little older than the target audience, I have always enjoyed RM's storycraft. This book is an honourable addition to a fine collection of stories. The characters are drawn with considerable insight and observation into the way in which real people might react in the unreal situations portrayed, with a good deal of humour in the process. I also liked the descriptions of the cat, Flinx - surely RM is a cat owner?
The story is essentially that of Sleeping Beauty but with many a twist to make it both interesting and relevant to today. The princess, her young foster-mother, and her aunt-by-adoption are all girls and women for whom it is possible to feel real liking. The male characters are also sympathetically drawn and one can see why particular partners get together rather than feeling that they have been joined just for the sake of a particular development in the plot. The magical bits are perhaps a little similar in concept to The Hero and the Crown, but not to the extent that one feels it's just a repeat.
All in all, a very enjoyable and oddly comforting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, if a tad confusing, 15 July 2009
By 
Tara Protheroe "Austen Fangirl" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spindle's End (Paperback)
This is my third exploration of Robin Mckinley's work (my first two being Beauty and Rose Daughter) and i was, as usual, impressed by her ability to create truly vivid scenes. Obviously it is a re-telling and therefore one might question her originality, but the plot is so developed that the recycled material doesn't really affect your reading of it.

The heroines are likeable, and all romantic plotlines tie up rather nicely. One of the latter does seem a tad contrived, but at least it ties in with the original idea of the fairy tale. Mckinley's prose, as always, has moments in which it truly shines.

The last quarter of the book is truly packed with action and information, and I am torn between judging it as compellingly written (you really feel that you are in the centre of the action; it's almost as though everything is rushing past you) and condemning it as being too confusing; the magical details do tend to be slightly overpowering.

Overall, if you're looking for a light fantasy read then this is the place to go; i give it 4/5 stars due to its ability to keep me reading until 3:30am (few books are ineresting enough to do so). If you have enjoyed McKinley's work in the past then i heartily recommend, and it should appeal to any adult or child who loves fairytales. However, if you prefer clear-cut, unfussy prose with little description, or if you feel that originality is a key componant to enjoying a book, then this may be one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring back Aerin!!, 1 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spindle's End (Hardcover)
Having waited excitedly (and for too long) for the next book from Robin McKinley, I read Spindle's End the day it arrived. Having given myself a severe headache in doing so (due to the involved nature of the plot) I am torn between recommendation and reservation. As I expected, it is very difficult to put down, but it is also difficult to read. The characters do not draw you in the way Aerin, Harimad and Beauty (the first one!) do with their doubts, flaws and normality. Rosie is flawed, but a little two-dimensional. The curse hanging over her is never fully explained (although in fairness the original fairy tale was illogical also) and despite showing McKinley's usual flashes of brilliance, I did not feel this was sustained throughout the story. No real tension is created by the evil fairy - Maur was a much more awe-inspiring and well-drawn foe, and yet Rosie's surroundings are so beautifully evoked, and the people who love her so nicely characterised that I still recommend you read it. I cried my eyes out at the end when all the threads are finally spun together (in a quite unexpected fashion), which proves what a consummate storyteller Robin McKinley is - even when you have your doubts about her tale, she can still tug at your heart! If a litle more thought had been given to the detail, and and she had been less obsessed with brackets (an annoying but addictive habit!)to explain all the details that had been missed out I would have given this book five stars. But four by McKinley's standard is about 13 by anyone else's, so read it, enjoy it, and keep campaigning for another tale about Aerin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Complex, 9 Mar 2014
By 
K. J. Stone - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spindle's End (Paperback)
Well written, but not an easy book to read. Couldn't really engage with the book as it always felt like words were used for their presence rather than their worth to the story. The author writes good high fantasy just felt this one was pitched at the wrong audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful introspection on the nature of Fate, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spindle's End (Paperback)
This book is beautifully crafted. From the refreshing take on a fairy godmother to the sparkling descriptions of an Oz-esque world, Robin McKinley shines as a writer of modern fairy tales. It takes the traditional story, and its strictures of Fate and Destiny and turns them upside down, all the while maintaining the romance, tenderness and excitement of the original. Perfect for a young and old readers alike, but particularly touching for girls of any age who are questioning how much Disney's perfect princesses really relate to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prickling with magic, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Debora Helena Shrimpton (York, N. Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spindle's End (Kindle Edition)
The cursed princess is hidden by good fairies in plain sight, so ordinariness can disguise her. She grows up in a remote vilkage, a normal life. As the doom if hr cursed 11sr birthday approaches, The cursed princess is hidden by good fairies in plain aught for 21 year. She grows up in a out of the way village, learning him drum skills and common ways. As the doom of her 21st birthday approaches the truth of her heritage is revealed and the bewilderment the princess feels at her own unsuitability is only overshadowed but the certainty that she will not live long enough for it to matter.

Interesting characters, with typical lovely meandering descriptions and interplays.

Excellent play on the ancient fairy tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spindle's end, 20 Aug 2011
By 
P. BOOTH "pauline696" (Stamford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spindle's End (Paperback)
A good take on the sleeping beauty fairy tale, the story felt fresh, I would recommend this book for a light read. Rose is not your usuall princess and sticks to her opinions, there is also a nice twist at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting if slightly dragging book., 4 Aug 2003
This review is from: Spindle's End (Paperback)
I picked this book up on my second day of work experience and still had it at the end, I thought it was a brilliant read and the heroin was unusual, not the beautiful demure girl of the Disney stories. I was a little disappointed with some plot lines (including her friend who was everything the girl didn't want to be) but happy they fitted into the story well. I liked the usage of animals in this book and found it funny most of the time.
I've already recommended this book to some friends and think it is an excellent book for anyone who enjoys this genre or who'd like to read a sleeping beauty story that isn't sickly sweet.
I was also greatly pleased that the love story I wanted happened, there's nothing worse than an unfulfilling love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting if slightly dragging book., 4 Aug 2003
This review is from: Spindle's End (Paperback)
I picked this book up on my second day of work experience and still had it at the end, I thought it was a brilliant read and the heroin was unusual, not the beautiful demure girl of the Disney stories. I was a little disappointed with some plot lines (including her friend who was everything the girl didn't want to be) but happy they fitted into the story well. I liked the usage of animals in this book and found it funny most of the time.
I've already recommended this book to some friends and think it is an excellent book for anyone who enjoys this genre or who'd like to read a sleeping beauty story that isn't sickly sweet.
I was also greatly pleased that the love story I wanted happened, there's nothing worse than an unfulfilling love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i am undecided abouot this book, 4 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Spindle's End (Paperback)
This is the first book I have read by Robin McKinley and I'm not sure i enjoyed it. The storyline was great- but it was bound to be when it was the classic novel of Sleeping Beauty and i wasn't overly keen on the ending. I found that certain bits of the books were dragged out but then other bits (such as the charcters) weren't covered in enough depth. I found that the book had a disappointing ending, but only because it wasn't what I expected.
However, after all of that, this book kept me gripped for days and I really want to read some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb23fa918)

This product

Spindle's End
Spindle's End by Robin McKinley (Paperback - 27 Jan 2011)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews