Customer Reviews


555 Reviews
5 star:
 (385)
4 star:
 (106)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
I have read most of Terry Pratchett's books and the one constant throughout them has been the fantastic characterisation and humour within these books. I have always preferred the Discworld books due to the fact that the characters grow throughout the series. If you are already a Discworld fan and are thinking of buying this book, then I would absolutely recommend it...
Published on 15 Dec. 2012 by BR

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not his best
Similar in style to Nation, this book sets out an alternative history of Victorian England, following the exploits of a young tosher who lives by his wits in the slums of London. A chance encounter with a young girl in distress and two emminent gentlemen (one of whom is Charlie Dickens) sends him on a giddy circuit around the gentry, parliament and down into the sewers...
Published on 12 Oct. 2012 by Bob simms


‹ Previous | 145 46 4756 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cor Blimey Govnor What A Book!, 22 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Dodger (Hardcover)
A nice change from his Discworld novels. However, it still had the main ingredient which was great characters. Pratchett puts so much humanity and humour into his stories you can't help but love them. An endearing novel that I'll remember long after reading it. Conveyed with his usual deft and gentle touch, a real heart warmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book about dodgers, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger (Hardcover)
great book thanks read it and learnt lots about words - its all about olden times and that - you might like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger (Kindle Edition)
I found this book readable and a bit of a departure from Pratchet's usual style, which incidentally I am not a fan of. It was reasonably well researched and reflected some of the realities of life in Victorian London. Nonetheless, I found the story very clumsy, full of wild coincidences, and unbelievable. A host of famous characters felt shoe-horned in and this reached new heights of incredulity as the main character, Dodger, had a highly stereotyped meeting with Queen Victoria, which read like the pages of a children's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read and enjoyed..., 3 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Dodger (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable read, despite being a departure from the usual Pratchett. Good story but didn't find the characters as engaging, possibly because I couldn't get past the historical context here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Yarn, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger (Kindle Edition)
This is my first Terry Pratchett book and I found it to be a very enjoyable read. So many twists and turns carry the story along effortlessly and Dickensian London comes to life with vivid imagery. Wonderful characterization and a supreme plot make this a very engaging novel. A very intelligent and humorous read with oodles of compassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant break from the DW novels, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed it greatly. Dodger is a fine character I hope I'll hear more of in the future. Recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger (Kindle Edition)
Another great story from a mind that loops around in so many circles
Long may he continue to thoughtfully entertain us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful book with all of Pratchett's characteristic humour, wit and understanding of human nature. Loved the historical setting as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - up to Pratchett's usual standard, 30 Dec. 2012
By 
SM Reeves "malbec" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger (Kindle Edition)
Bought the kindle version of this, so it's not quite so easy to flick back & forth as a normal book. However, this did not detract from Terry's usual brilliant storytelling. If you like Pratchett, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dodger, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
R. W. Polley (Harwich UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger (Kindle Edition)
This book is excellent, Terry's take on Dickensian London. I found it hard to put it down! The clever interweave of historical facts and fiction was a joy to read! Thank you Sir terry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 145 46 4756 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dodger
Dodger by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 26 Sept. 2013)
£3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews