Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The metamorphosis of anti-hero into hero, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
Susman "Susman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ptolemy's Gate (The Bartimaeus Sequence) (Paperback)
Nathaniel AKA John Mandrake is now part of the government, and his time as a top official in government has made Mandrake hard-hearted, with no real friends and plenty of enemies. His colleagues are ready to stab him in the back. In turn he treats all of his servants, both human and jinn in cruelly fashion. Through over exploitation of Bartimaeus, in the `human world', the djinni is but a shadow of who he once was. The boy that was Nathaniel has transformed into his pseudo working title of Mandrake a carbon copy of his former mentor in book one, if not worse. The character of Kitty Jones discovers how Ptolemy had been atypical from other magicians and had treated his djinni more as equals he tried to go further by trying to illustrate how man and djinni could attain common ground and mutual respect. Through his friendship with Kitty, Nathaniel begins a rapid metamorphosis from Mandrake's selfish attitude and behaviour to that of his former self Nathaniel. For Nathaniel, his last adventure will be his ultimate challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still gripping! Still enthralling!, 30 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Ptolemy's Gate (The Bartimaeus Sequence) (Paperback)
I found this third volume as gripping and enthralling as the first two. To my surprise I was even moved to tears in the final chapters. I am impressed with the imagination and planning that has gone into the creation of this series. I thought that the description of "The Other Place", home of Bartimaeus and his fellow spirits, gave this book an unexpected depth. Any nitpicking reservations that I have about this alternate universe (such as the total lack of true magical understanding of the magicians) is rendered irrelevant because the storyline moves forward so effectively, that I do not have time to dwell on any criticisms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh-out-loud funny, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ptolemy's Gate (The Bartimaeus Sequence) (Paperback)
Came across the first in the triology a couple of years ago purely by chance, browsing in a bookshop. Soon bought the second but only recently did I get round to buying this one. Don't know why I left it so long as all are marvellous stories with great characterisation but the best bit is that they are laugh-out-loud funny. Risk irritating my husband by reading out snippets to him and he cannot resist smiling despite trying to discourage me from interrupting his own reading. Unlike the Harry Potter series, these are perfectly suitable for adult readership and the only give away is the age of the protagonists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great mix of comedy and adventure, i loved the fast paced plot and all the characters! A great story with a twisting plot and a shocking conclusion. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy or just a good read :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much wanted Xmas present, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ptolemy's Gate (The Bartimaeus Sequence) (Paperback)
My daughter absolutely loved this and the other 3 in the series when she opened them on Christmas morning
I love it when playing Santa pays off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good book, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ptolemy's Gate (The Bartimaeus Sequence) (Paperback)
on reading this book i always wonder if there's another one waiting to get out there seems to be one loose end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 April 2014
I am really enjoying this book, it is very funny at times and the next minute you want to cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant end to a brilliant trilogy, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed the whole trilogy and the final conclusion was an edge of the seat experience. All the characters are delightfully described and despite their failings you can't help but will them on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great trilogy, 30 Aug. 2011
yes, this is a great trilogy.
And I don't like the fact that Amazon force me to explain myself further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent final chapter of The Bartimaeus Sequence. Loads of action, lots of wit from my favourite djinni and a sad but happy ending. Trying not to give away any spoilers.... Great story, I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ptolemy's Gate (The Bartimaeus Sequence)
Ptolemy's Gate (The Bartimaeus Sequence) by Jonathan Stroud (Paperback - 28 Oct. 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews