Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a class of its own, brilliant.
I am bound to cause controversy when I claim that this series is better than Harry Potter; better than the Northern Lights trilogy; better than Abhorsen; better by far than a whole host of similar genre novels - all of which I have thoroughly enjoyed, but I haven't enjoyed anything quite as much as this unputdownable series from Irish author, Michael Scott. You won't find...
Published on 22 Jun 2009 by S. Barnes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but reliant on the whole series
Although it's not a new thing, I have noticed an increase lately in series of books of which any one in that series needs what went before and what comes after - meaning in short, no one book truly works as a standalone, and this is a problem with this book, The Magician. There's no real intro, it carries on from previous events from the previous book, and the ending is...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. J. M. Haines


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a class of its own, brilliant., 22 Jun 2009
By 
S. Barnes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am bound to cause controversy when I claim that this series is better than Harry Potter; better than the Northern Lights trilogy; better than Abhorsen; better by far than a whole host of similar genre novels - all of which I have thoroughly enjoyed, but I haven't enjoyed anything quite as much as this unputdownable series from Irish author, Michael Scott. You won't find even the smallest amount of space-filling or extraneous writing here - it is all fantastic. And, no, I don't know the author, I don't work for the publishing house, I just really love these books and would like to see the author receive the recognition he deserves. He's right up there with J. K. Rowling, with Philip Pullman, Stephenie Meyer and a whole host of other world class fantasy writers in my opinion.

Josh and Sophie Newman, twins, ordinary American teenagers until their latent magical powers were recently recognised by six-hundred-year old Nicholas and Perenelle Flamel; these two are absolutely vital in the quest to save civilisation and prevent the Dark Elders from seizing ultimate power and destroying vast swathes of the world and its inhabitants. Josh and Sophie are the world's last and only hope.

'The Magician' is book two of the series, following on from 'The Alchemyst'. The Codex is the key - the ancient book of Abraham the Mage - Nicholas and Perenelle need the book to enable them to keep renewing their spell of immortality but the book has already been snatched from their grasp by Dr. John Dee, working on behalf of his dark masters, some of the most powerful Dark Elders in the universe. However, Nicholas and the twins managed to hold onto the last two pages and these are vital to unlocking the secrets of the book and the Dark Elders cannot act without them. Sophie's magical powers have been awakened but Nicholas now hopes to find a way to have Josh's powers awakened too. These two, he is convinced, are the twins of legend; twins with auras of gold and silver which together makes them pretty nigh invincible. This brother and sister, it is written in the ancient Codex, will have the power to either save or destroy the world, but they are new to this underworld of magic, their powers are yet young and they will need to be trained in the elemental magics and learn a lot very quickly. Can Nicholas and the extremely ancient (yet still youthful) vampire warrior Scatty teach them enough to protect themselves? Not only are they fighting against the magic of the powerful Dee, but now sly and cunning Niccolo Machiavelli has combined forces to capture the missing last pages of the Codex. Will it be too little too late for Perenelle who has been captured and is held prisoner by magical beasts on the island of Alcatraz? Will Josh and Sophie put their trust in Nicholas, or will his limited revelations and his lack of openness lead the twins to question their faith in the ancient Parisienne?

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. Start with 'The Alchemyst'. For ages 11+ but can be enjoyed by all ages. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Magician - Review by Seamus McDonnell-For people who want to be on the edge of their seats the whole time., 5 Jan 2009
By 
G. Ashworth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this book a lot. I hadn't read the previous book but I liked this one so much that I went out and bought "The Alchemist". The reason I liked this book is because it had a very good storyline and was a great read. The book is about two children who have magical powers. It has its basis in Harry Potter but it is much better than that. The kids travel from California to Paris whilst being chased by the evil Dr Dee who wants something they have. Can they save the world from the clutches of evil or will they be killed in the process. A brilliant book involving fighting, mystery and a lot of magic. For people who want to be on the edge of their seats the whole time. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read - not just for kids!, 25 Jun 2008
By 
The Book Thief (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
I read this following on from "The Alchemyst" and really enjoyed it. It's very cleverly written and well researched - it is set in Paris with obvious effort being taken from Scott to accomplish an accurate novel. I also loved the historical snippets that were planted throughout - even down to names and identities of various Dark Elders and guardians. Suberbly done, with a nice feel to the book as I was reading - I really felt as if I was watching the progress of the pages in front of me. I cannot wait for the next one to come out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Great Series (So Far) Better than Narnia and Northern Lights. On Par with Harry Potter! 1st book was amazing, 2nd was better. I'm currently reading the 3rd and can't wait for the 4th to be out in May. Not the most heard of series but def one of the best. A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!, 1 Aug 2009
This is the second book in The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, like it's predecessor, The Alchemyst, it has a beautiful and eyecatching cover with symbols that hint to the story within.
The story picks up with the twins in Paris accompanied by Nick and Scatty, Perry is still being held captive by Dr John Dee and the clock is ticking. Sophie's powers have been awakened by Hekate, she has been taught the elemental magic of air by the Witch of Endor and now they are on their way to meet the Comte de Saint Germain, a master of fire magic and his wife, Joan of Arc, who posesses a silver aura, just like Sophie and who will help Sophie get more control of her aura. Their plan is interrupted by the emergence of Dr Dee, Niccolo Machiavelli and his driver Dagon, along with their hired hands the Valkyries and the Nidhogg, the ensuing battle ends with Scatty being dragged into the Seine by Dagon, presumed drowned by Josh and Sophie.
Josh is coerced into going with Dr Dee to have his powers awakened by Mars Ultor, Nick and Sophie follow them down into the catacombs of Paris but arrive too late to prevent it, a running battle is fought along the rooftops of Paris and onto Notre Dame where legions of gargoyles are activated and sent into the fray by Dr Dee and Machiavelli.
It's fast paced, beautifully described and heavy on action, but not at the cost of developing the major characters, nor at the cost of introducing the new ones, it was a very satifying read and finished on a cliffhanger note, ready for the next in the series, The Sorceress to pick up the pace on it's release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical stuff, 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magician: Book 2 (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel) (Paperback)
The second book in the wonderful series "The Secrets Of The Immortal Nicholas Flamel", is every bit as good as the first, if not better.

Action packed and adrenaline fuelled, this book has more than enough energy to satisfy the hungriest of appetites. From the off, the pace is set and it doesn't relent. Michael Scott introduces some new characters / creatures to great effect. The imagery he creates is fabulous. Paris is described beautifully, but will make you think twice about touring the sewers!

I'm a 34 year old father and I love authors such as Matthew Reilly, Andy McDermott and James Rollins. For entertainment, this series of books is right up there with these guys, and I can't wait for my daughter to be old enough to appreciate these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Magician, 12 Aug 2008
By 
J. Smith (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book, the second in the series, is one of the best books I have read. The author clearly knows the streets of Paris well enough to write about them in detail as the plot unfolds across the city. What is of particular interest is the skill that Scott has of linking fact with fiction, reality with legend until they are so intertwined that the reader is in total awe.

In addition, the suspense that is created throughout the book is brilliantly worked. I struggled to put the novel down and must have finished it in record time! I recommend this wholeheartedly, but only to those that have read 'The Alchemyst' first.The Magician
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars m scott series great read a must have!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this series of books is grteat for both children an adults alike. better than potter,an a film maybe in the making. magic,suspense,witches, magicians the lots in these books. m scott uses history too using real places. two children one silver an one of gold, one to save the world, one to end it. its a carnt put down sort of read. all i can say is buy it, or yr missing out on some really good reading material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read with lots of magic
ideal to fill the hole left by Harry potter and has some good historical info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magically engrossed me, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't tear my eyes away, loved the references to historical myths and legends. I desperately need to read the entire series. I'd recommend it to anyone fascinated with any kind of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magician: Book 2 (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews