Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave
Bali Rai is a brave writer, unafraid to tackle head-on issues that damage the Sikh community. Here he looks at the so-called 'honour killings' that are scandalously becoming more frequent in Britain. When Jas disappears having 'run off with a Muslim' her family immediately disown her. Only her rebellious brother Sat thinks to question the improbable reason her husband's...
Published on 19 Jun 2011 by H.P.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
I bought this book thinking to find out more about the so called 'honour killings'.
I think this book was written for teenagers as there was a lot of 'filler' about clubs and ipads etc.
I have read better books albeit with an adult audience in mind.
Published 16 months ago by elldeetee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave, 19 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Killing Honour (Paperback)
Bali Rai is a brave writer, unafraid to tackle head-on issues that damage the Sikh community. Here he looks at the so-called 'honour killings' that are scandalously becoming more frequent in Britain. When Jas disappears having 'run off with a Muslim' her family immediately disown her. Only her rebellious brother Sat thinks to question the improbable reason her husband's family gives. Sat knows Jas would never do that and would certainly never use the racy language contained in the emails produced as 'proof'. He determines to find her - he can't rest until he does. This leads him into serious trouble. Jas's husband Taz is a loathesome character as is his brother Ricky. They are violent gangsters involved in (and taking) drugs. Killing Honour is basically a traditional crime novel with a twist. It's about ties that don't just bind they strangle and kill.It's about a brother sacrificing everything to find his sister. Its fast paced, edgy style means it has wide appeal but the anger-driven heart of the story has cultural repercussions. I hope it gets the attention it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars honour, 12 Jun 2011
This review is from: Killing Honour (Paperback)
KILLING HONOUR by Bali Rai, (Corgi 2011)

When beautiful, dutiful Jas disappears, her schoolboy brother Sat is alarmed. He can't believe Jas would shame her Sikh family by cheating on her husband Taswinder. But everyone else is taken in by Taswinder's lies.
Searching for clues, Jas is led into Taswinder's corrupt world. Not only is he beaten up, but the rest of his family is threatened with danger. Should he remain quiet and safe, or expose the sinister villains and risk violent death. This disturbing fastmoving novel looks at honour killings in the British Asian community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from Bali Rai, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing Honour (Paperback)
Hopefully there are aren't many young people living in Britain today who will encounter the horrific situation that confronts Sat Koonar, however there are a great many British Asian teenagers who will understand the Koonar family and their attitude to the community, family and honour.

Sat just cannot believe that his gentle sister would bring shame and misery onto her family by having an affair and running away from her new husband to be with a Muslim lover. Where has she gone? Why has nobody heard from her? When he finds out that another woman who married into the same family also disappeared in similar circumstances he becomes even more convinced that Jas has met an unpleasant end. Knowing is one thing, proving it is something else altogether, and searching for proof turns out to be a very dangerous venture. Domestic violence happens in all sections of our society. Jas's disappearance, and presumed murder, has nothing to do with `honour'. Her thug of a husband just wanted her out of the way.

Bali Rai's books are not just for British Asian teenagers. These brilliant books are read and enjoyed by legions of readers from all backgrounds all over the country, but since there are Sikh pupils in our schools - isn't it great to see a book with a Sikh boy as the main character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Sad, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing Honour (Paperback)
I read this book as a British born Punjabi Parent. A Father to a daughter.

As i continued to read page after page i increasingly began to hope that something this awful would never happen to my own daughter.

But then i realised, if she ever found herself in a similar position then there would only be one person truly at fault.

ME.

As parents we must always put our children first and put their best interests before anything.

Look after your children.

Well Done Bali.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: Killing Honour (Paperback)
I absolutely enjoying reading this book. It keeps you interested and guessing as to what may have happened to the character's sister. I read this book in a space of a couple of hours. A definite must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So close to home....., 12 Dec 2011
By 
Mrsb Poonian - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killing Honour (Paperback)
Prompt delivery
Story so close to home. So much goes on in our community this book has hit the nail on the head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honour before your children???, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing Honour (Kindle Edition)
I loved the way Bali used his own life experiences in this book.. I couldn't put it down and I feel like I will miss Sat. As a youth worker I had some experience in young girls asking for help to avoid trips to Pakistan or India and arranged marriages they were afraid of. To grow up a British Asian in this country must be so hard when you are Westernised at school and with friends but then be expected to slip back into Asian life at home.
Well done Bali an excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good book, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing Honour (Paperback)
It's a Very good read. Once you start reading the book you can not stop until you reach the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing Honour (Paperback)
I have been reading Bali Rai books from a young age, i am always excited to see what he has up his sleeve, i would reccomend this book to any fan of his writting, it keeps you wanting to read on, found it hard to put this book down, have past it on to a number of friends and they all agree...keep up the great work Bali.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars killing honour., 5 Aug 2013
This review is from: Killing Honour (Paperback)
I have always been a huge fan of Bali Rai from reading his earlier books such as "Unarranged Marriage" and "Rani and Sukh", So I was excited to try "Killing Honour" after reading it my final verdict was that I had not enjoyed it as much as his previous books. That doesn't mean that I didn't like it I just felt that at times it was just dragging a bit. There are few moments which where outstanding and well written especially in Jas's shoe's but they where short and over within a few words. I think I would definitely have preferred the book if it was written in Jas's position and not the guys. As I found him very dull and uninteresting hence the reason I call him the guy as I have forgotten his name.....Not one of Bali's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killing Honour
Killing Honour by Bali Rai (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews