Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Achingly sad
This book really touched me.

Sylvie is a 13 year old girl with few friends. Her best friend in all the world is boy next door Carl. They've been best friends since they were tiny. But now Carl is at a different school and both are struggling. Their friendship is being tested by all sorts of new problems - not least love. Sylvie has always thought that she and...
Published on 9 Oct 2007 by Jackie Wadsworth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars KISS
I loved reading this book because I got to investigate the life of Carl and Sylvie which was interesting to discover and also look into.
Published 19 months ago by Jennifer mwete


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Achingly sad, 9 Oct 2007
By 
Jackie Wadsworth (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss (Hardcover)
This book really touched me.

Sylvie is a 13 year old girl with few friends. Her best friend in all the world is boy next door Carl. They've been best friends since they were tiny. But now Carl is at a different school and both are struggling. Their friendship is being tested by all sorts of new problems - not least love. Sylvie has always thought that she and Carl would marry, but all of a sudden, things aren't so simple. Carl is acting strange, and won't talk to her.

Both are in love - but it's not the right sort of love for Sylvie.

I actually cried while reading this book, it was heartbreaking, I wanted to hold both characters and make it all better for them. I don't want to give any endings away, because it was totally unexpected. Very sensitively handled too - you'll see what I mean when you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Teen Fiction, 7 Oct 2007
By 
LE Dewick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss (Hardcover)
The great thing about studying for teacher training is that I get to read children's books and not feel guilty. So, being a hard core Jacqueline Wilson fan, I jumped at the chance to read her latest book, Kiss, as part of my course research. Let me make this plain from the start - this one is most definitely for 13 year olds and over. While many of Jacky's books for 'older readers' (such as Lola Rose and Love Lessons) could be quite happily and acceptably read by 11 year olds and over, Ms Wilson takes a more definite teenage stance in this novel. The themes of sexuality and more outrageous teen behaviour have been explored in several of her books before, but these have always been with a moral undertone. In the 'Girls in Love' series, for example, her trio of heroines encountered these elements several times, but always explicitly learned from their experiences. Not so with Kiss, which for once takes a surprisingly amoral and distanced approach to these issues. In some ways, this book's main theme, homosexuality (or same-sex crush, to be more accurate in the case of Kiss) takes a slightly overwhelming precedent, which is unusual for Wilson who has a brilliant gift of weaving several issues together without ever complicating things. In consequence of this, the other themes the book brings forward (underage sex and underage drinking) seem surprisingly and uncharacteristically vapid, occurring almost as cheeky asides to hold the reader's attention before we get back to the main element. One almost dares to wonder whether the popularity of cult teen shows such as Skins and Sugar Rush has caused Wilson to 'up her game' in the 'naughty behaviour' stakes. Aside from this, we are presented with a trio of highly likable and believable main characters, from the introverted, misunderstood Sylvie, to artistic pretty-boy Carl and finally to the cheeky, irrepressible Miranda who has become my favourite Wilson character of recent times. Kudos should also go to Wilson for making a plump girl sexy and popular - while her past books have generally only portrayed slim or skinny girls as being attractive and charismatic (Magda, Jasmine, Rochelle) Jacky does her bit for those 'carrying a little bit of weight girls' with the curvaceous, plumptious Miranda, the pin-up of Year 9. It should be noted as well that, unlike her other books, Kiss does have a fair spattering of coarse language. A funny, saucy and moving read for 13 year olds and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss, 19 Sep 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Kiss (Hardcover)
This is the best book i have ever read and it is great for people my age(which is 12). It was a tad rude at times but you get used to it as you go through the book. I would definately reccommend it to anyone who likes a laugh and a cry at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST BOOK SHE HAS EVER DONE., 22 Jan 2008
This review is from: Kiss (Hardcover)
I Love This Book To Bits, When I First Started Reading It I Couldn't But The Book Down, I Often Stayed Up Late To Read It. This Is Deffintly One Of My Favourite Books. I Have Read This Book 4 Times Already, I Love It That Much, If You Buy It You Will Not Regret It. The Story Is Fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The heartbreak of first love, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Lolly (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss (Hardcover)
Sylvie and Carl have been friends and neighbours since they were tiny children. They both went to the same school but recently Carl has gone to a grammar school. The two of them remain close and see each other daily. Carl is artistic, and has a hobby collecting glass. Sylvie's friendship for Carl has developed into love and she is convinced they will eventually marry. Life isn't so simple and this book goes into the heartache they both suffer because of first love.

Brilliant book and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 17 Oct 2007
By 
Elizabeth (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss (Hardcover)
I've always loved Jaqueline Wilson books and liked this story quite a lot. 'Kiss' is well worth reading. I don't think it's for everyone, especially anyone who doesn't know, like or approve of gay people in real life. One of my friends is gay so the book made a lot of sense and the emotional description reminded me of when he first told me in Year 7. Jacqueline Wilson always has a remarkable ability to capture the magical moment, and no-where better than when the friends visit an exhibition of glass sculptures by Chihuly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good book, 15 Feb 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Kiss (Paperback)
read this book in 2 days really good book recomend 4 anay1 over 11
i read it when i was 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss (Kindle Edition)
Amaxing book i really enjoyed if u r a Jacqueline Wilson fan then u should rwad this book its wonderful x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sad, True and DEFINITELY Not For Young Readers, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Kiss (Paperback)
My daughters review:

I decided to re-read my childhood collection of Jacqueline Wilson books and this was my latest read. However, I've realised that maybe this book shouldn't have been in my childhood collection, as it was very mature. However, thats how I like them!

'Kiss' is a story for older fans of Jacqueline Wilson. It's based on the character of Sylvie who is going through that awkward stage of growing up. She has no breasts, she's not started her period and she has never been kissed. And to top it all off, her dad left her a few years ago so her mum is lonely and constantly wondering where she is going to end up. One thing that she has always had to help her through the tough times, one thing stable is her relationship with next door neighbour Carl. He has been her best friend since they were little and the two of them bonded even more so over his love for glass and a small story they are working on together about a fantasy place called Glassworld. The story takes place in the middle of the awkward stage of growing up. Sylvie and Carl are both at different schools now and although they are close, Sylvie cannot help but feel distant from Carl. She feels as if he is a different person. Sylvie starts a mediocre friendship with a girl called, Lucy, at her school, however Carl fails to take a liking to Lucy and even Sylvie seems to be unsure of whether she likes her or not, so she soon branches out. She meets super-cool and extremely popular, Miranda. A very well matured girl who loves her and boys, and the two become best friends. However, after a few scary drama-filled night, Sylvie finds herself confused whether Carl loves her or Miranda. But how will she take it when she finds out the truth of Carl's love life? After being put in the position and having mixed messages from Carl, she has been constantly confused about whether or not she is attractive and what is the problem with her. Is it her looks? No, of course not. It's one thing and one thing only...Carl.

Jacqueline Wilson holds some pretty graphic topics in this book. Growing up, I never really understood the book that much. I knew the ins and outs and got most of it, but a few bits were a little dazzling to my innocent mind. However, I have now fully understood the overall gathering of this book. Jacqueline successfully portrays what it's like to be a teenage girl whose living in a poor broken home and being bullied by everyone else. She is also amazing at present the stresses of growing up and growing boobs and how everything is rushed and glamorised so much that all you want is that thing. However, another subject she touches on remarkably is the idea of having a guy not like you back because of his own sexuality. She manages to subtly do it on the basis of Carl not being the main character, however she is still successful on making sure that the overall story is shone through. Bullying, self harm, cheating parents, anorexia and drinking are other topics that Jacqueline presents in this book. However, they are not so overwhelming so you are still constantly thinking of the rest of the story and processing every single thought.

The character build was remarkable and was able for you to create opinions and views of each character without feeling like you're mucking up the story. Jacqueline has very bold characters in this book. Sylvie, the quiet girl who longs to be seen as more then a Twitch. Miranda, a bold new friend of Sylvie's who is loud and proud, someone who adores herself, however she appears to have some dark secrets. Lucy, a calm and goody-goody, however Jacqueline has made her seem as if she is someone who wishes she could be like everyone else to. Carl, the golden boy who isn't so golden in the end. Although he does nothing wrong, you feel frustrated that Sylvie cannot love him. Jake, the gothic guy who just wants to be different, however he has a compassionate side himself. There are other characters to, and Jacqueline has created them all so perfectly.

Overall, such a relatable book. However I would say it's definitely not one for the younger readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: Kiss (Kindle Edition)
Represents bullying differences. A must read though I would not let anyone who should not see rude words read this book. Heart-warming and one if the best books I have ever red

Well Done Jacqueline!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss
Kiss by Jacqueline Wilson (Paperback - 5 Jun 2008)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews