Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for your first Paul Stewart read, 25 July 2004
This was the first Paul Stewart book that I read, and I loved it! It the type of book you can fully enjoy without having read the previous Edge Chronicles. The book follows the story of one, Rook Brakwater, who desires to be a librarian knight. The book's detailed description and imagination make this a wonderful read. It combines a powerful display of friendship, bravery and loyalty. The genre can be one of fantasy, adventure or even action and science fiction. Very recommended to all ages, mind, its one of those books you need to read twice to fully appreciate the art of its literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last of The Sky Pirates-Best yet, 2 May 2004
By A Customer
The Last of The Sky Pirates is by far the best in the series yet, it's got more action, more twists than the last three and more characters. Chris Riddel is really put to the test this time, making up new character faces, the Stormhornet and the shrykes are just how you would imagine them if their were no pictures to guide you. Meeting Rook Barkwater is a treat in itself, he's much more timid than Twig at the beggining and much less sure of himself. He's rather like Cowlquape to begin with, but just like him he blossoms as the book goes on.
The new ideas of what could happen to the world in 50 years time is astonishing, New Sanctaphrax, the Rock Virus, Libarians coming back into power, The Most High Academe just being in the background, it's like a new world in itself!
I reccomened this book highly to anyone from 7-12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Of The Sky Pirates, 15 Feb 2004
By 
Martyn James (Storrington, England) - See all my reviews
I have read all of the Edge Chronicles and they are totaly amazing, all of them. But this is the best so far. I think there much better than the Harry Potter's because Harry potter is a bit phoney and boring, whereas these books continue the excitement all the way through the series, and you never no whats going to happen next. The best bits of this book is were Rook Barkwater comes across the Banderbear convoction and the Last Sky Pirate(well he follows a His friend Wumeru the Banderbear,)and finally the battle at the end where Rook and Twig and the band of Banderbears went to rescue Qualquape from the Tower of Night.
If you have a child of the age of 6+ I strongly recommend this book because of all the wonderfully drawn pictures and the brilliant story line.
Very well donr Paul Stewart and Chris Riddel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST EDGE CHRONICLE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 30 Sep 2002
WOW!!! I have just finished the Last of the Sky Pirates. It is simply Fantastic! without doubt the best book in the Edge Chronicles so far. Bravo, Paul & Chris. I highly reccomend this to anyone who has read the previous Edge Chronicles. (If you haven't, I reccomend reading them all in order of publication). Chris Riddell's illustrations fit into the Book perfectly once again, especially the pictures of places like Lake Landing or the Eastern Roost. And of course the story itself is enthralling. To summarise, the hero is Rook Barkwater, (name sound familiar?), who we follow from the sewers of Undertown to the Free Glades (the only place in the Edge to have changed for the better since "Midnight over Sanctaphrax") where he trains as a librarian knight, eventually leaving to study Banderbears, hoping to witness their mythical Great Convocation. One of the things I liked about this story is meeting old characters once again, like Tweezel (Yes the spindlebug from "Curse of the Gloamglozer") who, by my reckoning is about 260 here! He was old in Gloamglozer, just how long do spindlebugs live? And even better we meet Twig, now an old man, deep in the Deepwoods. In short this is just a wonderful, teriffic, fantastic book and deserves at least 100 stars rather than the paltry 5 star rating here. Thank Earth and Sky, and Paul Stewart, for The Last of the Sky Pirates!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 5 in this fantastic, wonderful series., 18 May 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I'm not in the target audience, being 58 years old, but I LOVED this book!
Mr.Stewart's fertile imagination has created the strange natural laws that govern this land, producing some weird effects and the extraordinary creatures that Mr.Riddell's art gives life to. The stories can be read and re-read with no diminishing of their power to entertain and enthrall and this addition has the same deliciously dark detailed drawings and inventive imagery as the previous 4 - but even better.
Rook Barkwater is a lowly, timid under-librarian who unexpectedly escapes the boredom and gloom of the library sewers to explore the deepwoods, on a quest for the cure for the pervasive stone-sickness which has all but destroyed New Sanctaphrax. After much searching and many encounters with strange (and fondly-remembered) creatures, he finally finds Twig - the last of the Sky Pirates - and sets off on the adventure of his life.
The inventiveness of the plot, cliffhangers at every chapter, fantastically imagined creatures (and people!) with delicious names, and brilliantly executed drawings on every other page, combine to make an addictive page-turner that delights young and old alike. The chapters are just long/short enough to hold a child's attention (and mine!) at bedtime, without risking sleep/boredom.
The series shows no signs of running out of steam - they are destined to become world classics!
*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sequel to Midnight Over Sanctaphrax, 10 Aug 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
When I finished book 4, "The Curse of the Gloamglozer", I realized that the stage had been set for an incredible book 5. Thankfully, the books in this series come out much more quickly than the ones from J. K. Rowling , so I didn't have long to wait for "The Last of the Sky Pirates", the best in the series so far.
Set fifty years after "Midnight Over Sanctaphrax" (book 3), it doesn't continue from book 4, the first chronologically in the series, which sounds awfully confusing, but actually isn't. The Edge is a totally different place, with the mighty sky ships unable to fly, and New Sanctaphrax barely teetering on wooden supports after the dreaded stone sickness destroys the buoyant floating rocks. The Librarian Academics have been driven underground into the sewers, where they have constructed a vast library of scientific studies, and are forced to send worthy young scholars on covert and perilous missions for training, before they complete their life's quest by studying and documenting their chosen field of nature study.
In this book we follow the trail of young Rook Barkwater, a clever young under-librarian who is destined to become a Librarian Knight, doing research on the secret gatherings of banderbears, to whom he feels an unexplainable connection. His mission is dangerous and exciting, filled with wonderfully named, described and illustrated creatures that would otherwise defy the imagination.
During his thrilling adventures, he meets Captain Twig, who was thought to have perished with his crew in book 3, and begins a whole new adventure to rescue Twig's friend Cowlquape from the prisons of the Most High Guardian of Night, the villainous scoundrel of this episode.
Just as dark as the other books, but with a lot more action and adventure, I recommend this one heartily to fans of the series, but would advise newcomers to read at least books 1 to 3 first.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Last Of The Sky Pirates, 11 Sep 2005
Rook Barkwater is an under-librarian, he matters to no one, until the announcement ceremony.
Paul Stewart has created a completely different world by writing the 'Edge Chronicles'. It is one of my favourite books and read the whole series.
This book is focused on Rook Barkwater who, when announced, is destined to set out two the Free Glades to help save the slaves of Undertown. He sets out with to other librarians, and together, they travel in disguise through the Eastern roost which is controlled by vicious blue birds called Shrykes. There he meets Deadbolt Vulpoon, a sky pirate captain. There used to be great floating rocks that made ships buoyant so that the sky ships could fly. But they were struck by stone-sickness which makes them sink. Once hearing Vulpoons tales, Rook dreams of flying on a sky ship.
When they reach the Free Glades Rook builds his own small sky craft out of wood, varnishes it with special varnish to make it buoyant and learns to fly it. He then sets out to find out about banderbears, huge bears who look ferocious but are gentler than a new born lamb. There he finds the most famous sky captain of all, Twig. Together they rescue Twigs oldest friend, Cowlcape, from the sinister Tower of Night.
I would recommend this book to anyone aged 10-15. It is fabulously illustrated and amazingly written. It's fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!!, 31 Oct 2003
By 
mattboy (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
This book is amazing, but one question. What is the order of the edge chronicles? I know it is 1. Beyond the Deepwoods, 2. Stormchaaser, 3. Midnight over Sanctaphrax, 4. The curse of the Gloamglozer... Readers, Please help me!!!!! Send me the list of the books!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THe last of the Sky Pirates, 21 July 2005
By 
Ali 0723 (My house,Walberton) - See all my reviews
THe last of the sky pirates is a brilliant book included in the set of the Edge Chronicles!
Rook Barkwater is a young under-librarian who live with the banished Scholars of Light. The young dreamer wants to become a lead Sky Scholar with the Professors of Light and Darkness.Its the darkest of times the folk of the edge have seen since the gloamglozer roamed. Screetown is destroyed and no longer in use. New undertown has been built in the saftey of the free glades whilest old undertown is becoming more like screetown each day. When the time comes for the scholars of light to send three more of their bravest academics to get a full scholarship in the free glades it sound fairly easy, but when the evil shykes(ruthless bird creatures) are in control of the great mire road the only one that can take people across the deadly mire. Its bound to be another great adventure. Overall a great read!!!!!!
Have fun Ali 0723
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 8 Dec 2007
By 
M. Mccrystall "Irish guy" (Éire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Edge Chronicles 7: The Last of the Sky Pirates: First Book of Rook (Paperback)
This book is one of them books that I have read many times, and will continue read many times again. It follows Rook from the sewers of Undertown, up the great mire road, through the twilight woods and the long journey through the deepwoods. I would highly reccomend this book, and if you have especially enjoyed this book, then you should read Vox and Freeglader as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Edge Chronicles 7: The Last of the Sky Pirates: First Book of Rook
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews