Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book
Review from Noah Shulman-Miller (age 11)

This exciting yet depressing story is all about a 13 year old boy called Cameron who has heart disease, and he and other people need to act fast or he might not live much longer.

I thought that it was a really exciting book. I also thought and felt really depressed for Cameron. Even if it wasn’t a real...
Published 9 months ago by Larry Shulman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm
Pig heart boy is very interesting because it isn't my sort of but I suppose it it ok but I like love drama stories more but you can read it if u want I would say it's but yeh
Published 3 months ago by Sophie Hannah Brown


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 1 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Pig-Heart Boy (Paperback)
Review from Noah Shulman-Miller (age 11)

This exciting yet depressing story is all about a 13 year old boy called Cameron who has heart disease, and he and other people need to act fast or he might not live much longer.

I thought that it was a really exciting book. I also thought and felt really depressed for Cameron. Even if it wasn’t a real story, it felt really realistic to me because Cameron needing a transplant is a realistic thing that happens a lot, and I strongly recommend this book because it’s a really sad and moving story and you don’t know which way it’s going to go. It kept me glued to the book because I really wanted to know what would happen next, and because of that I genuinely wanted to read on.

I’m giving this book five stars because it had everything; it was exciting, thrilling, it wanted you to want to know and not just want to know once but want to know all the time what’s going to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Discusses the pros and cons of animal organ transplants without sugar coating it, 4 July 2007
This review is from: Pig-Heart Boy (Paperback)
Cameron has a credible voice, helped by the use of the first person and Blackman perfectly captures the envy he feels for his healthy friends. Cameron knows that there's little chance of a donor becoming available to replace his heart so when his father tells him that he's contacted Dr Bryce, a former heart surgeon who's currently working on engineering pigs for organ donation, you understand why Cameron wants to go for it. Cameron's parents voice the pros and cons of such an experimental operation but Blackman also shows how Cameron's condition has taken a toll on the parents' marriage.

Blackman gets across the science of using animal organs for human donation and sets up the ethical issues. She doesn't shy away from the actions of animal rights extremists and she uses the hyperbole of the media reaction to feed into those attitudes. My favourite scenes in the book are those between Cameron and Julie after the operation where Blackman highlights the changes in both characters as a result of the procedure.

I was less convinced by the relationship between Marlon and Cameron, mainly because I didn't quite buy into Cameron's willingness to forgive Marlon's actions (no matter how understandable those were) - but again, it's a good way of showing how the procedure changed things for Cameron, things that he wasn't really prepared for.

Blackman's decision not to sugar coat her book extends to the ending - she leaves it pretty open and yet the reader is in no doubt as to what Cameron's fate will be.

The scenes with the grandmother didn't work for me and seemed far too artificial a device for what Blackman wanted to achieve and I wasn't wild about the baby element, but it did give Blackman the chance to have Cameron monologue his inner-feelings about events, which worked for me in terms of fleshing out his character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great idea, grippingly told, 19 Jan. 2003
By 
Amanda Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Cameron is a boy who loves sport, but a virus has left his heart weak. Increasingly unable to do the things he loves, and with a new baby in the family on the way, he must have a heart transplant. No human donor is available, so he has the choice of having a ground-breaking operation: a pig's heart will replace his own. It may sound weirdly like something out of Snow White, but the operation works, at first, and suddenly he's able to live a normal life again.
Then his best friend's father tells a newspaper, and Cameron has the horror of living with tabloid journalists calling him Pig Heart Boy. How a brave but normal kid copes with this, the possibility of dying and losing his best friend Marlon is described in very readable, fast-paced prose.
My 10 year old daughter read this recently as a class text. It's a terrifically good book, and one of the things we both like about it is that it describes the life of a black family without any of the usual politically correct stuff you so often get. Cameron is just a kid, one whom you get to know and care about a lot. In a quiet way, Blackman is a real revolutionary for insisting on this.
I also thoroughly recommend Blackman's 'Noughts & Crosses' for older readers of 12+ as a brilliant SF novel about a world in which black people rule and white people are the underdogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pig-Heart Boy (Kindle Edition)
Blackman has written about a delicate topic with skill and sensitivity. The story is told from the point of view of a teenage boy who will die unless he agrees to have a ground-breaking operation to give him a new heart from a specially bred pig. Blackman explores many angles: the agony of the parents, the various reactions of the community and the boys friends, the invasive nature of the media, the interests of the doctors and scientists involved and the fears and hopes of the boy himself. The story is told simply and without excess emotion and although it touches on the issue of animal rights, it does not lean heavily on one side or another. The reader is left to make up his or her own mind. It is open ended, which left me a little dissatisfied, but I understand the reasons for this and feel it could not have ended any other way. I read it to check its suitability before recommending it to my granddaughter who is 11 and very mature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerisingly Good, 23 Sept. 2014
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pig-Heart Boy (Paperback)
A mesmerisingly powerful book about the difficult choices a boy and his family have to make. Cameron is 14. His heart is giving out. He has less than a year to live. There are no human donors available. His only choice at life is to agree to a genetically modified pig heart being transplanted into him. What will it mean for him?

This book is utterly absorbing. Cameron's voice is authentic and emotionally compelling. You are totally drawn into his world and what he and his family are going through. Despite being a book for children the author does not shy away from difficult questions and ideas and the book will stay with you long after you have read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pulsing with life, 16 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Pig-Heart Boy (Paperback)
Delicately addressing matters such as disability, death, peer pressure, self-esteem and the school/family balance, `Pig Heart Boy' is a very real and very tidy book. The novel cleverly describes Cameron Kelsey's heart-problems that lead him onto opting in for heart transplant surgery, where his own failing heart will be replaced with that of a genetically modified one from a pig. As a result of this major surgery, the young boy's life is dramatically changed, not only including a tough recovery, but upsets with friends and family and relentless media and protest bombardment.

This book is a good example of Malorie Blackman's pure-novel work and has similar themes that make it clear it is from the same author as `Cloudbusting'. Friendships are never clear-cut, and describe falling out and disputes that cut close to the bone.

There is great potential for cross-curricular work in Science (investigating the heart and how real life surgery would be) and PSHE (why Cameron felt as he did and similar experiences felt by pupils). This is a high calibre read for Year 5 and 6 and can no doubt be thoroughly enjoyed by any age onwards, but also meets sometimes taboo subjects head on. The only issue I feel is necessary to point out is that ethical and moral beliefs may cause some readers to take offence; the clearest area for debate is the manner which the author's own views on animal testing may influence a young reader to believe the same. Despite the sensitivity and great skill Malorie Blackman shows in discussing this, it is perhaps a subject that will never be welcomed by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, must read!, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pig-Heart Boy (Kindle Edition)
This book is about a 14 years old boy, who has made the decision to have a heart transplant from a pig. It is in his point of view and really makes you look at life,and what you would do if you had to go through it. I think, while others think that the ending was to much of a cliff hanger,that is was perfect. It put you in the mind of Cameron because, like him, we do not no what happened,which makes is seem more realistic. This book did make me cry, because of the story line, but also how well it was written. Defiantly read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cameron needs a heart but theres no human hearts just a pigs, 8 May 2000
By A Customer
What i liked about this novel was everytime something happened you knew what people were thinking about it and what there expressions were and how they felt. I liked these things in the story because it makes the story all more iesier to understand and makes it feel like your there and its really happening like your apart of it as it unfolds around youas you read it.
What I disliked about this novel was that it did not last as long as it should had because I found it was far to intersting to put down.
When the ending came I wanted to read it again but I of wanted the novel to carry on. I enjoyed this book a lot and hope that there will be a Pig Heart Boy 2 coming out soon so I no what happened after the first novel left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 28 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pig-Heart Boy (Kindle Edition)
I love this book because it shows true courage and has a really important message, to not give up. This book is inspirational and always has you on the edge of your seat, When I first started reading it I decided I wouldn't read it because I had lost interest to think that I was extremely mistaken! When I got to about the middle of the book I could not put it down! I would recommend this book to children aged 9-12 it is a masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Covering some ethical issues nicely, read about one boys heart transplant with a difference., 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pig-Heart Boy (Paperback)
Brilliantly written and tastefully covered, this is the story of a boy waiting to die, until an experimental treatment offers a chance to survive. Dealing eloquently with the ethical issues as well as covering the more technical side of transplants this is both educational and moving and easily digestible. Both my son and I were drawn in by the characters and gripped by the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pig-Heart Boy
Pig-Heart Boy by Malorie Blackman (Paperback - 5 Feb. 2004)
£5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews