Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
The Immortals is the final instalment in the Edge Chronicles, but it can be read as a stand alone book too. It's epic, packed with adventure, I love the creatures and monsters in it. Some bits are really tense and dark, and then there are moments are real humour to keep the reader guessing. The illustrations match the text perfectly and bring the world of the Edge to...
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by G. Lawe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but when compared to it's earlier books...
As a fan of the world of the Edge Chronicles and soon buying all books, I was excited for the last installment. With new characters I looked forward to entering this fantasy world one last time.
My first disappointment came aesthetically. Why is the front cover different from all the other books? This is the third time that they have changed the cover of the books (I...
Published on 7 July 2012 by J. Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Feb 2009
By 
G. Lawe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Immortals (Hardcover)
The Immortals is the final instalment in the Edge Chronicles, but it can be read as a stand alone book too. It's epic, packed with adventure, I love the creatures and monsters in it. Some bits are really tense and dark, and then there are moments are real humour to keep the reader guessing. The illustrations match the text perfectly and bring the world of the Edge to life. I love the way nothing is black and white in the story, there are real moral dilemmas which the characters must face and it gets you thinking about what you would do as the reader. I really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series - exhilarating and absorbing, 29 May 2010
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Edge Chronicles 10: The Immortals: The Book of Nate (Paperback)
I know what I like about the Edge Chronicles, and this has it in spades. The opening is depressing - bullying, casual violence and killing, but it quickly changes into an exhilarating escape and victory, with story elements that are built on throughout the volume. For 600 pages there are wonderful tales of exploration, with new cities(Riverrise, Hive, Great Glade, Midwood decks, thorn harbour, Old Undertown and Sanctaphrax), areas (the thorn tunnel and the cliff beyond the edge)new maps(all the towns, including the Woods in the proper scale, and from the side which shows the surroundings!), vehicles, races and sports, though less illustrations than you'd be used to. There are a small cast of characters which you go through tiredness, illness, war and victory with; the bad guys get their comeuppance swiftly and there are references back to the other books, even revealing links between all of them. It moves the saga onto a whole new level and leaves scope and locations for future adventures. The book is long but so varied and well paced it is a very satisfying and enjoyable read and for me the best of the entire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gave me the shivers!, 31 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Immortals (Hardcover)
This was absolutely brilliant.
I had not really read one of Paul Stewart and Chris Riddel's books in a long time, having started reading them when I was 9 and being quite a bit older now. Since that was the case I was a bit dubious about reading this one, I shouldn't have been, these guys deliver EVERY SINGLE TIME.
Having said that if you're thinking of reading these books they are far more for younger readers than young adults, but my older cousin has just started them and she's 18 and she thinks they're good.
But back to the book in hand. The images were as beautiful as ever (I will decorate my house with them, I will) and although some say you can read it as a stand alone book what is so great about this book is the ability to see the hints of the old books. The return of the three main characters of old is not the only thing. (woops, gave that away, but you could see that coming) there is also a new sport that appears hugely similar to the old game Twig played with the wood trolls and the best bit is when the Sanctaphrax most high academe flicks his toungue out (I shall say no more, but that was the point I shivered all over, and only if you have read the other books would you understand).
What really made me happy was having my question answered that I had asked about 7 years ago when I met the authors, and they said they'd answer it is the last book, each book come and nothing, so that I gave up hope, but they delivered just as they promised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying conclusion for existing fans, as well as a great introduction for new ones!, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Michelle Moore (Dartford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Immortals (Hardcover)
The Immortals (for those who don't know) is the 10th book in The Edge Chronicles, a series that has somehow passed me by so far. After finishing this book, however, that is about to change.. I've already started one of the earlier books! The Edge Chronicles are a fantasy series for older children, although it has many fans of all ages.

This book is being marketed as the final book in the series, but also as an epic stand alone read, ideal as an introduction for new readers. This was, I admit something I wasn't too sure about - was it really possible to step into a series at the end, and not be totally confused?

It turns out that it is completely possible, and the key to this seems to be that The Immortals is set some time into the future, with a rapidly developing world, and of course, new characters.

The world that has been created for this series is so well imagined, there are so many areas, with different ways of life, and many different creatures and characters - and yet not once did I get lost or confused. This is of course aided by the wonderful illustrations found throughout the book, especially the maps. It's a great example of how illustrations can add to and enhance a novel.

Moving on to the book itself, The Immortals tell the story of Nate Quarter, a lamplighter from the mines, as he travels from one end of The Edge to the other. It's a story of self discovery, set in the story of a changing world, complete with battles and revolutions. The main characters are well imagined, and well developed, to the point that I was sad to say goodbye as I finished the book.

For existing fans of the chronicles, The Immortals offers a new story, and new characters, whilst also wrapping up old stories, and bringing the series to a satisfying close. For new readers, it really is a good introduction - it's a great stand alone read, but also hints at past events, at a level just right to encourage you to go back and explore past stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Edge Chronicles 10: The Immortals: The Book of Nate (Paperback)
When this title landed I thought great as to be honest it gave me the chance to reread the previous novels by Stewart and Riddell to refamiliarize myself with the characters and places within the world. Its something I've been looking for an excuse to do for a little while and was something I was pleased I did as if you're new to the world you really won't get the full tale or references within.

The first thing I noted with this was how the authors had grown with their talents as they brought this the last tale in the series to date to the reader. Well written and a good solid adventure within this title really did live up to everything that I'd come to expect from these two after their previous novels. It was good fun, a much needed breath of fresh air and something of a guilty pleasure that allowed me to pig out on some serious young adult fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfactory-but i was expecting more..., 25 May 2009
This review is from: The Immortals (Hardcover)
And so the fantastic edge chronicles series draws to a close, ive been following the series from the beginning and have read each book about 2 or 3 times over. After seing the immortals i was shocked to see the new setting and characters, thinking it would be annoying having to get used to each character and relating to them all over again. I can safely say it wasnt as bad as i thought it would be, and the book is a satisfactory ending for edge veterans. But, its different... and could have been done better.

First off, the layout of the books is very different, instead of about 20 named chapters and roughly 400 odd pages, the book is very different, theres 101 chapters, about 650 pages, and some chapters are as short as half a page long. It seems annoying and too different at first, but you quickly get used to it. The book itself is bloody huge.

I'll say right now the industrial revolution esque setting is actually really refreshing and good. Its a edgeworld version of our industrial revolution. With muskets, pistols, steam ships, chainsaws, marines and other things. Despite the fact its breaking away from edge tradition, it adds a new lease of life to the story and is in fact very refreshing. As for the characters, i would have preffered the old ones, although that being said many old characters return, including ones you wouldnt expect or had forgotten. But the new characters are very relateabale, and have some emotional and fantastic background stories behind them, and you quickly come to like nates little band of friends.

As for the story, it follows that of nate quarter, a lowly lamplighter in the eastern mines of the deepwoods, as he embarks on a journey across the deepwoods and to the very edge itself. Across the 3 major cities of Great glade, Hive and Rivverise, each city is divided into its own section, but aside from hive they all feel a bit rushed and quickly churned out, yes, they're good. But more time could have been spent ironing it out.

Speaking as a edge chronicles veteran from the very beginning, this book is fantastic, but feels very rushed. Riddel is still on form with gorgeous illustrations and stewart continues to wow with his fantastic and vivid world. But as the last book, i was expecting more. But i would still easily reccomend this book to everyone and edge chronicles veterans like myself would still like it. It came to the point that as i finally put the book back on the shelf i felt very sad that about 7-8 years of reading history had come to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars aamzing ties up most things, 15 May 2009
By 
Alan Coote - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Immortals (Hardcover)
great ties up stonce sickness and where the floating city went(i cant spell its name) and where rook and twig went and what happend to the stone pilot and many other things but right at the end it gives a slight chance for another book with nate going over the edge to explore leaving you wanting to know if their is a bottom and what is down their, also i wouldl ike to know what is going to happen to the floating city and the stone gardens and old undertown now people i moving back their. but overall concludes very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: The Edge Chronicles 10: The Immortals: The Book of Nate (Paperback)
Very happy son
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Immense Satisfaction, 9 July 2014
This book cleverly mixes fiction and adventure to make one great book. The characters are inventive, and it has just the right amount of references to not distract you from the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indescribably Incredible., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set 500 years into the third age of flight, The Immortals is a epic book. Nate quarter, a young lamp lighter, runs away from his home. To make a long story short, Nate has an incredible adventure that leads him from the stilt shops in GREAT glade to old Sanctaphrax itself. With the friends he makes along the way, Nate learns the history of the edge all the way to the day s of Quint. This book is indescribably incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Edge Chronicles 10: The Immortals: The Book of Nate
The Edge Chronicles 10: The Immortals: The Book of Nate by Chris Riddell (Paperback - 28 Jan 2010)
£6.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews