Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Living it up with the dead
Johnny and his band of quirky pals are back in "Johnny and the Dead," the second book of Terry Pratchett's "Johnny Maxwell" trilogy. Pratchett was surer this time around, endowing this hilarious sequel with quirkier dialogue and stories, and snappier writing.
Johnny Maxwell sees dead people. (Yes, like the little boy in "Sixth Sense.")...
Published on 8 Jan 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead Good
Johnny is a down to earth young boy who likes hanging out with his friends after school. But his life takes a definite change in direction when he realises, to his horror, that he can see and talk with the dead. As a cold-hearted council planning department is looking to build on top of the cemetery, it seems that Johnny's new-found `gift' couldn't have come at a better...
Published on 16 Sep 2008 by G. Munday


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Living it up with the dead, 8 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell) (Paperback)
Johnny and his band of quirky pals are back in "Johnny and the Dead," the second book of Terry Pratchett's "Johnny Maxwell" trilogy. Pratchett was surer this time around, endowing this hilarious sequel with quirkier dialogue and stories, and snappier writing.
Johnny Maxwell sees dead people. (Yes, like the little boy in "Sixth Sense.") For whatever reason, he sees the dead in their graveyard -- not really ghosts, but not alive either: a crabby former soldier, a distant relative of Einstein, a sprightly suffragette who died in a freak mishap, and a staunch Communist who STILL doesn't believe in life after death. All in all, they are a fairly harmless bunch.
But a massive, mercenary, progress-obsessed corporation has just bought the graveyard for fivepence, and it will soon be razed for new construction. The only people more dismayed than the living inhabitants of Blackbury are the dead ones. So as the dead break their bonds to "unlive," Johnny and his friends will try to save the graveyard from... a fate worse than death?
Yes, it's the sort of bizarre, slightly twisted plot that only Terry Pratchett could cook up, and then pull off. And yes, the same could be said of "Only You Can Save Mankind." But by the time he wrote this -- pre-Discworld -- Pratchett had obviously grown into his skills.
In particular, the Big Message in this book is more subtle -- that money and progress aren't worth anything if they destroy the past. Despite that heavy moral, the handling of it is light and entertatining, such as when the dead Communist calls up a radio talk show host and speaks frankly about being "vertically challenged."
Despite half a dozen amusing dead people, the star of the piece is Johnny himself -- smart, quiet unless he has a reason to speak out, and inexplicably able to see the dead. He also plays straight man to the quirkier pals, like peculiar Wobbler, intellectual Yo-less, and perpetually hungry Bigmac. Although you'll need to have read "Mankind" to know who they are.
"Johnny and the Dead" is not just a sequel that surpasses the first book of this trilogy, but probably the best pre-Discworld work that Pratchett did. Funny, twisted and very well-done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett – Johnny and the Dead | Review, 21 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell) (Paperback)
Johnny and the Dead is, without a doubt, one of the finest short novels that I’ve ever read – Pratchett has this knack for characterisation, and whilst he’s more well-known for his Discworld series, you’d be a fool to pass up a chance to read one of the books in his Johnny Maxwell trilogy.

This particular novel tells the tale of young Johnny Maxwell, who finds out he can speak to the dead and ends up acting as their figurehead in a campaign to stop their cemetery from being destroyed. While it might sound morbid, Pratchett deals with a dark subject matter with his trademark sense of humour, and it’s a delight to see how the ghosts of the past interact with the (comparatively) present day. Pratchett released this back in the early nineties, but the world hasn’t changed much – saying that, I would’ve loved to have read about the ghosts’ first encounters with the internet. It was funny enough when they started calling radio shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing Trilogy, 7 April 2014
By 
Mr. Colin Mcelhatton (Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell) (Paperback)
Pratchett moves away from Disc World offering us life through the eyes of a young boy called Johnny. In these incredible tales which mix reality and fantasy, we get to experience yet another literary gem by an outstanding Author. If you love fantasy with a comedic twist, you will love the "Johnny" Trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny and The Dead, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell) (Paperback)
This book is brilliant. I have no trouble recommending it to anyone having trouble with accepting death or a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good book as are they all, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was very good thought provoking and funny. a very good story line with strong social issues great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Start to Terry Prachett, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Young (Lancashire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell) (Paperback)
I read this some years ago and this time I have bought it for my 10 year old granddaughter to go in her Christmas Stocking. As with all Pratchett books, it is well written and very funny which still have serious bits to think aout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell) (Paperback)
Great book. My favorite author. And the quality of the book is excellent, I could never tell it was used. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful read, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book was enchanting I loved it, and read it in one go,

I would love to have more of his adventures please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell) (Paperback)
Bought this as a Pratchett fan and when it arrived did worry that it was for younger readers, but loved it anyway. Then happened to let it out to my older brother and his wife that I had read it and surprise, surprise turns out they have read it and loved it also.
Great story with a wonderful twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny and the Dead: A Johnny Maxwell story, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell) (Paperback)
I bought this because I am an avid Terry Pratchett fan and whilst I own all of the Discworld novels I have now bought all of his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell)
Johnny and the Dead (Johnny Maxwell) by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 29 April 2004)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews