Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars41
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2016
The fact that I love this book so much probably does have something to do with the fact that I was about twelve years old, the same age as protagonist Johnny Maxwell, when I first read it. But I think it’s also a testament to Pratchett’s ability as a writer – as funny as his work is, I don’t remember physically laughing out loud at any of his books as much as I did to this one.

I love the Discworld, and I’m pretty sure I’ll have given a few books in the series a 10/10 as well, but I can honestly say that this is one of my two favourite Terry Pratchett books. Some of his other non-Discworld stuff is kind of questionable, but the Johnny Maxwell series was written at the height of his powers, and this is the finest book of the three in my opinion. You should read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Pratchett moves away from Disc World offering us life through the eyes of a young boy called Johnny. In these incredible tales which mix reality and fantasy, we get to experience yet another literary gem by an outstanding Author. If you love fantasy with a comedic twist, you will love the "Johnny" Trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
As well as a good story, well told, "Only You Can Save Mankind" is the best exploration of war, pacifism, xenophobia, racism and intolerance for children that I have ever met. It's deeply thought-provoking. UKIP must hate it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Even though this book was wrote for younger readers it still holds its own if your older with a fun plot and strong story it is a joy to read and has more relavance now than when it was first wrote. Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
This book
gives me mixed feelings including worried ,happy, and thinking people are being silly!
If you
like aliens, alligators
imagination and video games
this book is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
I am a long time Pratchett fan and bought this for someone called Johnny! It was very well received despite being a children's book. Always a good story from Terry Pratchett anyway, children or adult.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Terry was to my way of thinking improving with every novel he wrote - just look at Raising Steam and Dodger. What a real tragedy that he should be taken at his peak.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2011
A great little story meant for the younger reader but I enjoyed it as much as Terry's other Johnny series.
Arrived quick as usual and undamaged, well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
I bought this because I am an avid Terry Pratchett fan and whilst I own all of the Discworld novels I have now bought all of his other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
fantastic reading for both my 8 year and 11 year old boys ... they read it over and over again at bedtimes. Great for peaceful evenings :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse