Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
68
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2005
I really recommend this book. it is the second book in the unbeliveably fantastic Bromeliad trilogy. This book is probably suitable for readers aged 9 upwards, but adults will enjoy it too. The hero of this book Masklin (who is only 4 inches high)departs on a quest at the begining of the book with 2 other nomes. (Angalo and Gurder). Do not be confused if you cannot understand the ending of this book because by reading the 3rd, it will completely make sense of the ending.
This second book is about the nomes trying to find a new life in a quarry after fleeing in the first book from a Department store where they had lived under the floor boards. They are aliens from an advanced Planet but they don't know it.
In the quarry life is hard going because of lack of food and the annoyance of humans who they have to hide from.The heroine is Grimma who reads lots of books despite some of the nomes thinking girls brains overheat if they read a lot.
Some of the nomes who were born in the store have a strong belief in a God that was thought to have built the store (Arnold Bros est 1905).Others disagree and theres lots of arguments throughout the book.
This is a fantastic adventure book funny and witty and will make a great addition to your bookshelf.
You must read Truckers first though!

Stephen Cage age 11 . Harrogate.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
I bought it to give to a youngster fixated on Harry and Hobbits. I hope he finds his horizons broadened. Great reading ... but read all three. And not as difficult to relate to as the disc world books. I think it is an important introduction to the worlds of Terry Pratchett.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
I really enjoyed this book. I loved 'Truckers' and this was just as good. I thought the story was great and I didn't want to put it down. I thought that the characters were great fun, well written, interesting and larger than life. Terry Pratchett is a brilliant author and this a another great book an a fun series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
Diggers is one of Pratchett’s non-Discworld books, but that doesn’t mean that it isn’t worth reading. It is, in fact, the second book in the Bromeliad trilogy, and it follows “thousands of tiny nomes when they move into the ruined buildings of an abandoned quarry.”

It might not be as instantly memorable as some of his other work, but it still deserves a spot on your bookshelf because of the strong characterisation and stunning story line, as well as for the trademark wit that Pratchett left peppered throughout his work.

For me, Diggers was the best book in the series, although you’ll probably want to start with Truckers and end with Wings, to read the trilogy in order. I failed to do that, because I just picked them up as and when I saw them, and this was actually the last book that I read. It doesn’t really matter, though – they work just as well as standalones, for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
I would recomend that to anyone who want to relax and laugh a bit - funny and easy, interesting story - typical Terry Pratchett... nothing to do with disc worlds (which is my favourite, especially witches), but still good read :-D
Easily recommended to children and teenagers, thou not excluding adults ;-)
I would recommend it to read it as second book after rDiggers and before Wings, thou you can easily start from any but somehow story make more sense if you read it in from begging to the end (well.. if it is an end ;-))
I would as well recommend it to someone whose English is not first language to get to Terry Pratchett and get use to his writing style. Good way to improve your language skills :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
The nomes have fled the store and a starting to settle into the quarry but Humans will not leave them in peace for long. Pratchett captures the essence of human behaviour and distills it down into nomekind. Hilarious, thrilling and well written, the Bromeliad trilogy is a great read for adults and children alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
If you have ever read any Terry Pratchett books then this is one for you. The follow on from "Truckers" this carries the nome saga further along. This is a great book for the younger reader too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2001
This the second book of the Bromeliad trilogy (following Truckers and followed by Wings).
After escaping from the doomed Store of Arnold Bros (est. 1905), the nomes find refuge in a disused quarry. And although life's harder Outside than it was in the Store, after a while everything goes well... until they find out that the quarry is going to be reopened.
At the same time, they also learn that Grandson Richard, 39, an heir to the Arnold Bros (est. 1905) fortune, is going to Florida to watch the launch of his first telecom satellite. To Masklin it's an oportunity to send the Thing back into space where it could contact the Ship which will bring them back HOME. And so he sets out, with Gurder and Angalo, on a trip to the airport.
And as the rest of the nomes are waiting for them to come back, their food reserves are inexorably running out and the humans' presence is starting to be a real nuisance. Are they going to flee and hide or are they going to stand up to them?
As expected, Diggers is brilliant and extremely funny. And again, the confrontation between the nomes' and our view of the world is the source of many of the typically "Pratchettian" puns we've all come to love!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
A wonderful reflection on our society mastered into a great story. A delight for young and old. Filled with witty and thought provoking episodes.
I would recommend parents to read it with their children. It is a delightful way of teaching young children about the conflicts and developments in today's society and their root causes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Being a grown up does not mean you cannot read Terry Pratchetts series written for children. Reading Truckers, Carpet People is the best way to relax, These little people have to face the same troubles tribulations and triumphs as we big people do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse