Customer Reviews


234 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read!
emotional down to earth and fresh i love this book probably one of my fave Jacqueline Wilson's a must have if your into her books
Published 17 months ago by anyia deignan

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For older readers
I opened Lola Rose expecting a story based on domestic abuse, a lot to stomach for any adult, let alone primary school child. Half way through, the plot changed suddenly into a tale of breast cancer and the family fallout resulting from this. Wilson tells these stories well, but I worry about her younger fans getting hold of this book without having the maturity to deal...
Published on 4 April 2003


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read!, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lola Rose (Kindle Edition)
emotional down to earth and fresh i love this book probably one of my fave Jacqueline Wilson's a must have if your into her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lola rose, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lola Rose (Kindle Edition)
Amazing book ,I was totally unable to put this book down! Truly heartwarming! Lola rose was so brave through everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For older readers, 4 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lola Rose (Hardcover)
I opened Lola Rose expecting a story based on domestic abuse, a lot to stomach for any adult, let alone primary school child. Half way through, the plot changed suddenly into a tale of breast cancer and the family fallout resulting from this. Wilson tells these stories well, but I worry about her younger fans getting hold of this book without having the maturity to deal with it. Many parents will buy this book for their young children, unaware of the emotions it may bring with it. This is a book for children to talk about with their families and other adults, not to be read alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lola rose, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. C. R. Mee "Mee" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lola Rose (Kindle Edition)
Lola rose was very touching. Great book. A definite must read! Jacqueline Wilson is an epic writer. You HAVE to read this book I can't explain how awesome it really is !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ClassiC, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lola Rose (Kindle Edition)
It was such a great book because it tells a story with a happy ending like a fairy tale. Jacqueline Wilson is an incredible author.

Amy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lola Rose (Kindle Edition)
It was so touching. I love auntie Barbra because it feels like all the weight has been lifted of Lola roses shoulders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lola Rose (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to people like me who have already read and enjoyed jacqueline wilson books as this book is just awesome! I won't give away the ending but let's just say that the cliff hanger at the end is really puzzling as there are many different possibilities. As a child my self I would be no where near as calm and brave as Lola rose was in this situation and because of this I can really compare what I would do to what Lola rose did. It was nice how she had a chance to start a new life as a new person so she can be more confident. That is why I rate this book 5 stars out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Touching Story by Dame Jacqueline Wilson, 20 Jun 2014
This review is from: Lola Rose (Paperback)
My daughter was re-reading a few of her Jacqueline Wilson books from her childhood and this was the latest one she delved into. She was telling me how much she adored Lola Rose and told me that it was a beautifully touching story.

Lola Rose is about a girl called Jayni who lives with her mum, Nikki, her dad, Jay and her brother Kenny. However, after another tough night and winning the lottery, Jayni finds herself on the run from her dad with her mum and little brother. The family hide high and low find themselves a new life and recreate themselves. Boring old Jayni (who wasn't boring at all!) transforms into Lola Rose and finds herself embarking on a new life with new adventures. However, whenever something goes good...something turns bad. And in the end Lola Rose's mum ends up hospitalised for a very...very...life threatening illness. Lola Rose is forced to deal with things on her own and finds that everyday, life is chance and you can't MAKE things disappear.

Jacqueline Wilson exposes her readers to the subject of a violent father as well as a cancer patient mum. I think this is really powerful and Jacqueline has done this incredibly well. Your heart aches when Lola Rose finds out the news and you are constantly waiting for her mum to get better. As always, Jacqueline doesn't twine in too much drama and allows the reader to process all of the information before another plot twist. This book is also very sad and I've found even my daughter having a few tears over it. A young reader may find this slightly too harsh but I think as you get older and re-read it, or even read it for the first time, you find yourself getting a little shimmer of heartache when you read the story.

Brilliant novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lola rose, 17 Jun 2014
By 
R. barley (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lola Rose (Kindle Edition)
An exciting heart stopping fiction of a family of three wing`n it through their problems but with many problems ahead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic and Very Heart Warming, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lola Rose (Kindle Edition)
This is a lovely tale to share. Sad but gets better. Great story and amazing book i absolute love it.

Awesommmmeee!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lola Rose
Lola Rose by Jacqueline Wilson (Paperback - 4 Mar 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews