Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not those little fairies who mend your shoes!
Say the word gnomes and most people will think of those rather horrid little figurines that some people in suburbia will insist on littering lawns and gardens with. You know the ones - they have fishing rods, red hats and rosy cheeks.
Well, not these. These are Nomes, thank you very much, and as you will discover they certainly don't have fishing rods. Well...maybe...
Published on 28 Mar 2004

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't compete with Discword but an entertainig read
I'm a discworld fan and only bought this trilogy as I'd run out of Discworld novels to read. The Bromeliad is set in an entirely different universe (ours) with different characters and (interesting) plot. The TP writing style, however, is unchanged and you can see many Discworld characters manifest themselves in the main characters - which reduces the novelty factor but...
Published on 3 Aug 2009 by Charles


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not those little fairies who mend your shoes!, 28 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Say the word gnomes and most people will think of those rather horrid little figurines that some people in suburbia will insist on littering lawns and gardens with. You know the ones - they have fishing rods, red hats and rosy cheeks.
Well, not these. These are Nomes, thank you very much, and as you will discover they certainly don't have fishing rods. Well...maybe they do if you think of bins as a metaphorical fish pond and a rat as a real treat of a meal.
The story basically follows Masklin and his band of 'outside' nomes who travel indoors (although the Store nomes don't believe in outside so they reckon Masklin is mad). The book follows the trials of this little band of ten inch folk until their eventual adventure. To say more would spoil the story but it is well worth a read. Children will love it and adults will find an excuse ("I was going to read it to my kids, honest!).
Buy it, read it and wonder whether those small blurs really were mice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny look at life from the eyes of a nome(!?), 16 Jun 2001
By 
V. Senathit "Laocook" (Brit living in Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Indeed, being only 4 inches tall does have its advantages, and disadvantages. 4 Inches is the average size of a nome, and they live (apart from other places) in holes and under the floorboards..
I'm not about to give the plot of this book away, all I know is that after reading the first few pages, I was hooked. It is funny and intelligent, and makes you smile and laugh and wanting to read more.
I found this book whilst looking for books from Douglas Adams (RIP), and will continue buying Pratchett's work. If you like a humorous book, buy this one..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little people get into big trouble, and out again, 23 April 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Unknown to the humans, they share the Earth with another intelligent race, the nomes. The reason they don't know about the nomes is that they are four inches tall, and live at a pace ten times that of humans. This is the story of Masklin, and other heroic nomes who lead their people out of the dangerous world of humans, in search of their home. In the course of this story the overcome great obstacles, all with wit and humor.
This book is actually a collection of three book: Truckers, Diggers and Wings. The stories showcase Terry Pratchett's wit and humor, his ability to examine the human experience from a very different viewpoint. The action is gripping, and the humor outrageous. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Brilliance for all ages, 7 Jan 2001
By A Customer
When I first started reading the Discworld novels by Terry Pratchett, my Dad thought it was all a load of rubbish and "you wouldn't catch him reading Pratchett." What is it they say about famous last words? Then on a long journey with a friend, he listened to the "Truckers" audio cassette (narrated brilliantly by Tony Robinson), and then had to get the Bromeliad. From there he's gone onto read every Discworld novel, nearly as quickly as me! The Bromeliad is quite simply put, a superbly witty and skilfully written collection, whether for the younger reader who sees it as a story about the "wee folk" or for the older, who can see the parallels with real life, and understand the things that confuse the nomes (such as "and Arnold Bros (est. 1905) put up signs saying "Dogs and Pushchairs must be carried on the escaltors"." And Arnold Bros (est. 1905) waxed wroth, for some people used the escalators carrying neither dog, nor pushchair. "Surely," said the nomes, "humans are stupid, and understand nothing about the world."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good for ten year old boys., 25 Sep 2009
By 
Amy Silverston (Dartmouth Park, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bromeliad (Truckers Omnibus Edition): "Truckers", "Diggers", "Wings" (Paperback)
My ten year old and I read this to each other - he did a chapter then so did I. The humour is pitched at the level where he can understand and really appreciate it; often revolving around the nomes' (sic) very literal interpretation of meanings, such as a sign reading 'road works', which they see as superfluous as how can a road not work? This sort of thing really amuses children of this age and they are so pleased when they understand word play. He also understood and agreed with the meaning of various morals along the way. The language was good - construction not too complex for him to read aloud and he learned the meanings of the odd new word.

We both enjoyed it thoroughly and he wants to read more Terry Prachett books whilst waiting for the latest Charlie Higson to come out in paperback (if you haven't tried the young Bond books, do - they are very good indeed, best we have read of that genre of exciting adventure stories).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond brilliant, 28 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Bromeliad (Truckers Omnibus Edition): "Truckers", "Diggers", "Wings" (Paperback)
Perhaps I'm prejudice in my affesction for this little trilogy. They were the books that first convinced a girl who struggled to read that actually stories had to be worth the effort. They also taught me that it was OK to laugh at religion. As a vicars daughter this proved invaluable.

Having lent the books to everyone I knew, and consequently lost my copies I re-purchased them. Reading as an adult I was not dissappointed. The humour is less subtle then in the discworld novels, but I think they are funnier. The characters are beautiful and the story compelling. I was pleasently surprised to find that I loved it as much as an adult. Each of the three books feels fresh and interesting. Well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The softest of sighs, 12 Nov 2009
By 
D.T.Scott (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bromeliad (Truckers Omnibus Edition): "Truckers", "Diggers", "Wings" (Paperback)
This is a wonderful, eloquently written work, by Discworld author Terry Pratchett. It's one of those books, that when you finish, you sigh softly, and recall all the great, and bad times the characters have had. If you have so much as a morsel of imagination, this book will leave with a faint, lingering feeling, that somewhere, in your house, a Nome is watching you from behind a crack in the wall... This isn't a bad feeling, just a pleasant, happy feeling, something you probably wouldn't have felt since you were six, when Santa Clause was real.

Read this book, not with the idea that it will have you rolling on your back, stifling your laughter with a fist. Don't expect to be left, sobbing uncontrollable, as you crawl through the last pages of the book. As I said before, this story is a comfortable, cosy sigh. It's something to treasure. Something to come back to on those cold, dark nights. Something to read, remember and recall as you trundle along your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 16 July 1999
By A Customer
As a die hard Discworld fan, i approached this collection of Terrys books with doubt in my mind. i was wrong. this series is GOOD, for all age groups. Pratchetts three stories has his discworld humour but altered for the tiny world in these books. The stories are excellent (but the second one lacks something the others have), an intreaging read wheather you're a fan of pratchett or not. Killer stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Mark Dunn (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bromeliad (Truckers Omnibus Edition): "Truckers", "Diggers", "Wings" (Paperback)
after reading the first instalment of this book before i got it, i couldnt wait to get stuck in and didnt put it down until i was finished. i normally like the discworld series more over other books but this one is really good fun to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly loved it, 22 April 2009
This review is from: The Bromeliad (Truckers Omnibus Edition): "Truckers", "Diggers", "Wings" (Paperback)
I'm a long time lover of the disc world stuff - so this was taking me out of my Pratchett comfort zone. Gave it a go - and unexpectedly really enjoyed it. You have moments where you have to suspend belief, but it moves you through them pretty coolly, and by the end I was really rooting for the gang. A big "yes" from me C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bromeliad (Truckers Omnibus Edition): "Truckers", "Diggers", "Wings"
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews