Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pictures speak louder than words
The same trip to the park is seen through the eyes of 4 different people. The words tell us a lot about how they think, but the pictures open their emotions to our eyes. With beautiful surreal elements and clever use of colour, the illustrations have details that change with the emotions of the story tellers and allowed me to discuss emotions with my children in colours...
Published on 13 Feb. 2005

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Strange.
It's a very strange book. It's a children's book, but the words aren't really a story for a child at all....... It's all very strange, and despite the wonderful pictures, I didn't like it at all.
Published 7 months ago by Southampton girl


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pictures speak louder than words, 13 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
The same trip to the park is seen through the eyes of 4 different people. The words tell us a lot about how they think, but the pictures open their emotions to our eyes. With beautiful surreal elements and clever use of colour, the illustrations have details that change with the emotions of the story tellers and allowed me to discuss emotions with my children in colours and pictures. This was especially useful for my son who struggles to understand the emotions and feelings of those around him.
Adults will enjoy the sheer beauty of this book and it's artistic references and children can discuss the impact other peoples feelings have on us.
I have just finished this from the library and now am just about to order our own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discover something new each time you read!, 28 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
My children and I really enjoyed this book. Beautifully and imaginatively illustrated, it encouraged us to explore the impact we have on each other, just as the characters in the book influence one another. We poured over each page, finding something new and touching each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ticks all the boxes, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
This book is brilliantly drawn / written. Browne's use of surrealism, impressionist art and intertextuality makes it suitable for children and adults alike. The four voices are very thought provoking, each telling their own version of the same trip to the park. It is what is NOT said by the characters (each having their own font for their voice) that you find within the pictures. Each voice has a season, gloomy or rosy etc. depending on their mood. Within the story can be found social status issues, the boy's mother seeing the little girl Smudge's father as a 'frightful type'. This book is excellent to share with a child and to analyse what is depicted by the artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to make you think, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
The illustrations in this beautiful book can be used to discuss feelings with children and young people. A useful resource for teachers to inspire poetry, description and characterisation with children at least up to 11 years old. The slightly sinister nature of some of the pictures can provide a base for PSHE discussion - a must for every primary school teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voices in the Park, 25 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
It is one of the best books! Multi layered and original- for any age and any stage. Amazing illustrations as well as clever story. A fantastic book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voices in the Park, 18 Nov. 2010
By 
J. F. Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
An extraordinary book- mulitlayered and complex. Quite sad in many ways. Interesting that it tells the same story from four different perspectives. It might be a picture book but it is not really for little children at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meaningful surreal beauty, 8 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
An outstanding book by the Children's Laureate. Beautiful delicate illustrations that draw you in; the more you look the more you see. It's like entering a dream or, in fact, perhaps the way children see things. Yes, it is a children's book, but true to Browne's style, it is also quite "dark" - meaning it touches upon more than spot the dog would. Class issues, single parent families, suppression within family by stifling and controlling parents, and the need for children to be children and not tiny adults. It will touch a chord in the adult reading the book to the child and may even provide an opportunity for children to relate to what may be happening for them. A book useful for child councilors/psychotherapists, dramatherapists, play therapists and teachers. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than words, 17 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
My eldest child aged 5 picked this up from the library a few months ago and ever since then, we have been back to find more books by Anthony Browne. His works are amazing though not to everybody's taste.

The same sequence of events is told through 4 different characters, the bossy mother, the lonely boy, the sad man and his daughter. Each voice has its unique style and language emphasised in the different use of fonts and the illustrations. You need to LOOK at the pictures as well as read the story to fully appreciate its meaning for each voice. It took my child to tell me "Look, there's lots funny things in the book" to actually stop and observe each illustration to realise how fitting each one was to its character.

For example, in the second voice, the man and his daughter are seen making their way to the park where the street wall is covered in dull grafitti (note the broken heart) and sad looking portraits. The pavement is littered and there is a beggar sitting. The same street at the end of the second voice is now brighter, cleaner and the heart on the wall is now whole. The portraits come to life and are dancing with each other as is the beggar. The whole street is lit with a snowdrop. As someone has said already, you find something new each time you read it. I've read this book many times with my children and have only just realised the names of the dogs as they are never mentioned in the same voice, you could miss it.

We've got this book out of the library several times already that I'm thinking of getting our own copy as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Voices in the Park, 5 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
I purchased this for my university module on Childrens Literature. The concept is good and gives much discussion about the type of people involved in the story. The pictures are wonderful and I am sure would appeal to children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for teaching!, 4 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Voices In The Park (Paperback)
I am currently undertaking a degree in teaching and needed a book that could be used in a variety of subjects. I bought this book on a recommendation from one of my university lecturers and I wasn't disappointed!

The idea of a story being told from four points of view sounds confusing at first, but when reading it the story seems to flow really well. The best part of the book is not the writing but the illustrations. It has unique and unusual images that would keep a child interested throughout!

This Anthony Browne book is both an invaluable resource and book to read to children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voices In The Park
Voices In The Park by Anthony Browne (Paperback - 5 Aug. 1999)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews