Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect bedtime book
This has to be the most perfect bedtime story ever written for very little ones. The illustrations are gorgeous, the text is wonderfully calming and it's like a big, warm, sleepy cuddle. Helen Cooper at her best!
Published on 9 April 2009 by Annie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice illustrations, but a bit creepy.
It seems like a more old-fashioned book to me, with tigers and soldiers and so on.
My son likes it enough though I wasn't impressed and was going to send it back.
Published 2 months ago by Elizabeth P


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect bedtime book, 9 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed (Paperback)
This has to be the most perfect bedtime story ever written for very little ones. The illustrations are gorgeous, the text is wonderfully calming and it's like a big, warm, sleepy cuddle. Helen Cooper at her best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read night after night after night, 11 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed (Paperback)
This is obligatory bedtime reading for my three-year-old. We have been reading it every single night for the last six weeks or so and he enjoys both the text and the illustrations. Most of his favourite toys feature in the book (car, train, tiger) and he is happy to be tucked up in bed at the end of it all. Just the right length for a bedtime story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 25 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed (Paperback)
This is the most perfect children's story that I ever come across. I never tire of reading it to my sons. The story very cleverly has two points of view - that of the child and that of the adult - The child is off having amazing adventures, but the adult can see that he is simply playing with the toys in his bedroom and later being carried to the bathroom! I just love it! The words and the lay out are perfectly done so that the rythm slows down as the story progresses and I always start yawning myself before the end of the story! Do yourself and your children a favour and read them this story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent story well illustrated for ages 2 and up, 9 Feb 1999
By A Customer
Outstanding illustrations combined with a lovely story make this book ideal for young children. An excellent bedtime read, it tells about a little boy who wouldn't go to bed and met all sorts of people in an imaginative bedtime world with absolutely gorgeous illustrations to back up the story. One to make bedtime easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love Helen Cooper, 5 Feb 2009
By 
K. McConnochie (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed (Paperback)
Certainly not as good as Tatty Ratty but that is my favourite book to read to my girls. Still this is Helen Cooper and she is great we love her in our house, great illustrations and a lovely little story certainly one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, sleepiest bedtime story for 15 months +, 29 Jan 2009
By 
K. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed (Paperback)
My three year old, one year old and I all absolutely love this book. It has you yawning as you read it it's just so sleepy and relaxing. Beautifully written and illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dreamy read, 20 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed (Paperback)
The dreamy cadence and delightful illustrations send both myself and my 2/3 year old into a magical, yawning sleepiness. Marvellous for settling a lively child for bed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read night after night after night, 11 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed (Paperback)
This is obligatory bedtime reading for my three-year-old. We have been reading it every single night for the last six weeks or so and he enjoys both the text and the illustrations. Most of his favourite toys feature in the book (car, train, tiger) and he is happy to be tucked up in bed at the end of it all. Just the right length for a bedtime story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely bedtime reading, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed (Paperback)
My eldest daughter (3) and I love Helen Cooper. This is a really nice bedtime story. I like it because it tells my daughter mummy is always there for you. It is about a little baby that wont go to sleep and runs off in an imaginary world. Every one he runs into (toy train, toy lion, etc) want to go to sleep. The car goes to sleep and he has to push it home, but it is hard. Then mummy arrives after looking for him and takes him back to bed.
I find it quite a calming book to read.
If you like this book try the others writtern by Helen cooper. Tatty Ratty is another of our favorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The baby who wouldn't go to bed, until at last!!!, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Sookie B "Sookie" (Surrey, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed (Paperback)
This is such a good book. Helen Cooper has written an extremly good short story to read without getting tired of it but having the effect of getting ones toddler to sleep. The illustrations are unusual and memorable. The baby will not go to bed and speeds off in his car, he tries to convince others along his ride to play but they are too sleepy. Eventually he hears his mother calling and she takes him to bed where he nods off very happily. There is always a kind of story line mixed with thought and behaviour, not a bad thing. This one even teaches the baby that his poor Mum has not been able to go to bed because she has been so worried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed
The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed by Helen Cooper (Paperback - 4 Sep 1997)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews