Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars24
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 28 October 2008
for the Picture CORGI Book Series.

From the back cover:-

'Boys like Peter aren't afraid of wolves!

A magnificent new interpretation of Prokofiev's classic tale.
Lovely - a perfect introduction to music - Junior Education
A warm retelling of the famous story - Books for your Children'

Colourful paperback covers open to 24 high quality shiny pages in the popular 2-page spread format.
Beautifully illustrated throughout, in typical Ian Beck fashion, this super book is further enhanced by meaningful facial expressions which help to promote discussion.

Clear, easy-to-follow text, enhanced in places for effect.
The text is presented in framed boxes, the main ones include a little picture reminder of the relevant instrument - please see footnote.

Example of text:
'Peter lived with his grandfather in a little wooden house at the edge of a great dark forest. Around their house was a garden and beyond the garden was a meadow.

Early one morning, Peter opened the garden gate and went out into the big green meadow.
High up in a tree sat a little bird, who was Peter's friend.
'All is quiet, all is quiet,' sang the bird.
Just then, a fat white duck came waddling along. She was glad that Peter had left the gate open, and decided to go for a swim in the deep pond.....'

However, things are set to get a bit noisy as the duck and the little bird debate over their individual skills.
...Then along comes a cat....then Peter's Grandfather, who is not impressed with the fact that Peter has ventured into the meadow where there could be a wolf lurking.
And there lies the problem as a big, grey wolf DOES appear and things get considerably more lively!

Peter and the Wolf is a composition by Sergei Prokofiev written in 1936.

This book is great as a stand alone version of the tale but would be greatly enhanced by the acquisition of the cassette/CD.

From inside the back cover:

'Peter and the Wolf was composed by the great Russian composer, Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) to introduce children to the instruments of the orchestra.
Each character in the story is represented by a different instrument:
The bird by the flute
The duck by the oboe
The cat by the clarinet
The grandfather by the bassoon
The wolf by the French horn
Peter by the strings
The hunters' guns by the drums.

If you look carefully at each page of this book, you can spot the instruments as the different characters appear.'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
on 18 January 2002
Our 2 and 4 year-old boys love this book. Following loyally the wording of Prokofiev's imaginative introduction to the principal instruments of an orchestra, this is a beautifully illustrated book for young children. The borders surrounding the text contain pictures of the instruments which represent the animals in the main pictures: as well as bringing the story alive, it is a lovely introduction to the instruments themselves.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 22 October 2006
My son 4 year old adores looking at this book whilst listening to the Prokoviev suite on CD. It is very true to the original, and the subtle pictures of the musical instruments throughout give clues as to which is playing. (We also love Ian Beck's illustrated edition of Edward Lear's The Jumblies).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 August 2011
Bought for my grandson - three years old - before I took him to the Festival Hall to hear Jarvis Cocker narrate a version with the LSO prior to a showing of the wonderful animated film of Sergey Prokofiev's masterpiece. I also bought a CD to accompany it.
He thoroughly enjoyed the book and the illustrations helped to create the world of the original piece, a world obviously very different from his own, although he is a country boy. Knowing he was going to see the original animated version, I was concerned he might find it very puzzling but the book's illustrations helped to prepare him so he just found it puzzling. It only left me to explain why the hunters were shooting animals and how the duck could stay alive in the wolf after it was eaten; of course, I found this quite easy!
(He also fell asleep for ten minutes after the orchestral performance and while the hunters were shooting which also helped!)
It is a very colourful, well-printed and enjoyable text younger children will enjoy and a great addition to any musical version.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 18 January 2010
I ordered this book for my children after they enjoyed watching Disney's Peter and the Wolf.

The book is simply written and beautifully illustrated. Each page also has small pictures of the instruments relating to the characters as they appear, and at the back is a written list of each character and which instrument they are represented by.

Both my children (age 7 and 4) absolutely love it and I would highly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 September 2012
I bought my little 2 1/2 year old daughter Prokofiev's Peter and the Wolf on CD with Dame Edna narrating and I wanted a companion book to go along with it. This was the perfect solution since it is the classical version of the story (in other words, the narration on the CD and the book work beautifully together). But apart from this, the book is beautifully illustrated and a joy to look at on its own, without playing our CD in the background. My daughter just loves it and sleeps with this book every night. I'm not sure if she comprehends the actual story, but the illustrations really captivate her.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 11 December 2009
Brought back many happy memories of reading this book to my children when they were little, now am reading it to the grandchildren, 2, 2 and 3 years old and they love it just as much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 28 December 2011
This is a good example of the marrying of a traditional story with good modern art interpretation. It has large clear depictions of Peter and his exploits that kept my 4 year old grandson captivated.This is compared with the DVD bought at the same time which scares him.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
I have used this book with children in school to introduce the instruments of the orchestra to them. It was the natural choice when wanting to introduce my own grandchildren to the orchestra. It sticks closely to the original text and the story is followed accurately.Grandfather is hardly there in some versions. The fate of the duck is there too!!
The illustrations are rooted in the story's Russian origin and the illustrations include borders showing the instrument that goes with the character. I looked at several versions but returned to this one as I think it is the best available. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
I bought this book in conjunction with the CD of Peter and the Wolf, narrated by Dame Edna Everage, for my granddaughters. The 4 year old loved the story, and also loved the CD, but the younger ones were probably too small to appreciate it. The text in the book is virtually the same as the one in the book, bar a few different words, so it is good for those who have started to read as well while listening to the CD. I feel this is a classic for children, especially giving them an insight into classical music and the instruments used in an orchestra.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Sergei Prokofiev's Peter and the Wolf [With CD (Audio)]
Sergei Prokofiev's Peter and the Wolf [With CD (Audio)] by Sergey Prokofiev (Hardcover - 14 Sept. 2004)

Peter And The Wolf [DVD]
Peter And The Wolf [DVD] by Suzie Templeton (DVD - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.