Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated accompaniment to Prokofiev's work, 18 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
Our 2 and 4 year-old boys love this book. Following loyally the wording of Prokofiev's imaginative introduction to the principal instruments of an orchestra, this is a beautifully illustrated book for young children. The borders surrounding the text contain pictures of the instruments which represent the animals in the main pictures: as well as bringing the story alive, it is a lovely introduction to the instruments themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter and the Wolf retold by Ian Beck, 28 Oct 2008
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
for the Picture CORGI Book Series.

From the back cover:-

'Boys like Peter aren't afraid of wolves!

A magnificent new interpretation of Prokofiev's classic tale.
Lovely - a perfect introduction to music - Junior Education
A warm retelling of the famous story - Books for your Children'

Colourful paperback covers open to 24 high quality shiny pages in the popular 2-page spread format.
Beautifully illustrated throughout, in typical Ian Beck fashion, this super book is further enhanced by meaningful facial expressions which help to promote discussion.

Clear, easy-to-follow text, enhanced in places for effect.
The text is presented in framed boxes, the main ones include a little picture reminder of the relevant instrument - please see footnote.

Example of text:
'Peter lived with his grandfather in a little wooden house at the edge of a great dark forest. Around their house was a garden and beyond the garden was a meadow.

Early one morning, Peter opened the garden gate and went out into the big green meadow.
High up in a tree sat a little bird, who was Peter's friend.
'All is quiet, all is quiet,' sang the bird.
Just then, a fat white duck came waddling along. She was glad that Peter had left the gate open, and decided to go for a swim in the deep pond.....'

However, things are set to get a bit noisy as the duck and the little bird debate over their individual skills.
...Then along comes a cat....then Peter's Grandfather, who is not impressed with the fact that Peter has ventured into the meadow where there could be a wolf lurking.
And there lies the problem as a big, grey wolf DOES appear and things get considerably more lively!

ooOoo
Peter and the Wolf is a composition by Sergei Prokofiev written in 1936.

Footnote:
This book is great as a stand alone version of the tale but would be greatly enhanced by the acquisition of the cassette/CD.

From inside the back cover:

'Peter and the Wolf was composed by the great Russian composer, Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) to introduce children to the instruments of the orchestra.
Each character in the story is represented by a different instrument:
The bird by the flute
The duck by the oboe
The cat by the clarinet
The grandfather by the bassoon
The wolf by the French horn
Peter by the strings
and
The hunters' guns by the drums.

If you look carefully at each page of this book, you can spot the instruments as the different characters appear.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic interpretation - true to the original, 22 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
My son 4 year old adores looking at this book whilst listening to the Prokoviev suite on CD. It is very true to the original, and the subtle pictures of the musical instruments throughout give clues as to which is playing. (We also love Ian Beck's illustrated edition of Edward Lear's The Jumblies).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated book for young children, 18 Jan 2010
By 
J. Compton "Jooz" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
I ordered this book for my children after they enjoyed watching Disney's Peter and the Wolf.

The book is simply written and beautifully illustrated. Each page also has small pictures of the instruments relating to the characters as they appear, and at the back is a written list of each character and which instrument they are represented by.

Both my children (age 7 and 4) absolutely love it and I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to bedtime reading, 9 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
Bought for my grandson - three years old - before I took him to the Festival Hall to hear Jarvis Cocker narrate a version with the LSO prior to a showing of the wonderful animated film of Sergey Prokofiev's masterpiece. I also bought a CD to accompany it.
He thoroughly enjoyed the book and the illustrations helped to create the world of the original piece, a world obviously very different from his own, although he is a country boy. Knowing he was going to see the original animated version, I was concerned he might find it very puzzling but the book's illustrations helped to prepare him so he just found it puzzling. It only left me to explain why the hunters were shooting animals and how the duck could stay alive in the wolf after it was eaten; of course, I found this quite easy!
(He also fell asleep for ten minutes after the orchestral performance and while the hunters were shooting which also helped!)
It is a very colourful, well-printed and enjoyable text younger children will enjoy and a great addition to any musical version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter and the Wolf, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
I bought my little 2 1/2 year old daughter Prokofiev's Peter and the Wolf on CD with Dame Edna narrating and I wanted a companion book to go along with it. This was the perfect solution since it is the classical version of the story (in other words, the narration on the CD and the book work beautifully together). But apart from this, the book is beautifully illustrated and a joy to look at on its own, without playing our CD in the background. My daughter just loves it and sleeps with this book every night. I'm not sure if she comprehends the actual story, but the illustrations really captivate her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, lovely book & CD, 21 July 2012
By 
MrsD (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
Bought this after we did the music at kiddle music class. Lovely book, great CD - highly recommended. Bought for my 2yr old - will use it for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The art of a story for children, 28 Dec 2011
By 
T.J.SHEPPARD (axbridge, somerset, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
This is a good example of the marrying of a traditional story with good modern art interpretation. It has large clear depictions of Peter and his exploits that kept my 4 year old grandson captivated.This is compared with the DVD bought at the same time which scares him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter and the wolf, 1 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
I chose the book as a visual aid to the music and it worked very nicely with a class of 3 to 5 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childrens Book, 11 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf (Paperback)
My grandaughter loves this except the bit when the duck meets its end . Awwww[...] But well illustrated and good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa335c834)

This product

Peter And The Wolf
Peter And The Wolf by S.S. Prokofiev (Paperback - 5 Oct 1995)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews