Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect to stimulate young children's vivid imaginations
I have read this story to children from three to seven years old, all receiving it with enthusiasm. It stimulates their imaginations to create suspense until the boy finally opens the cupboard door with his mother. You can draw the children in and see what they think is really behind the door, the story offering a simple explanation to ward off any fears they might...
Published on 11 Nov 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story and illustrations. Ths version to small to enjoy the details.
I hadn't realized this book was so small, the illustrations in the book are so lovely it is worth buying a bigger book to see the detail. My kids love the story though.
Published 15 months ago by Kate Hubert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect to stimulate young children's vivid imaginations, 11 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bear Under the Stairs (Paperback)
I have read this story to children from three to seven years old, all receiving it with enthusiasm. It stimulates their imaginations to create suspense until the boy finally opens the cupboard door with his mother. You can draw the children in and see what they think is really behind the door, the story offering a simple explanation to ward off any fears they might have of the dark or unknown. The story is beautifully illustrated with pictures of the bear doing different things, all of which are unbearlike!! He seems to be a loveable bear and is seen at the end of the book to be going on holiday with a bulging suitcase. A pleasure to read to children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to both reader and listener, 5 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bear Under the Stairs (Paperback)
Bought for my 3yr old daughter it has become the number one bedtime story. The book has been written in a rhythmic way, which is great to read and easily remembered/recited again and again during the day. Beautifully illustrated, it has to be a must for your child's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars there is nothing to fear but bear itself, 28 May 2004
By 
John Ault (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A lovely tale with charming pictures that survive copying to a smaller format. A story about overcoming fear, and about the way in which a child's imagined world and the real world interact. This format of book is great for journeys and for gifts to remote friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Youngsters, 17 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Bear Under the Stairs (Paperback)
I found that my little girl of three wouldn't sit and listen to any other books but this one.She listened and copied the Wham , Bang and Thump actions in the book and even started to describe what was in the pictures to me... an exciting read to all 2 year olds. Definately reccomended as it encourages children to read on their own with lots of pictures to describe what is happening and a very simple storyline with twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book for toddler / preschooler, 12 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bear Under the Stairs (Paperback)
An engaging story and beautifully illustrated text. A book that is a delight to read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite in our House, 5 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Bear Under the Stairs (Paperback)
Though my children are a little older now, they loved this wonderful book, they would finish the sentences and hold their noses at the thought of the stinky food. We simply loved it and did the bear exist? What do you think? Wait, who's that hanging from the parachute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bear Under The Stairs, 9 Oct 2010
This is such a lovely book, our daughter (not quite 2 yet) really enjoys it. It's her favourite of the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for toddlers, 10 Mar 2010
By 
C. A. Boardman (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book for my two year old grandson & he absolutely loves it. He is going through the 'monsters under the bed' stage & I thought it might help alleviate his fears. Not really sure if it's having the desired effect for that problem but he loves it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service & amazing book. Ordered book for my Daughter who absolutely loves reading this book. Enjoys the idea of a ebar living under the stairs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
we enjoyed sharing this book with our 3 yr old. She related to the book and took a great deal of interest in it. good buy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9f9c236c)

This product

The Bear Under the Stairs
The Bear Under the Stairs by Helen Cooper (Paperback - 1 Sep 1994)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews