Customer Reviews


572 Reviews
5 star:
 (492)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and sad: The grey areas of a hero and villain
Anyone who does drugs or dopes in sport are cheats, right? They're scum: defrauding fans, cutting short their rivals' careers by giving themselves an unfair advantage. They win medals, accolades and sponsors' money that they don't deserve.

But is it as black and white as that, or is it all one big grey area?

Tyler Hamilton's autobiography is all...
Published on 20 Oct 2012 by KW

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Read
Couldn't put the book down, I thoroughly enjoyed the narrative, but the insight into the murky world of procycling was enlightening.
Published 14 months ago by John Twist


‹ Previous | 142 43 4458 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Belting read, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great - cold not put this down well worth the money a great open and frank account of the peloton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my father for Xmas and it came very quickly and is exactly what it says it isn't a bargain price, BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
easy to read and enjoyable, my misses has even read and enjoyed it! David miller book is better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not before time., 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A refreshingly 'plain/ordinary' veiw of doping in the professional peleton. The 'omerta' surrounding the cheating within cycling now exposed.

Following Hamilton's initial 'positive' in 2004 and the ludicrous explanation(s) surrounding the excuses proffered for the positive test(s) I wouldn't have discribed myself as Hamilton's "biggest fan"!! However, having read the USADA report I no longer thought of him(and Landis) as bitter 'mad men' plus it was was ghost written with Dan Coyle.

The book is an excellent read. As a cyclist and a huge fan of the sport I, and I suppose millions of others long suspected doping was at, at least, endemic proportions - it would appear it was at epidemic proportions!!

A huge pat on the back for Tyler Hamilton for coming forward (whatever the reasons - I don't care!!)

Over to you now Lance - at least pay us (who have stood at the side of windswept mountains chearing you on)the common courtesy of telling us the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb story of Hamilton's career that appears to be brutally honest. Loads on untold Armstrong and Ferrari stories. A must read for all cycle fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book even if you don't like cycling!, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very informative, worth a read even if you don't care about cycling!

You have to have a certain level of sympathy for these poor guys. In a world where everyone is doping you pretty much have to get on board to be able to complete.

Author asks the question "what would you have done"? - its tricky...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bad and the ugly of Professional cycling, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would you have done the same thing if you were in the same position???? A great book which I would recommend to anyone interested in professional sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting insight into the dark side of the peleton. Certainly changed my view on how the cycling world operated in the 90's & early 2000's. I only hope the cycling world has changed since the Armstrong era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it!, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the insider info into the things that really happen in pro cycling and the challenges that cyclists face when they turn pro. I was not overly interested in cycling due to the prevalent doping in the sport so this book book will cater to cycling enthusiasts as well as those new to cycling. Hamilton's descriptions of what his mind and body were going through during races really puts you right there with him, almost feeling his pain and anguish. I highly recommend this book, go and get it! You will see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you are a cycling fan or not (maybe not after you've read it!) this is a must read. Very well written and completely eye-opening. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 142 43 4458 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews