Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat your heart out Tolkein
This book forms part of a terrific series beginning with `Belgareth the Sorcerer'. I don't read much of this genre (fantasy) but like The Hobbit/ Lord of the Rings this will appeal to a large audience.

Following Belgareth the Sorcerer there are two series of 5 books, `The Belgariad' and `The Mallorean' and it is advisable to read them in order, and if you can...
Published on 25 April 2008 by Eclectic Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Gift
It was bought as a Christmas gift and I have heard no complaints so I assume that it is fine
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by probusken


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat your heart out Tolkein, 25 April 2008
By 
This book forms part of a terrific series beginning with `Belgareth the Sorcerer'. I don't read much of this genre (fantasy) but like The Hobbit/ Lord of the Rings this will appeal to a large audience.

Following Belgareth the Sorcerer there are two series of 5 books, `The Belgariad' and `The Mallorean' and it is advisable to read them in order, and if you can read `Belgareth' first (although you could save it and read it afterwards like a prequel).

I raced through the series. The Eddings' (the books were written by a couple) create a Tolkein-esque world with our hero Belgareth learning powers known as `the will and the word' through centuries of study under a benevolent God (the gods that created this world still live on it in physical form). This study elevates him to the status of a sorcerer and elongates his life span - he becomes a legend and a force for good in the world. However, another disciple of his benevolent master rebels and steals the holy `Orb' stone, following a more sinister God. In the later series the Gods have left the planet in fear that their battle will destroy the world but their peoples continue to war - following the Prophecies left to them by the Gods. The two series follow the course of events as Belgareth leads the hunt for the traitor and the stone. It's very cleverly written and characters and events reappear as we become familiar with the history of this fictional world through the course of the books.

Really good fun and a definite recommendation if you want a light hearted escape that will keep you reading late into the night.

This is the order of the books:

The Belgariad
1. Pawn of Prophecy
2. Queen of Sorcery
3. Magician's Gambit
4. Castle of Wizardry
5. Enchanters' End Game

The Malloreon
1. Guardians of the West
2. King of the Murgos
3. Demon Lord of Karanda
4. Sorceress of Darshiva
5. The Seeress of Kell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable light fantasy, 20 Aug 2004
By 
Joe Sherry (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Book 3 of the Mallorean
This book continues the quest of King Belgarion to rescue his kidnapped son from the hands of Zandramas. Picking up right where "King of the Murgos" left off, Garion and company (Belgarath, Polgara, Sadi. C'Nedra, Silk, etc) head off to the continent/Empire of Mallorea under the power of the Emperor Zakath. This seems to be a side trip as they are trying to get to The House of Torak at Ashaba, but the group keeps getting sidetracked. However, as Belgarath says in the book, even with all the distractions, they keep gaining ground and time on Zandramas. That fact is no different in this novel.
While in the capital city of MaL Zeth, reports start coming in about a sorcerer who is raising a legion of demons. While the quest for Garion's son is important, a legion of demons threatens all and must be addressed. Add to this a touch of plague to the city, and Zakath's refusal to let Garion leave, and you have the makings of this novel. Like the other books of this series, it is a familiar story that mirrors that of The Belgariad (the first series involving these characters).
I would consider this to be light fantasy, but because of how well Eddings writes his characters, they feel like old friends from the start, and it is easy to get wrapped up in the story. This is also the 8th book featuring these characters, however, and we are getting the same story over and over again, so that there is really nothing new here. Silk acts like he always does, and says the same things, and Polgara responds the same way. If this is your first time through the series, and you have enjoyed it thus far, you will continue to enjoy it. After reading it multiple times, it begins to grow a little tiresome because of how similar everything David Eddings writes is to each other. This is a fun little series that I greatly enjoyed years ago, and less so today.
-Joe Sherry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Eddings, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is fab a must read series if you like Fantasy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part three of 2nd set, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome fantasy story, up there with Lord of the rings. It is simply a must for any fantasy fan. Follow Belgarion and the rest as the chase after his son's abductor to the place that is no more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic series, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book in a long series that has kept the momentum going. I would recommend this to everyone. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to being hooked on the series!, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon Lord Of Karanda: (Malloreon 3) (The Malloreon (TW)) (Paperback)
Book three of The Malloreon continues the search for Zandramas. It's been a while since I read the first two, but David Eddings recaps succinctly, and I'm now hooked again! I don't have book 4 yet, but I think I may have to remedy that soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story continues and more intriguing characters are introduced. The chase continues and there are many obsticals o overcome. Just fabulous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Belgarion and Malloren books, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was given books 1 & 2 of Belgarion which I couldn't put down so purchased the continuing books in this series, so that meant that I had to finish the continuing next series which I again couldn't put down reading into the small hours and then again the the mornings, all I can say is if you enjoyed J R Tolkien and Robin Hobb you will enjoy these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read all of these when they were first published and had not read them for years (despite still owning the hard copies). Downloaded them for holiday reading when I first bought my kindle, together with Polgara, Belgarath & the Rivan Codex which I had not read before. Still fantastic reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars again not read, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have not read this book yet but intend to soon as with all books i have got so far it was in good condition and would buy from these again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demon Lord Of Karanda: (Malloreon 3) (The Malloreon (TW))
Demon Lord Of Karanda: (Malloreon 3) (The Malloreon (TW)) by David Eddings (Paperback - 14 Feb 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews