Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I was in two minds about taking this to download having read so many other similar stories but I was really pleased I did. Lots of good historical detail and excitement. A great read highly recommend it to those who love adventure and intrigue
Published 13 months ago by Huge

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not gripping
The pace of this book is a little slow which made it a bit too easy to put down.Still, not a bad story - definitely worth finishing.
Published 13 months ago by HelenM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was in two minds about taking this to download having read so many other similar stories but I was really pleased I did. Lots of good historical detail and excitement. A great read highly recommend it to those who love adventure and intrigue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You wish it was true. That Arthur could come back and save us. We will never know if he really did exist. I hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Bloody, Thrilling, what more could you ask., 15 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Ray. Brown (Arbroath Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Excalibur Codex (Paperback)
When I got this book on my Kindle, I was looking forward to following the next episode in the adventures of Jaime Saintclair It begins well and rattles along at a good pace, with a fair degree of mystery, excitement and bloody mayhem. The villain is soon identified, but that doesn't detract in any way from the enjoyment of the story, it seems to add to it, and the little twist with the Muslim terrorists tries to divert the reader and the plot quite well.

The tale is a bordering on the fantasy genre, but then, many stories in real life are. The history behind the book is well researched, if a somewhat embellished and a little fanciful, but then; if you want a history book then it would be best to look in a library. If what you want is a good, old-fashioned adventure (ripping yarn) story,then this is a good choice.

The author writes under a pseudonym, as he is also writer of historical fiction,(try them out as well) and this is the third in a series with his cheesy hero, Jamie Saintclair. If you have not read the others, it is not a bar to enjoying this book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emma Peel with a splash of Lauren Bacall, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Excalibur Codex (Paperback)
When i reviewed the Doomsday Testament i said James Douglas had set the bar high,and when the Isis Covenant arrived i said the bar had been set even higher,well now we have the Excalibur Codex and i now think we have to move from the high jump to the pole vault, as the bar has got even higher.This mystery/thriller moves at a cracking pace from page one,as James Saintclair is pitched head long into a mystery that takes him into a dangerous hinterland where the loyalties and hatreds of the past live on,and the line between fanaticism and madness is gossamer thin.Once again James Douglas passion for the period,along with detail research set`s up a cracking story,i have been trying to place what type of hero Jamie Saintclair is,there is a little bit of James Bond,a bit of Indiana Jones and a touch of Simon Templar,but in the end i just add Jamie Saintclair to that list of all action hero`s.If this is your first outing with James Douglas,then you have the joy of two more Jamie Saintclair adventures to catch up with,while i will have to go and look for a pole for the next book,as i am sure that the bar will go even higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Excalibur Codex, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Excalibur Codex (Paperback)
Enjoyable book. Will be reading some more of this author. Kept me guessing all the way right to the end of the tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wonderful book indeed! I couldn't put it down. I adore the Arthurian legend, so for me this was perfect.

more please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 24 Jan 2014
By 
J. KELLY "Legz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Excalibur Codex (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. Lots of history and myth and action. Suspend your reality for a while and believe in Excalibur!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE HIS BOOKS, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third book by this author I have read and they have all been very good. Looking forward to his next one. There are so many books these days about ancient relics being hunted by the baddies but I think his books are superior to most. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The hunt for a sword no one believes exists, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The start is a bit brutal, and maybe could give someone ideas !
The story is well interspersed with action and intrigue. Who is trying to double cross who ?
It reminds me of some of the earlier Cussler books in its descriptive of old & ancient locations.
I enjoyed it and ended up having difficulty putting the kindle down until I had finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Douglas is always a favourite of mine and I enjoyed this book very much. I hope he continues to write similar series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Excalibur Codex
The Excalibur Codex by James Douglas (Paperback - 29 Aug 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews