Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Release and a real halloween scare
I'm a huge fan of the horror genre and whilst I had seen the film a few times I'd never had the chance to read the book before this, the 40th Anniversary edition landed on my doorstep. So having prepared myself to have a read of the film script I got so much more from it as the author's research not only informed you about various procedures and rites but also left you...
Published on 28 Oct. 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cast out those adverbs
It's difficult to be objective about the `The Exorcist'. It's one of those cultural phenomenons that crop up from time to time and grab hold of the public imagination.
Often, the quality of the content is of no relevance ('50 Shades of Grey', anyone?). And Blatty's Washington-set novel about a twelve-year-old middle class American girl's possession by a demon is a...
Published on 22 April 2013 by annwiddecombe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exorcist (Hardcover)
This 40th anniversary edition well deserves a second read. And if you've only seen the film
I highly recommend you read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exorcist (Kindle Edition)
Can't say enough about this book first book I've reread and was ! Creepy at times ! Creepy enough to make you want to put it down but interesting enough to keep reading the new chapters were interesting and there was a lot more to the book than the movie I also noticed a few quote ,s that weren't in the movie but we're in legion( the exorcist 3) if you're a fan of the movie then I couldn't recommend this book enough only bad thing about the book is that I finished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Haunting Masterpiece, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exorcist (Kindle Edition)
Offering far more depth (and explicitness) than its cinematic adaptation, The Exorcist is a powerful, affecting and timeless tale of faith, humanity, morality and the contentious concept of good versus evil. Delving into the nature of possession and modern medicine's attempts to cement in the 'real world', the novel is both an interesting piece of inspired storytelling, as well as an informative mini-history of exorcisms, exorcists and demonology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dated, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exorcist (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this a lot and the pages turned quickly,. However, I reflected that When I was a youth, this book was the most gripping, shocking and scary book I had read. now later in life, I have been less impressed....perhaps less is more as it's too far fetched for my imagination nowadays, All that said, I guess the subject matter stands the test of time and it's still probably a great read first time around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Exorcist is, and always will be, a horror classic, 11 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Exorcist (Paperback)
I'd forgotten how beautifully written The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty was. The last time I read it I was a teenager.

Chris McNeill has rented a `brooding', `tight' brick colonial house for herself and her eleven-year-old daughter, Regan (nicknamed Rags) to stay in while she is working on her latest movie. Regan's dad, Howard is not around and Chris relies on the housekeepers Willie and Carl to help her look after Regan.

Rags is 'a shy, diffident child' who is not prone to playing tricks. The affectionate warmth between mother and child is firmly established when Chris returns home from work one day to hear that Rags has been sculpting a bird for her in the playroom. The conversation that follows is sweet and gentle, emphasizing Rags' childish innocence.

The first clues that something is wrong come in the form of strange noises, missing items, large items of furniture that are out of place, and the gradual awareness that Rags' new invisible friend may not be all that he seems.

Meanwhile a Priest, Damian Karras, is struggling to find meaning in his faith and is constantly praying to God for a sign, he is possessed by this yearning.

It is after Rags' birthday celebrations, when her father fails to call, that her health begins to seriously deteriorate. Rags' sweet innocent nature is replaced by something that has her shouting out vile expletives.

At first doctors diagnose Rags' condition as depression, then as she gets sicker they become so possessed by the idea that there has to be a medical explanation for what's happening to her that they become blinkered, as blinkered as the Priest Damien Karras has become to signs of evidence that there may be a God.

The novel switches between the horror of Rags' physical and mental condition while in the grip of this unknown illness, to the Priest's struggle to find meaning. Eventually, the Priest comes face to face with what he has been searching for when he is called in to help with the exorcism of the thing that possesses Rags.

The Exorcist explores the nature of faith. It examines the frailty and strength of the human condition when referring to God, and how `signs' may not always appear in the idealised form. When the time comes for good to conquer evil in this novel, it happens in an equally thought-provoking way. There is not one example of possession in this novel but many, and that is what makes it such an astonishing and worthwhile read.

The Exorcist is, and will always be, a horror classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, 3 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Exorcist (Kindle Edition)
Having seen the film more times than I can remember (I think it's the greatest movie ever made) I don`t know why it has take me years to get around to reading the novel,thought it was a great read,particularly the passages which dwelt on the interaction between father Karras & the demon,superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a horror classic, 27 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Exorcist (Kindle Edition)
Much scarier than the film and I loved that too! This book has many layers and I will be reading it again. My only criticism would be that the dialogue involving the mother felt very awkward and false to me...she was the only character who never came to life for me. But I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So well written, the screenplay didn't have to change a thing, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exorcist (Kindle Edition)
I read this book years ago, and have seen the film many times. To read it again was incredible. Blatty's words are so good, the script was lifted directly from the book. Simply the best of its kind...and still scary as hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Exorcist, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exorcist (Paperback)
I was looking for the book version of the film - to see if its basis in the origin was part of the written word. It was very true to the film and very well written for a book which has stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 1 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Exorcist (Kindle Edition)
One of the most well written books I've ever read. It wasn't terrifying but completely unnerving, and hard to put down also a great use of metaphors and similes. Perfect writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Exorcist
The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty (Paperback - 13 Oct. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews