Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh Mummy!
Pyramids (The Book of Going Forth) is Terry Pratchett's 7th Discworld novel, and continues the trend of changing the series from a satire of the fantasy genre into a distorted mirror of our own world. The main inspiration here is quite obviously ancient Egypt, with the returning heir to the throne of Djelibeybi (ouch!) getting involved in a plot which involves the return...
Published on 21 Jan 2005 by Jane Aland

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, not the worst
My star rating should be considered in the light of the fact that I love Terry Pratchett books. The rating takes into account the need to distinguish between my favourites and others. My problem is that I've not been reading the books in any sort of order and once I'd discovered Sam Vimes and the Watch, Granny Weatherwax and the Witches and the Wee Frees I've tended to...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by Mr. J. Creevey


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh Mummy!, 21 Jan 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Pyramids (The Book of Going Forth) is Terry Pratchett's 7th Discworld novel, and continues the trend of changing the series from a satire of the fantasy genre into a distorted mirror of our own world. The main inspiration here is quite obviously ancient Egypt, with the returning heir to the throne of Djelibeybi (ouch!) getting involved in a plot which involves the return of ancient gods, a riddling sphinx, mathematical camels, and hundred's of re-animated mummies (though just for a change these aren't the bad guys in this novel), though it also finds time to lampoon the Trojan war and ancient Greek philosophers along the way.
Pyramids is one of Pratchett's better constructed novels, with the story divided into four separate segments of Teppic's journey: first his training at the Assassin's Guild in Ankh-Morpork; then his inheritance of the throne of Djelibeybi; his escape with the beautiful handmaiden Ptraci when the ancient gods reclaim the land; and his final return and saving of his country. The main theme seems to be the danger of a stagnant society trapped in unthinking historical ritual, with the pyramids themselves interestingly acting as time negators by collecting and discharging time in order to preserve the mummies within. The novel also ends with an unexpected twist on Teppic and Ptraci's seemingly predictable romantic relationship, and a nice uroboric ending for the villain, who turns out to have been more a misguided do-gooder than evil.
If there is a slight downside to Pyramids (and the only reason I haven't given it the full 5 stars) it's that it's not particularly funny. While the cover blurb proclaims this as '...the most outrageously funny (Discworld novel) to date' I found the humour to be rather obvious and cheesy, particularly when it came to the bad puns. Nevertheless, Pyramids is still a fine novel - just not a hilarious one, and the fact that this is a completely standalone novel (in fact this is sequentially the first Discworld novel that has not yet been sequelised by the return of it's lead characters) makes this perfect for newcomers as well. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Pratchetts best, 24 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This is definitely one of the best discworld novels Pratchett has ever written. An absolutely hilarious take on ancient Egypt, this book is absolutely brilliant. Featuring Teppic, heir to the throne, and the greatest mathematician on the disc (a camel called You Bastard) this book had me crying with laughter from start to finish. Buy this book- I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet!, 3 May 1999
By A Customer
It is always hard to say one story in the discworld series is better than any other,especialy if like most devotee's you have read all of the series.Although there are at least 4 in the series i would say stand out as being exemplorary,i cannot in all honesty say that any are better than this. The humour is on par with Pratchetts best,and the story itself leaves nothing to be desired.If you have at times decided Pratchett's discworld series has been decreasing in content or storyline,or that the master had lost his touch and was now churning out any old nonsence,then this book will make you forget any past indiscrepancies on his part and bring you back into the fold a true believer once again in the unmistakenly superior writings of Terry Pratchett-author,humourist,and undisputed king of story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is the best one...., 10 Oct 2000
By A Customer
The difference between this and many of the other Discworld novels is the fact that the characters are exclusively in Pyramids and no other book. This sets it apart from the 'series within a series' (Witches, Wizards, Guards, Death, Rincewind etc.)ideal that occurs frequently. Perhaps the difficulty that some readers have is getting to know characters that have not previously been introduced and are not developed further after the dust jacket of Pyramids has been closed. However, having read all of Pratchetts Discworld novels several times (sad, I know) there is no doubt that the characters in Pyramids stand above the rest in the way that they are written. The frequently confused Teppic fits brilliantly with the foppish Chidder, the well-meaning but fundamentally flawed Dios, the superficially vulnerable Ptraci and so on. The initial description of life at the Guild is also brilliantly put together and the later sections DO continue the strong plotline and the interplay between Teppic and the people he encounters is consistently entertaining. Pick it up and read it (or listen to it) and enjoy again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pyramid power--it's not just for razors any more, 27 Dec 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Pyramids represents something of a detour in Pratchett’s Discworld series. The principal action takes place in the heretofore unfamiliar land of Djelibeybi, located in northern Klatch across the Circle Sea from Anhk-Morpork. This is a unique realm of the Discworld, two miles wide and 150 miles long. It is often referred to as the Old Kingdom for a very good reason—it is quite old, over 7000 years old in fact. It is a desert land whose pharaohs are obsessed with pyramid-building; besides bankrupting the country, this obsession has also had the unforeseen consequence of keeping the country firmly entrenched in the past. Pyramids, you see, slow down time, and there are so many pyramids in Djelibeybi now that new time is continually sucked in by them and released nightly in flares. In a land where the same time is reused daily, it comes as something of a surprise when the pharaoh Teppicymon XXVII decides to send his son Teppic outside of the kingdom to get his education. Just after becoming a certified, guild-approved assassin, young Teppic is called upon to return home after his father suffers the unfortunate consequences attendant upon thinking he can fly. Three months into his reign, he basically loses his kingdom—literally. The Great Pyramid being built for his father’s mummy is much too big, and eventually it causes the temporal dislocation of Djelibeybi from the face of the Discworld. Accompanied by the handmaiden Ptraci, whom he rescued from certain death, and a camel whose name would be edited were I to state it here, Teppic must find a way to restore his kingdom back to its proper place and time above the ground. The ordeal is only complicated further by the fact that all of the land’s dead and thousands of gods suddenly have appeared in person, acting as if they own the place.
While its unusual setting and the fact that it features characters seen here and nowhere else makes this novel seem a little different from its fellow Discworld chronicles, I must admit it is quite an enjoyable read. Pratchett ingeniously incorporates ideas and practices from ancient Egypt and ancient Greece: pyramids, mummification, Greek philosophers, the Trojan War and its Horse in particular, etc. Teppic is an enjoyable enough character, but we never seem to delve deeply enough to understand him properly. I loved the brash handmaiden Ptraci and her fearless contempt for tradition. All of the dead pharaohs are quite funny, particularly in terms of their opinions on an afterlife spent shut inside a tomb inside an escape-proof pyramid. The subplot featuring the history of warfare between two neighboring kingdoms really helps make this novel a true winner. Perhaps the most interesting thing to be found in these pages, though, is the actual identity and thought processes of Discworld’s greatest mathematician. There is also much to amuse and delight fans of temporal dislocation theories—the pyramid builders make many incredible discoveries in the process of building the Great Pyramid, not the least of which is a means of utilizing the structure’s innate time loop to call forth several different selves to help make sure the job is finished in the allotted time.
Even though this book is funny and satisfying enough to stand on its own, I would not start my Discworld reading with it. Aside from Teppic’s time spent in Anhk-Morpork learning to be an assassin, the action takes place outside the much more familiar lands we encounter time and again in the other novels. Of course, Pratchett devotees will want to read it for the very reason that it acquaints us with a strange, otherwise unfamiliar section of the Discworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Paracosmic Instability!, 2 Aug 2001
By A Customer
I'd never read any Discworld before, so I was kind of dubious. But this was brilliant - hysterically funny. It's about the teenage pharoah of the desert kingdom of Djelibeybi (say that out loud!) whose name is Teppic. He has to cope with the irritating priest, Dios, the fact his father's ghost keeps shouting at him, three pyramid builders - Ptaclusp and his sons Ptaclusp IIa and Ptaclusp IIb, his curiously under-dressed sister/aunt, Ptraci, and if all that wasn't enough, the Great Pyramid itself explodes from paracosmic instability and flings Djelibeybi into another dimension (!) Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pyramids, camels, handmaidens, assassins and high priests - a volatile mix, 9 Nov 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
A great Discworld novel! In this seventh novel, we are taken to the kingdom of Djelibeybi which is ruled by King Teppicymon XXVII; the kingdom and its customs are very similar to those of Ancient Egypt, and the Grand Priest Dios seems to have agendas all of his own. The prince, Teppic goes to Ankh Morporkh to study being an assassin, but has hardly completed his training when he is called home. But is that where he wants to be? And what will happen when the largest pyramid ever built is constructed? And what is Dios up to?

This is a great story; the greatest mathematician (all is revealed in the book) is a great character, as are Dil and Gern, and Ptraci. The story rolls along rapidly, and comes to a satisfying conclusion - highly recommended for any fan of funny fiction, and particularly any Discworld fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, not the worst, 4 Oct 2009
By 
My star rating should be considered in the light of the fact that I love Terry Pratchett books. The rating takes into account the need to distinguish between my favourites and others. My problem is that I've not been reading the books in any sort of order and once I'd discovered Sam Vimes and the Watch, Granny Weatherwax and the Witches and the Wee Frees I've tended to look for books featuring them.

I did, however, enjoy this book. I particularly enjoyed the Assassins Guild/roof top Ankh Morpork sections near to the beginning but I also enjoyed the development of the character of Ptraci the handmaiden and the final outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pyramids, 24 Feb 2012
This was the very first Discworld novel I ever read, many moons ago. I was hooked from the start and have been a fan ever since. I had to have this as my first purchase on my Kindle. Still a great read from the master of comic sci fi fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pyramids: A Discworld Novel (Paperback) by Terry Pratchet, 31 Jan 2012
By 
CINDY (NORMANTON, WEST YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
The ideas and the stories are just so very exciting and so very marvellous how he just put pen to paper. Thank you for the speedy delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pyramids: (Discworld Novel 7) (Discworld Novels)
Pyramids: (Discworld Novel 7) (Discworld Novels) by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 11 Oct 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews